Thread Tools
Oct 01, 2010, 10:11 AM
Registered User
Thanks VI.

I've done more oscillo work last night...

I managed to get the DM8 mod work on an Optic 6 Sport transmitter, by using signal/ground/V+ strainght from the board. On the other hand it didn't work by using the buddy cord signal... is it because i'm using a very simple voltage divider (2 resistors) ?

As i said previously, i managed to get the DM8 mod work on the buddy port of a Multiplex transmitter by using a conversion board i found in the Royal Evo topic...

Any luck any of you could tell me the difference between signal coming out of a Multiplex and a Hitec radio, so i could make my own conversion board...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 01, 2010, 10:39 AM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
The Hitec trainer would have the PPM inverted, so you would need to use an inverting buffer made from a transistor and a couple components to flip it over. The same conversion board for the multiplex might work on the trainer for the Hitec.

Any luck getting the number of channels output to 8 on the A9? Have you asked Horizon Hobby support if there might be a change to the Spektrum modules that will allow one of them to work with the A9?
Nov 11, 2010, 11:54 AM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
This might help get you going:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1329604
Nov 11, 2010, 05:24 PM
Registered User
balesse's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by village_idiot
unfortunately not. I just tried the Spektrum module on the A9 and it is not working. I just get the single flash on the module LED as well.
Mar 07, 2011, 09:08 PM
Registered User
it look like we need to Modify the Aurora output PPM signal so than the DSM2 modules can understand it.

a Simply Hardware circuit migth be able to MASHED OFF the Last 2 Pulses of Aurora PPM signal, or might need Controller to convert a 10 pulses to 8 pulses.
Mar 09, 2011, 04:25 PM
Registered User
It would be really great, if this would be possible! Then I would finally be able to fly my micro E-Flite UMX Models with my Aurora 9!
Mar 09, 2011, 07:39 PM
Registered User
I am creating a seperate thread....... its Converting PPM 9 channel to PPM 8 Channel.....

I hate carrying 2 Transmitter in the field......I hate charging 2 transmitter........

Please goto to this links:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1403894
Last edited by lazy-b; Mar 09, 2011 at 07:56 PM.
Mar 28, 2011, 12:37 PM
Registered User
Today I tried to use the Spektrum module DM8 for MZ and DC/DC converter to supply the module voltage of 3.3 volts. In Aurora switched the modulation of PPM/P. Module works fine.
Mar 29, 2011, 06:12 AM
Registered User
Wow....GOOD JOB......Its Great to Know that the DM8 for the Futaba MZ will works on Aurora 9.......Thanks.
Mar 29, 2011, 01:02 PM
Registered User
Connect DM8 for FUTABA MZ through the diode, Schottky diode is better as a FrSky http://www.frsky-rc.com/ShowProducts.asp?id=31 and pull up RF-module PPM input to 3.3V with 1k resistor. Sorry for poor english.
Last edited by yurip; Apr 01, 2011 at 07:16 AM.
Mar 30, 2011, 01:20 PM
Registered User
balesse's Avatar
Is the DM8 mz module always sold with a receiver? Is there a way to get just the module?
Mar 30, 2011, 02:31 PM
Registered User
Possible to buy separately from the receiver, for example http://www.espritmodel.com/index.asp...S&Category=742
Mar 31, 2011, 10:03 AM
Registered User
Yurip, from my Understanding , this is how you wire your DM8 to Aurora 9 transmitter....there are only 3 wire connection (PPM,POWER,Ground)

DM8 Module -------------------------------------Aurora 9 transmitter

PPM in --------------------------->!---------------------PPM out
Voltage Supply 3.3 Volts ----------Regulator---------Transmitter Battery Supply 7.2 Volts
DM8 Ground ----------------------------------------Transmitter Ground (Negative)

The ----->!----- is the Schotty Diode

You use a Switching Voltage Regulator to Drop a 7.2 Volts to 3.3 Volts, but I think its difficult to purchase a Switching Regulator, a simpler Linear Voltage Regulator could be use such as LM317 with 2 Resistor.

For Those who do not want to Open Up the Transmitter just to get the Power, Maybe you can use a Sperate Battery to supply the Power to DM8.....you could use a Single Cell Lipoly Battery then use a Low Drop Voltage Regulator to drop it to 3.3 Volts.
Apr 01, 2011, 07:29 AM
Registered User
I correct my post #55. Aurora has an PPM amplitude of 5 volts. The module DM8 for FUTABA MZ should receive PPM amplitude of 3.3 volts. The picture below shows the correct connection of Aurora with the module. The Voltage Regulator can be both Switching and Linear.
Last edited by yurip; Apr 04, 2011 at 07:08 AM.
Apr 02, 2011, 05:59 AM
Registered User
Yurip, Thanks for your detail Schematic Diagram.......it look like much easier to do the Modification with your Diagram and picture........all I need to is to look for DM8 for Futaba 12mZ.

Just curious, will the DM8 for Futaba 12MZ can work on less than 9 channel ? cause I still have the older FF7, FF8 ?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion XPS module for Hitec Aurora 9? sbc Xtreme Power Systems 43 Sep 17, 2012 04:45 PM
Sold Multiplex Royal Pro 9 + Spektrum module jjmouris Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Oct 29, 2009 04:37 PM
Discussion Jim -XPS module for new Hitec Aurora 9 ?? Howard L Xtreme Power Systems 4 Apr 21, 2009 12:06 AM
Discussion Futaba 14MZ spektrum module mod Xnaron Radios 6 Mar 07, 2009 06:09 PM
For Sale Spektrum 2.4ghz AIR MOD module for futaba transmitter xxcysxx Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Jan 03, 2009 01:52 AM