Build A Tricopter - Page 1021 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jan 17, 2012, 05:07 PM
Registered User
jfcomg's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0mputer
Is this all I need?

http://www.amazon.com/Eagle-Tree-Sys.../dp/B002JH3SQA

Or do I have to get the elogger too? and the GPS expander unit?
I have no clue on OSD but that eagle trees shows good information.
Hi k0mputer.
This is the page of eagle tree. http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/micro.htm

and all you need to see all the info that i have in my tricopter is.
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/OSD/OSD-Pro.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/3.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Pro/1.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/6.htm

You can buy it at hobby king at better price , (the cheaper price appears when you add it to the shopping car) the problem is that they are out of stock almost all the time.

in my experience the customer service of eagle tree its really good they answer your questions really fast.

i use to have this system in a plane because the osdpro have the return to home function , but for a tricopter i don't think it can work properly.
if you want the osd only for the tricopter i know there are cheaper options.
i hope this can help you.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 17, 2012, 05:21 PM
Registered User
Id really like to have an OSD with home indicator arrow on my quad. At the moment im using the cheap HK E-OSD which shows me time elapsed, battery voltage and the dragon link rssi voltage. Before this was installed I was just relying on the radio timer which is not exactly the safest way to fly fpv. If you cant afford the eagle tree gear then the $13 HK E-OSD is a must IMO.
Jan 17, 2012, 05:42 PM
Registered User
Hi jfcomg. This will be for my tricopter so no RTH is ok. I basically will use your setup since you got what looks like a quadcopter, based on your video. Readymaderc has them in stock too. I know HK has good price but you're right, it is out of stock. Is the eagltree easy to configure? I don't mind if I have to solder stuff. What are the cheaper options? At least it should show AHI, speed, altitude, power left.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcomg
Hi k0mputer.
This is the page of eagle tree. http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/micro.htm

and all you need to see all the info that i have in my tricopter is.
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/OSD/OSD-Pro.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/3.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Pro/1.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/6.htm

You can buy it at hobby king at better price , (the cheaper price appears when you add it to the shopping car) the problem is that they are out of stock almost all the time.

in my experience the customer service of eagle tree its really good they answer your questions really fast.

i use to have this system in a plane because the osdpro have the return to home function , but for a tricopter i don't think it can work properly.
if you want the osd only for the tricopter i know there are cheaper options.
i hope this can help you.
Jan 18, 2012, 12:29 AM
Registered User
BigJimNZ's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stunt Double
Id really like to have an OSD with home indicator arrow on my quad. At the moment im using the cheap HK E-OSD which shows me time elapsed, battery voltage and the dragon link rssi voltage. Before this was installed I was just relying on the radio timer which is not exactly the safest way to fly fpv. If you cant afford the eagle tree gear then the $13 HK E-OSD is a must IMO.
I have just bought the HK G-OSDII and will be flashing it with the CL-OSD.
This gives a bunch of goodies to the G-OSDII including a return home arrow.
At US$44 it's worth considering. I tried mine out the box and it performed well.
The stock item has 2 voltage readouts / gps coords / RSSI / Clock / speed
I will be flashing it in the next day or two and will update........

Ian


CL-OSD at the link below

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1490446
Jan 18, 2012, 12:47 AM
Registered User
Thanks in advance for reporting on your progress with this option and re-flashed firmware. I'd be interested to seehow this goes. I bought the AEO GPS set from HK which promised lots but unfortunately has glitchy software and thus I'm searching for a replacement.
...I'll stay tuned!
cheers,
Matt

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimNZ
I have just bought the HK G-OSDII and will be flashing it with the CL-OSD.
This gives a bunch of goodies to the G-OSDII including a return home arrow.
At US$44 it's worth considering. I tried mine out the box and it performed well.
The stock item has 2 voltage readouts / gps coords / RSSI / Clock / speed
I will be flashing it in the next day or two and will update........

Ian


CL-OSD at the link below

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1490446
Jan 18, 2012, 09:59 PM
Registered User
jfcomg's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0mputer
Hi jfcomg. This will be for my tricopter so no RTH is ok. I basically will use your setup since you got what looks like a quadcopter, based on your video. Readymaderc has them in stock too. I know HK has good price but you're right, it is out of stock. Is the eagltree easy to configure? I don't mind if I have to solder stuff. What are the cheaper options? At least it should show AHI, speed, altitude, power left.
You have to read the manuals to know how to connect and configure with your computer the OSD and elogger. no soldering needed if you are going to measure a second battery you should have to buy an 15k resistance and solder it.
Jan 18, 2012, 10:02 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimNZ
I use a lathe to drill the bar out to 14mm then ream to 16mm. Then part them off at whatever length. Then drill the bolt holes in the press.

Have a quick look at my blog here at RCG. I have a very simple yaw mount made from the same Polethylene material and using a 9gram servo.
Everything is attached with the poly blocks

I made a flat G10 plate for the front of my tri with silicon tube slices to mount my GP. Nil gello but then im flying in more temporate environments.
I mount my VTX on the left boom. Well I did until I flew the whole lot into the never never on boxing day. Gopro and everything gone. Parts on the way from HK for a new weapon. Gives me a good excuse to get the GP2 I guess
I have ordered a GPS SMS tracking thingy to tape on there.

If you are using a 16mm boom I can send you some poly blocks to play with if you like. Including the yaw mount. Send me a PM with your address and I'll fire some up to you ( no charge ). But I want to see a picture of your boss's face when he sees your new tri

Ian
can i get in on that poly block action???
Jan 18, 2012, 10:55 PM
wbuttry
here is the build i started man i hate waiting on hobby king still got parts coming and then the next thing is figureing out all the wiring maybe some one can kinda lead me in the rite direction but here is a vid i did kinda showing what i got and what i done but here it is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxXqnA_OoYs ok also here is a pdf file from mulicopter for people using the black board any way it has all the different models listed and the direction of each prop but tell me what you think
Jan 19, 2012, 11:33 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcomg
Hi k0mputer.
This is the page of eagle tree. http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/micro.htm

and all you need to see all the info that i have in my tricopter is.
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/OSD/OSD-Pro.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/3.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Pro/1.htm
http://www.eagletreesystems.com/MicroPower/6.htm

You can buy it at hobby king at better price , (the cheaper price appears when you add it to the shopping car) the problem is that they are out of stock almost all the time.

in my experience the customer service of eagle tree its really good they answer your questions really fast.

i use to have this system in a plane because the osdpro have the return to home function , but for a tricopter i don't think it can work properly.
if you want the osd only for the tricopter i know there are cheaper options.
i hope this can help you.
The OSD Pro, Vlogger, and GPS were on sale from HK yesterday, I ordered them. Plus, it was shipping from their US warehouse.
Jan 19, 2012, 01:06 PM
Registered User
BigJimNZ's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0mputer
The OSD Pro, Vlogger, and GPS were on sale from HK yesterday, I ordered them. Plus, it was shipping from their US warehouse.
Nice
Jan 19, 2012, 11:49 PM
Re-Kitting Expert :o
jbalat & cdi3d,

Are either of you willing to do some printing on the side? I have a motor mount for a contra rotating motor that I would like to have printed. I checked out Ponoko.com and it was going to cost almost $60 with $14.00 for shipping a small plastic part.That is nuts!! These are not some thing I can sell a million of, so I can't afford to have a mold made and parts built, especially since I'm not sure if it will work. Well thanks for the help.
Jan 20, 2012, 02:57 AM
Registered User
BigJimNZ's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pheonix3
Thanks in advance for reporting on your progress with this option and re-flashed firmware. I'd be interested to seehow this goes. I bought the AEO GPS set from HK which promised lots but unfortunately has glitchy software and thus I'm searching for a replacement.
...I'll stay tuned!
cheers,
Matt
I got around to flashing the thing today. Flashed easy with AVR Studio 4 and AvrispII.
Took it out on the drive and it got a 7 satellite fix. The OSD looks good in the Fatsharks. Have yet to get the thing on a flying machine.
Will keep you posted

Ian
Jan 20, 2012, 03:44 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by GorillaBob
jbalat & cdi3d,

Are either of you willing to do some printing on the side? I have a motor mount for a contra rotating motor that I would like to have printed. I checked out Ponoko.com and it was going to cost almost $60 with $14.00 for shipping a small plastic part.That is nuts!! These are not some thing I can sell a million of, so I can't afford to have a mold made and parts built, especially since I'm not sure if it will work. Well thanks for the help.
Can you post a screen shot and some rough dimensions and qty required ? Can you produce an STL file or would you like me to model it for you.. As I said its not my printer but I can certainly send the details to my friend if you give me so more info.

JB
Jan 20, 2012, 09:52 AM
Re-Kitting Expert :o
I have it half finished in SketchUp. I can finish that and send it along, or I can send a picture once it is finished. Which would be better?
Jan 20, 2012, 08:09 PM
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by GorillaBob
I have it half finished in SketchUp. I can finish that and send it along, or I can send a picture once it is finished. Which would be better?
PM - Sent - I have been doing more and more printing for motor mounts and such -


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Yet another tricopter build. !!Updated parts list!! SebastianJ Multirotor Drone Talk 2669 Dec 30, 2011 06:48 PM
Discussion What to do? Failed tricopter build! Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 9 Mar 07, 2011 10:20 AM
Discussion Tricopter Build Razor_Racer Coaxial Helicopters 21 Feb 20, 2010 09:24 PM
Build Log Tricopter build SebastianJ VTOLs 1 Dec 22, 2008 05:34 PM
Discussion Trying to build a mechanically actuated tricopter, Help! stefalo Coaxial Helicopters 3 Jan 09, 2008 05:10 PM