New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old May 24, 2010, 06:11 PM
SSM is offline
SSM
Find More Posts by SSM
SSM
Voluntary Assumption of Risk
SSM's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThaiskyDigital View Post
My Jumbo Tri-Copter
ThaiskyDigital - Sorry to see your Jumbo Tri-Copter burn out an ESC.

Thanks for the demonstration. We look forward to seeing you back in action with this big beast!

Oh, and more details would be good, please.

Simon
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 24, 2010, 06:12 PM
SSM is offline
SSM
Find More Posts by SSM
SSM
Voluntary Assumption of Risk
SSM's Avatar
...............
...................
................
Last edited by SSM; May 24, 2010 at 06:14 PM. Reason: double post
Old May 24, 2010, 09:29 PM
Coyote760 is offline
Find More Posts by Coyote760
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by GroverC View Post
Nice! Does it come with booms for $75. I didn't see them in the included item pic. What is the frames weight? no gear.


Edit: I missed that the Arms (booms) are $30 more.



,
Last edited by Coyote760; May 24, 2010 at 09:36 PM.
Old May 24, 2010, 09:42 PM
BloomingtonFPV is offline
Find More Posts by BloomingtonFPV
KC9TPL- Get Legit
BloomingtonFPV's Avatar

Reprogramming 25-30 amp SS ESC


I figured out how to set the fuses and bits on the HobbyKing SuperSimple ESC.
Picts are attached for the AVR Studio.

More info is found on this post:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=7003

My hope is that this will improve the update rates of the speed controllers. The code is found in the post above, and it gets written to the flash, not the eeprom. It was really easy, if not a little nerve wracking...

The physical connections are found here:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=1349
Last edited by BloomingtonFPV; May 25, 2010 at 08:46 AM.
Old May 24, 2010, 10:28 PM
Talontsi96 is offline
Find More Posts by Talontsi96
Registered User
Talontsi96's Avatar
I got the flymentor working... levels the Tri like a hot damn..it will not hold a position though so although it levels itself it is still prone to drift....
Old May 24, 2010, 11:27 PM
CenTexFlyer is offline
Find More Posts by CenTexFlyer
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talontsi96 View Post
I got the flymentor working... levels the Tri like a hot damn..it will not hold a position though so although it levels itself it is still prone to drift....
But you can still "nudge" it around the sky and if you get in trouble it straightens you right out..... right? I believe I could let it drift a bit while I got my own gyros re-caged and get it pointed back home. Enough reports so that it looks like a Flymentor will be in my next order!
Old May 25, 2010, 12:42 AM
Talontsi96 is offline
Find More Posts by Talontsi96
Registered User
Talontsi96's Avatar
Gene... you can definitely nudge it to wherever you want it to go and as soon as you let go of the stick the Tri just rights itself instantly.. it was kinda fun to test .... forward flight, let go...perfectly horizontal orientation...(with some forward drift from the forward flight)...etc.... etc... the FM it works very well..... and I see its back in stock at HK.... I'm thinking of ordering a second one for my second tri... I'll see if I can post a vid tomorrow for you guys...
Old May 25, 2010, 02:23 AM
johnorama is offline
Find More Posts by johnorama
UAV Dude KF7HYV
johnorama's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talontsi96 View Post
I got the flymentor working... levels the Tri like a hot damn..it will not hold a position though so although it levels itself it is still prone to drift....
How close to the ground do you need to be for it to work? I have one sitting in the box. I decided I wasn't going to install it until I could learn to fly the tricopter. I am adding cameras, now, and I would like to flymentor to help with stability and hovering.
Site Sponsor
Old May 25, 2010, 03:35 AM
APdude07 is offline
Find More Posts by APdude07
Registered User
APdude07's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnorama View Post
How close to the ground do you need to be for it to work? I have one sitting in the box. I decided I wasn't going to install it until I could learn to fly the tricopter. I am adding cameras, now, and I would like to flymentor to help with stability and hovering.
Apparently it only holds your position up to 9ft which doesn't do much good if your up higher than that. I have been thinking about pulling the trigger on one myself now that they are back in stock.
Old May 25, 2010, 04:00 AM
Kahnx is offline
Find More Posts by Kahnx
Registered DSer
Kahnx's Avatar

Help!!!!


I am just about at my wit's end.

Trying to program a tricopter with a JR9303 (9xII), using 120 CCPM, channels 2, 3 and 6. Got a servo to work perfectly, and consistently on all three channels, for both throw and gain, in rates mode.

When I plug them into any of three (in all combinations) of the HK302 gyros, channels 2 and 3 work perfectly (motor or servo), but channel 6 does not work at all, or randomly for both the servo and the ESC.

TX monitor screen shows proper output, but I just cant seem to get it to work through the gyro on this channel.

ANy help greatly appreciated.

Roger (about to throw it into the bin)
Last edited by Kahnx; May 25, 2010 at 04:42 PM. Reason: corrected gyro p/n
Old May 25, 2010, 06:38 AM
wizprod is offline
Find More Posts by wizprod
Registered User

Counter-rotating


Hi, wanna setup my tri with 1 CCW rotating prop, but on which rod is it best to put it, and why?

//Christian
Old May 25, 2010, 07:04 AM
areis81 is offline
Find More Posts by areis81
RC Wannabe!
areis81's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizprod View Post
Hi, wanna setup my tri with 1 CCW rotating prop, but on which rod is it best to put it, and why?

//Christian
i wanted to do that too, but today i got my very first flight and the tri behaves very good and i'ts quick in the turns...

anyway i think any arm would be good....
Old May 25, 2010, 07:47 AM
lesnewell is offline
Find More Posts by lesnewell
CNC nutter
lesnewell's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizprod View Post
Hi, wanna setup my tri with 1 CCW rotating prop, but on which rod is it best to put it, and why?
It should not matter which. I wouldn't bother as tilting the motors slightly works better.
Old May 25, 2010, 07:57 AM
wizprod is offline
Find More Posts by wizprod
Registered User
how many degrees would you tilt it apprx?
Old May 25, 2010, 08:07 AM
lesnewell is offline
Find More Posts by lesnewell
CNC nutter
lesnewell's Avatar
I normally tilt the two front motors around 5 - 10 degrees. Obviously the tail tilts anyway.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Yet another tricopter build. !!Updated parts list!! SebastianJ Multirotor Talk 2669 Dec 30, 2011 06:48 PM
Discussion What to do? Failed tricopter build! Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 9 Mar 07, 2011 10:20 AM
Discussion Tricopter Build Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 21 Feb 20, 2010 09:24 PM
Build Log Tricopter build SebastianJ VTOLs 1 Dec 22, 2008 05:34 PM
Discussion Trying to build a mechanically actuated tricopter, Help! stefalo Coaxial Helicopters 3 Jan 09, 2008 05:10 PM