Thread Tools
Old Jan 18, 2010, 04:18 PM
kristjane is offline
Find More Posts by kristjane
Have a nice day! Kristjan
kristjane's Avatar
Just a idea...
What about flying ring made from foam. Lipo could be placed in center of ring. You would need only few CF rods and light center frame and some foam.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 18, 2010, 04:39 PM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdi3d View Post
The 750kv's listed in the earlier post -

Mike

This one?

Old Jan 18, 2010, 04:43 PM
Talontsi96 is offline
Find More Posts by Talontsi96
Registered User
Talontsi96's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdi3d View Post
I agree with Bob - So easy to swap out frames once you have all your harness's made - I am almost done with another one dedicated to 2 gyros and FMA copilot - Decided it will be a good one to work on my forward flight with - I bought some of those RCtimer motors and while they are lacking the same power that the DT750's have they are working ok - Again trying to go as light as possible - I have removed most of the bullet connectors in hopes of saving a little weight - -



Mike
I want to make mine really neat and run the wires inside the CF square tubes and then solder the motor/esc connections on both ends. Swapping the frame will not be that easy....
Old Jan 18, 2010, 04:43 PM
cdi3d is offline
Find More Posts by cdi3d
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
Hey Rev - This is the one 2830-14 - http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?app=goods&spec_id=145

Mike
Old Jan 18, 2010, 04:44 PM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdi3d View Post
Hey Rev - This is the one 2830-14 - http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?app=goods&spec_id=145

Mike

Thank you, I understand your concerns with this one.
Old Jan 18, 2010, 04:46 PM
CrazyG is offline
Find More Posts by CrazyG
Registered User
Another short video, recorded using my phone (N97)

Tricopter - Improved Frame (0 min 47 sec)


This is a new middle frame due to a flexable middle frame (the old one)

flies much better now!
Old Jan 18, 2010, 05:33 PM
bajas is offline
Find More Posts by bajas
making big holes in the sky..

soon in the air i hope


I just have some props to balance and some good weather!!!!..

This will be the most existing maiden EVER....hehehe..
I made it big, didnt cut the carbonrods from HC. 750mm long arms.

I just have one problem left.. The antenna. Where do i put it,????


THANX 1000000000 Signguy for inspirations and everybody else for all help... This is a fantastic thread...
Old Jan 18, 2010, 05:42 PM
Joshbb is offline
Find More Posts by Joshbb
Registered User
wow thats long maybe too long for decent manouverability? are the gyros well isolated from motor vibrations, I notice you have them on the arms. where is your yaw gyro?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bajas View Post
I just have some props to balance and some good weather!!!!..

This will be the most existing maiden EVER....hehehe..
I made it big, didnt cut the carbonrods from HC. 750mm long arms.

I just have one problem left.. The antenna. Where do i put it,????


THANX 1000000000 Signguy for inspirations and everybody else for all help... This is a fantastic thread...
Old Jan 18, 2010, 05:46 PM
kristjane is offline
Find More Posts by kristjane
Have a nice day! Kristjan
kristjane's Avatar
@Joshbb
Nice work!

I'm finishing my drawings
I hope my stuff arrives before weekend, so I can send files and materials for cutting.
Old Jan 18, 2010, 06:04 PM
cdi3d is offline
Find More Posts by cdi3d
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
Josh - I think he is using the esky under the frame for yaw - it will be interesting to see how well this flies with those long arms - could go either way -

Mike
Old Jan 18, 2010, 06:18 PM
bajas is offline
Find More Posts by bajas
making big holes in the sky..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshbb View Post
wow thats long maybe too long for decent manouverability? are the gyros well isolated from motor vibrations, I notice you have them on the arms. where is your yaw gyro?
Its just one way to find out how it flys.....

As cdi3d poited out i have a esky gyro under the "rudder-arm". And i used this one to mount the gyros to the arms:
http://hobbycity.com/hobbyking/store...idProduct=8999
Old Jan 18, 2010, 06:53 PM
The_Mongrel is offline
Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
CASA Certified RPAS Instructor
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talontsi96 View Post
I want to make mine really neat and run the wires inside the CF square tubes and then solder the motor/esc connections on both ends. Swapping the frame will not be that easy....
That's pretty much what I had in mind. Running the wires through the frame.

My goodies should be here in a day or two and I can get started.

Cheers
-J
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 18, 2010, 07:23 PM
signguy is offline
Find More Posts by signguy
Registered User
signguy's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talontsi96 View Post
I want to make mine really neat and run the wires inside the CF square tubes and then solder the motor/esc connections on both ends. Swapping the frame will not be that easy....
I would really consider building a simple frame first. Then once you get it flying good, make a new harness and install everything in you good frame.The CF from HC is pultruded, and WILL split very easily when it is drilled. A folding frame will be difficult because you'll have to move the pivot outside the tube. There won't be enough room for a bolt, and the wires inside. I know Sebastian, and Jussi have made some very cool frames with the wires inside, maybe they will share some of their secrets......
Old Jan 18, 2010, 07:29 PM
cdi3d is offline
Find More Posts by cdi3d
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
I agree with Bob - I have been using wood plugs through my HK CF arms to reduce the amount of splitting that occurs where you drill it - I have been using it on my SS for a longtime and unless it has the wood dowel gorilla glued in will split very easily - I am working on a new tri that uses these CF arms and would love to run the wires inside I just can't risk the integrity of the arm to hide a few wires - Just my 2cents

Mike
Old Jan 18, 2010, 07:42 PM
The_Mongrel is offline
Find More Posts by The_Mongrel
CASA Certified RPAS Instructor
The_Mongrel's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by signguy View Post
I would really consider building a simple frame first. Then once you get it flying good, make a new harness and install everything in you good frame.The CF from HC is pultruded, and WILL split very easily when it is drilled. A folding frame will be difficult because you'll have to move the pivot outside the tube. There won't be enough room for a bolt, and the wires inside. I know Sebastian, and Jussi have made some very cool frames with the wires inside, maybe they will share some of their secrets......
This is on the assumption that you want the legs to fold. I have no real need to have the legs folding, and will most likely secure in place.
RCG Plus Member


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Yet another tricopter build. !!Updated parts list!! SebastianJ Multirotor Talk 2669 Dec 30, 2011 06:48 PM
Discussion What to do? Failed tricopter build! Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 9 Mar 07, 2011 10:20 AM
Discussion Tricopter Build Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 21 Feb 20, 2010 09:24 PM
Build Log Tricopter build SebastianJ VTOLs 1 Dec 22, 2008 05:34 PM
Discussion Trying to build a mechanically actuated tricopter, Help! stefalo Coaxial Helicopters 3 Jan 09, 2008 05:10 PM