New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jun 19, 2010, 10:05 AM
The_Mongrel is offline
Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
CASA Certified RPAS Instructor
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Beware to that UBEC, keep it far from gyros, read my story here
I have gone through about 50 of those UBECs without an issue. I wonder if you got a bad one??
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 19, 2010, 10:09 AM
The_Mongrel is offline
Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
CASA Certified RPAS Instructor
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Dropping a wing can easily be caused by an unbalanced prop!! I did some testing today to see how much is needed to upset the tri. All I did was to get a washer that was too big for the prop shaft and screwed it down so that there was more of the washer hanging out from under the prop on one side. It is only a small thin washer but it made the copter unflyable. That is all it took.

So if you spin your motors up to the point where they are just spinning, and look carefully at the props and shafts. If you see ANY, and I mean ANY wobble, you will have issues like surging, and dropping wings, even the slide into the ground.

It is because the Gyros are vibrated so badly up the arm that it can't reset in time to bring the motor back up to speed.

Cheers
-J
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 19, 2010, 10:43 AM
vroooOOOM is offline
Find More Posts by vroooOOOM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA View Post
Beware to that UBEC, keep it far from gyros, read my story here
Cheers for that Geff, I'll rig it up so its not near any of the gyro's, you probably just saved me from my first crash! cheers mate.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 10:57 AM
vroooOOOM is offline
Find More Posts by vroooOOOM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Mongrel View Post
Dropping a wing can easily be caused by an unbalanced prop!! I did some testing today to see how much is needed to upset the tri. All I did was to get a washer that was too big for the prop
It is because the Gyros are vibrated so badly up the arm that it can't reset in time to bring the motor back up to speed.

Cheers
-J
Good advice, I'm thinking of setting my gyro's up similar to these, keeping the bEC away from them and reducing any effect from arm shake.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 11:36 AM
vroooOOOM is offline
Find More Posts by vroooOOOM
Registered User
OK this should be OK.I've not fitted the esc's yet as I'm still waiting for them to arrive from Hobbyking, using 3xHK 30-40 Amp, I've fitted the BEC just behind the Lypo pack with the Lypo pack monitor piggy back on top of the BEC.
If I've not said so, a BIG THANKS for all you guys who have helped me so far.
Last edited by vroooOOOM; Jun 20, 2010 at 02:28 PM.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 01:43 PM
cyhyam is offline
Find More Posts by cyhyam
Registered User
cyhyam's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Mongrel View Post
Yeah But not if I have to wait 4 weeks.
They (A1 .Hobby Power Model Group) ( RC Timer), have the same fast shipping options that Hobby King offers,

(me) "Your normal shipping takes 3-4 weeks to USA, do you have any faster shipping?"

(Nina) "No worries, it may take about 7-14 working days to your country.
If you need the fast delivery( EMS, DHL...), you have to pay the fast delivery fee."

I am not trying to promote their business, just dispell rumors. I am in the US so it may be different in Australia.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 02:40 PM
vroooOOOM is offline
Find More Posts by vroooOOOM
Registered User
Would I be correct in thinking I don't need to switch the posative lypo lead because I will be powering the gyro's first through the balance plug to BEC to Receiver to Gyro's

???????????????????
Last edited by vroooOOOM; Jun 20, 2010 at 02:25 PM.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 03:46 PM
APdude07 is offline
Find More Posts by APdude07
Registered User
APdude07's Avatar
Yes vroooOOOM you are correct. Power up your RX and gyros from the UBEC while isolating the power to the esc's until the gyros have armed.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 06:02 PM
skycam4 is offline
Find More Posts by skycam4
Design and fly
skycam4's Avatar
I have to tell you during testing I haven't seen anything like that with my Tri's. I've had props with a 1/4" broken off from hitting something indoors during setup with the machine flying the same. I never see any vibration at any point. One thing that will happen you will be replacing the upper bearing which is a 5 minute fix if you don't run good props. On this smaller Tricopter I found APC 11X4.7 nailed if perfect with 11x3.8 consuming a few more amps with not as good results. I'm flying 450 eflite motors with eflite 20amp esc's
with a 3 cell 4200mah for about 12 minutes of flying. These things are addictive. I'm using the same setup for the frame as I ended up with pictured but going with 30 size 800kv Rimfire motors with 40 amp esc's with 10,000mah parallel battery packs. Shooting for a camera payload of 3lbs to stay airborne for 15 minutes or more.







THESE THINGS ARE A BLAST!!!
Old Jun 19, 2010, 07:18 PM
vroooOOOM is offline
Find More Posts by vroooOOOM
Registered User
[QUOTE=;1
Yes vroooOOOM you are correct. Power up your RX and gyros from the UBEC while isolating the power to the esc's until the gyros have armed.[/QUOTE]

Aha I'm begining to understand, Thanks APdude07, nrxt job is to make the power harness from Lypo pack to ESC's.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 09:43 PM
SSM is offline
SSM
Find More Posts by SSM
SSM
Voluntary Assumption of Risk
SSM's Avatar

If Your (Motor) Problems Just Won't Go Away


If your (motor) problems just won't go away, here's one more thing to keep an eye on:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=370

Simon
Old Jun 20, 2010, 03:28 AM
X-Ilmar is offline
Find More Posts by X-Ilmar
Registered User
X-Ilmar's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Ilmar View Post
Hi!

I have same problem, I added camera, AUW is now ~1200g and it slides down to the right I have no control at that time. Without camera I can fly 7min. no problem...

Best regards,
-Ilmar-
Hi!

I changed my battery type to NiMH it was Li-xx and soft cut. And mesured CG to be correct.
I made one ~5minute flight not continious, but had no issue to slide down. It was little bit windy. Maybe the wind helped to cool ESC down, have to test more...
I mesured 31A at full throttle, ground test.

Best regards,
-Ilmar-

EDIT: Didnīt worked that plan, still sliding to the right and down...
I have SS card programmable ESC 18A, Towerpro 890KV motors, Telebee gyros.
Without camera it verry good flyer...
Last edited by X-Ilmar; Jun 20, 2010 at 05:12 AM.
Old Jun 20, 2010, 04:43 AM
micarus is offline
Find More Posts by micarus
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroooOOOM View Post
If I set up my Giro's like this maybe I don't have to reverse one of the fronf ones because I've done it by mounting it in th eopposite direction to the other one?
Yeh ! That's the way mine are set up. Plenty of p ics on this forum of this settup. With the right hand one facing forward you dont need reverse it.

Good on ya mate>
Cheers MIKE.
Old Jun 20, 2010, 05:12 AM
GlennS is offline
Find More Posts by GlennS
Flying 3 mistakes high
GlennS's Avatar
Trying to get an idea of my Tris efficiency. On 3S with 2410-09 motors and 10x4.7 GWS props and AUW of 995gms it pulls 9.2 amp in a hover. What sort of figures are others getting?
Glenn.
Old Jun 20, 2010, 06:45 AM
Upup is online now
Find More Posts by Upup
Registered User
Upup's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroooooom View Post
ah you mean like this?
Thanks for the help jeff.
picture not available to me?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Yet another tricopter build. !!Updated parts list!! SebastianJ Multirotor Talk 2669 Dec 30, 2011 06:48 PM
Discussion What to do? Failed tricopter build! Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 9 Mar 07, 2011 10:20 AM
Discussion Tricopter Build Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 21 Feb 20, 2010 09:24 PM
Build Log Tricopter build SebastianJ VTOLs 1 Dec 22, 2008 05:34 PM
Discussion Trying to build a mechanically actuated tricopter, Help! stefalo Coaxial Helicopters 3 Jan 09, 2008 05:10 PM