Thread Tools
Feb 13, 2013, 11:46 AM
Registered User
rlongfel's Avatar
Mine is built but waiting on module to get here from China via rikshaw or maybe oxcart, ordered on the 29th of last month.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 14, 2013, 11:22 PM
Registered User
deleted
Last edited by cubbuddy; Apr 20, 2013 at 02:55 AM. Reason: Updated info
Feb 17, 2013, 12:40 PM
Registered User
rlongfel's Avatar
After a lot of hair pulling my Orange TX mod is finally working. I would have to say it's really a outside the case mod for most people as the area where the A9 connector has a component and ground plane on one side and a different ground plane on the back. I rotated the SMT diode and removed the PC board for the connector. Would not work until I jumpered the ground planes back together. Still have to put it back in the case but at least it's working.
Feb 17, 2013, 12:52 PM
Registered User
rlongfel's Avatar
More pics
Feb 18, 2013, 12:04 PM
Registered User
E-Challenged's Avatar
So for a luddite like myself, does it make more sense to buy a used DX6i for micros/indoor models, instead of modifying a new A-9 for compatibilty with Spektrum ?
Feb 18, 2013, 12:05 PM
kad
kad
Quad Crasher
kad's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Challenged
So for a luddite like myself, does it make more sense to buy a used DX6i for micros/indoor models, instead of modifying a new A-9 for compatibilty with Spektrum ?
That's my current plan. I normally use an Aurora 9, but I'm keeping an eye out for a cheap DS6i for all the BNF stuff.

-K
Feb 18, 2013, 12:33 PM
Registered User
rlongfel's Avatar
To be clear you don't modify the Aurora9 in any way other than removing a small clip locking the antenna in place. All the mods are done in the TX module ( Specktrum DM8 or DM9 or the KobbyKing Orange TX module)
I used the HobbyKing version as it's cheaper $29.99 compared to the almost impossible to find Spectrum @ $49.+
You just swap out the module when you want to fly BNF or use HK Orange recievers or any DMS2 or DSMX reciever up to 8 channels. Takes about 15 seconds.

Rich
Feb 18, 2013, 02:19 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Challenged
So for a luddite like myself, does it make more sense to buy a used DX6i for micros/indoor models, instead of modifying a new A-9 for compatibilty with Spektrum ?
If you're a luddite as you suggest, you wouldn't own an A9 Tx right?
Feb 19, 2013, 12:32 AM
most exalted one
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1755578

Is the neatest solution. Dsm2. Dsmx
Feb 19, 2013, 09:38 AM
kad
kad
Quad Crasher
kad's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4*60
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1755578

Is the neatest solution. Dsm2. Dsmx
Very interesting. At $95 it's almost the same price as a used DS6i, with 2 more channels and the convenience of your existing TX.

-K
Feb 19, 2013, 10:16 AM
Registered User
rlongfel's Avatar
It's really all about the convience of one TX the Aurora9. I could buy a DX6i but then I would have another TX to remember to bring and forget to charge and leave at the field cause I am used to having only one.
And all the A9 programming!
Basically I spent $35. and I can fly any BNF spektrum and can fly all my foamies with $6.00 receivers.....

10 R615 recievers for 10 foamies = $60.00
1 Hitec Optima6 = $50.00
= no more swapping recievers!!!!!!!!!
Last edited by rlongfel; Feb 19, 2013 at 10:28 AM.
Feb 19, 2013, 08:31 PM
Registered User
So has anyone actually tested their modified-for-Aurora module to see if it still works in a Futaba Tx with all the custom circuitry in place? I know someone was speculating that it would still work, but hadn't heard if anyone had actually confirmed.
Feb 28, 2013, 07:34 AM
Card Carrying Old Fart
Rickochet's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4*60
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1755578

Is the neatest solution. Dsm2. Dsmx
I have one of those. Very nicely constructed and works well.
Apr 08, 2013, 03:32 PM
Registered User
willfly4food84's Avatar
Do you have a pic of the other side of your pcb.
Is there a video of this build out there? Im not having any luck finding one...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubbuddy
The new SPMMSFUT720 works for this mod. I did one of the outside mods and one for the inside of the module. Both worked great I flew my Radian(AR500 receiver) to almost out of sight and it was rock solid. Was able to bind with all my Spektrum receivers. I Provided a picture of the internal board installed in the DM8. Special thanks to Jeremy Fobord for providing me the answers that allowed me to get it right the first time.

UPDATE:
I used the antenna that came with the DM8. Had to shorten the supplied rod that screws down into the transmitter about one inch. The antenna fits on the end of the modified rod. Very easy to remove when you want to change modules. I have flown with this mod a number of times over the weekend and it is rock solid. Thanks to all the people that made this mod a possibility!

I used a balance connector from an old two cell LIPO for the connection to the A9 pins.
Apr 08, 2013, 08:21 PM
Registered User
willfly4food84's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennisjm
Thanks for your help. I'm uploading a few pics to see if someone sees something I don't.

For reference, I used the 4.7K, 22K resisters and the MPS2222A NPN
PPM/P modulation selected.
Problem is I seem to have power but when I hold the bind button in during powering on it doesn't ever flash (and I didn't get it to bind to a receiver.)

I had extra resistors and bought an extra NPN so I expanded them out and soldered them on a pcb. Same result as before so I don't think I had a bad transistor the first time.
Thank you for posting these pics!!! I was able to figure it out with them!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion XPS module for Hitec Aurora 9? sbc Xtreme Power Systems 43 Sep 17, 2012 04:45 PM
Sold Multiplex Royal Pro 9 + Spektrum module jjmouris Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Oct 29, 2009 04:37 PM
Discussion Jim -XPS module for new Hitec Aurora 9 ?? Howard L Xtreme Power Systems 4 Apr 21, 2009 12:06 AM
Discussion Futaba 14MZ spektrum module mod Xnaron Radios 6 Mar 07, 2009 06:09 PM
For Sale Spektrum 2.4ghz AIR MOD module for futaba transmitter xxcysxx Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Jan 03, 2009 01:52 AM