Thread Tools
Old Jan 10, 2010, 11:45 AM
G.Hanssmann is offline
Find More Posts by G.Hanssmann
Registered User
Motor mount
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 10, 2010, 12:19 PM
austin13 is offline
Find More Posts by austin13
Failure is an option !
austin13's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakhakker View Post
Austin 13 Is your alu tube or solid shaft that you are using please?
solid. well I guess it is an alloy to be acurate. it was cut out of a CIBIE antenna that luckily was 4mm in diameter
Old Jan 10, 2010, 03:10 PM
yakhakker is offline
Find More Posts by yakhakker
still trying to get it right
yakhakker's Avatar
Austin 13 many thanks I have sent you a pm
Old Jan 10, 2010, 03:18 PM
alex.guzun is offline
Find More Posts by alex.guzun
iCharger 106B user
why don't you ask it here?
Old Jan 13, 2010, 03:24 PM
hobie14 is offline
Find More Posts by hobie14
Registered User
hobie14's Avatar
G.Hanssmann ...... is it possible to mount the servo in the moulded recess on the belly side of the wing and simply cut a slot to allow the servo arm to be repositioned to allow the linkage to operate on top of the wing ? .....

From your photo on post # 302 I'm guessing it was easier for you to recut only because you were repositioning previously glued servos ....?

Old Jan 13, 2010, 04:46 PM
Jurgen Heilig is offline
Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobie14 View Post
...
From your photo on post # 302 I'm guessing it was easier for you to recut only because you were repositioning previously glued servos ....?

In order to move your linkages on top, you need to get the servo flush with the uppper surface.

Jürgen
Old Jan 13, 2010, 05:04 PM
hobie14 is offline
Find More Posts by hobie14
Registered User
hobie14's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurgen Heilig View Post
In order to move your linkages on top, you need to get the servo flush with the uppper surface.

Jürgen
Ok ..... thanks for that Jurgen ....

Oh, and a bit of news ....... you need to be sitting down quietly to read this bit for sure .....

I had a call today from our local RC store ..... you rem the one who has my Xeno and another 5 units on order for a long long time .....

well ........

after all this time he decided to tell me .......

.
.
.

They arrived this morning !!!!!!!

I should be able to collect mine(complete with tuneing kit) on Saturday .....
Old Jan 13, 2010, 05:59 PM
georgebinns is offline
Find More Posts by georgebinns
Multirotors blow
georgebinns's Avatar

Engine vibration?


Here is a short clip from the un-edited video of my maiden flight with the Xeno. You can see clearly that there is a lot of vibration from the engine. I'm hoping it's just an out of balance prop - not sure how to balance a folding prop - any ideas? I hope it's not an inherent problem with the shaft drive as I'm going to use it for FPV flying. Anyone else had vibration problems?

Maiden flight 12012010.mp4 (1 min 32 sec)
Old Jan 14, 2010, 01:29 AM
renatoa is online now
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Waviness is from CMOS sensor.
Search for "rolling shutter" and you will get a lot about this effect.
Old Jan 14, 2010, 02:52 AM
Jurgen Heilig is offline
Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgebinns View Post
...
not sure how to balance a folding prop - any ideas? ...
I usually remove any kind of imperfections first and weigh the blades. If there is a significant difference in weight, I buy some spare blades and group them by weight, which usually is good enough.

Alternatively you can put them on a center piece, where you can tighten the blades so they can't move. With the blades aligned like a fixed prop, you can use a standard prop balancer.

Dynamic ballancing: Add some thin tape to the back of one blade. If vibration gets worse, remove it and add tape to the other blade.

When assembling your drive system, did you check whether your drive shaft hit the motor adapter when inserting through the rear ball bearing? Did you test run your drive system without the prop/spinner assembly?

Jürgen
Old Jan 14, 2010, 04:40 AM
georgebinns is offline
Find More Posts by georgebinns
Multirotors blow
georgebinns's Avatar
Thanks for the good advice Jurgen. i will try to obtain some additional blades - anyone know what make they are or a good alternative that will fit?

I didn't test the system at all prior to final assembly - to be honest I struggled to assemble the drive unit as the instructions were very poor. I ended up trying to insert the bearing after I had glued the structure together! NOT a good idea as it is a very tight fit in the support housing - I won't do that next time
So from your answer I am assuming that you have not noticed any vibration on your model? Does yours sound different from mine?
Old Jan 14, 2010, 04:49 AM
georgebinns is offline
Find More Posts by georgebinns
Multirotors blow
georgebinns's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Waviness is from CMOS sensor.
Search for "rolling shutter" and you will get a lot about this effect.
Thanks for the info Renatoa. I'm aware of the rolling shutter issue but in this case it is being caused by the excessive vibration of the camera. If you look at the periods where the motor is not running the picture is fine. To be fair to the spy cam I only stuck it on the front with some velcro!
Old Jan 14, 2010, 05:00 AM
Jurgen Heilig is offline
Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgebinns View Post
...
the instructions were very poor. I ended up trying to insert the bearing after I had glued the structure together! NOT a good idea as it is a very tight fit in the support housing - I won't do that next time
...
The instructions tell you to insert the ball bearing prior to further assembly. I also posted the same advise:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/atta...mentid=2928737

Jürgen
Old Jan 14, 2010, 05:01 AM
georgebinns is offline
Find More Posts by georgebinns
Multirotors blow
georgebinns's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurgen Heilig View Post
In order to move your linkages on top, you need to get the servo flush with the uppper surface.

Jürgen
I did mine slightly differently. I used the existing position for the servo, put the horn on towards the top of the wing and cut out a hole large enough for the arm to move freely back and forward inside the wing foam. Once that was done, I used a small round file to cut a grove from the arm to the control surface horn to allow free movement of the operating linkage through it's full range. When you have it all connected and working correctly you can fit the fairing - it will cover up the grove and the hole - job done!

George


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Multiplex Xeno checkup Flying Wings 129 Apr 10, 2010 09:47 AM
Yippee! New Multiplex Models 2009: MERLIN and XENO Doubletap Slope 12 Feb 26, 2010 11:31 PM
Discussion XENO, New to Multiplex??? sparkie624 Hitec/Multiplex USA 4 May 27, 2009 07:16 PM
Discussion Multiplex Xeno as FPV JakAck FPV Talk 7 Mar 09, 2009 07:40 PM
New Product Multiplex Xeno soundcheque Flying Wings 2 Mar 03, 2009 10:25 PM