Thread Tools
Old Jul 29, 2011, 09:08 AM
Irg is offline
Irg
Find More Posts by Irg
Irg
ol' yellow eyes is back
Irg's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesrini View Post
Ive been using 42% thor opto kill/reg. On the aurora and Never had any problems, range checks have been as far as I can walk in 90 seconds
range check? what's that?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 29, 2011, 10:28 AM
jamesrini is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrini
Registered User
Come one you know! It's when you hold your beer as far as you can from you mouth until you splash yourself. That's how you find your range lol
Old Jul 29, 2011, 03:40 PM
3DBobz is offline
Find More Posts by 3DBobz
Registered User
3DBobz's Avatar
Sent my esc in to castle today to get fixed so I wont be flying for a while
Old Jul 29, 2011, 04:53 PM
SteveT. is online now
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DBobz View Post
Sent my esc in to castle today to get fixed so I wont be flying for a while
You got that right!!! But, I don't think it's going to be as long as they say....and I sent mine in two hours after getting the original advisory....so, I "may" be getting mine back, next week, or the following week.

SteveT
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Old Jul 30, 2011, 02:32 AM
vienquach is offline
Find More Posts by vienquach
Registered User
vienquach's Avatar
I've been waiting for an ICE 100 (replacement) for several weeks.

Vien
Old Jul 30, 2011, 08:29 AM
G.P. is offline
Find More Posts by G.P.
iumop ap!sdn w,I
G.P.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DBobz View Post
Sent my esc in to castle today to get fixed so I wont be flying for a while
That's why you need to have multiple 3DHS airframes ready to go at all times! It's that old eggs in one basket thing...
Old Jul 30, 2011, 08:40 AM
3DBobz is offline
Find More Posts by 3DBobz
Registered User
3DBobz's Avatar
Ok guess I need to order a 87shp
Old Jul 30, 2011, 10:38 AM
prozac is offline
Find More Posts by prozac
Registered User
prozac's Avatar

72 extra electric mounting


Did they change something on these. I have the Motrofly 4325 with the longest spacers in the kit, and the gap is still shy another 1.5 inches. I don't know if the mount would even be that strong at 3.5 inches. Am I missing something?
Old Jul 30, 2011, 11:34 AM
joshet89 is online now
Find More Posts by joshet89
MD1 HACK
joshet89's Avatar
Ya the updated versions had a shorter firewall for the updated rear carb DLE30. With some metal spacers from psp or something like that and a couple high quality bolts should be no issue.
Old Jul 30, 2011, 12:36 PM
prozac is offline
Find More Posts by prozac
Registered User
prozac's Avatar
So apparently, I'm the first one to try the super long extended mount on electric. However, now I still need to find super long (high quality bolts) to match the blind nuts I already installed and find more spacers. Fun!
Last edited by prozac; Jul 30, 2011 at 12:46 PM.
Old Jul 30, 2011, 12:48 PM
joshet89 is online now
Find More Posts by joshet89
MD1 HACK
joshet89's Avatar
Check fastenahl, great bolts and then get some nylock nuts and some fender washers and it will be easy

check this out, they will have everything you need
Old Jul 30, 2011, 12:57 PM
prozac is offline
Find More Posts by prozac
Registered User
prozac's Avatar
That's great and all. It won't get me flying today though. I'm not a patient person. Fastenal is only open during the business week.
thanks for the suggestions though. The RSP stuff looks interesting.
Old Jul 30, 2011, 01:01 PM
joshet89 is online now
Find More Posts by joshet89
MD1 HACK
joshet89's Avatar
You have any home depots/lowes/hardware store close? You should be able to get bolts at minimum nylon spacers and the nylock nuts at a place like that. Just get a few bigger washers to spread the load out if you go with some buts vs the blind nuts.
Old Jul 30, 2011, 02:25 PM
gonzoman5 is offline
Find More Posts by gonzoman5
Up,Up!up!!up!!!
gonzoman5's Avatar
Prozac, I'm using the same motor as you, and I had to use a 8-32 threaded rod and lock nuts with washers on both ends. I think I cut the threaded rod at a little less than 5 inches long, and I used spacers from previous builds and cut them to length. spanning the distance hasn't posed any problems for me, as far as strength goes.

All that said, I flew my extra as an electric for the last time yesterday. Pullin out the power system for use in the 71" Slick, and makin the Extra a gasser. I have to keep the 330 flyable because it IS the best precision/3D plane that I own. I even ran it through some weeds (in flight/landing) that were 3 ft. tall. Slowed me down a bit, but luckily I made it with out dumping it.

Nick
Old Jul 30, 2011, 03:21 PM
blucor basher is online now
Find More Posts by blucor basher
ExtremeFlight - 3DHS - Legacy
blucor basher's Avatar
Quote:
So apparently, I'm the first one to try the super long extended mount on electric. However, now I still need to find super long (high quality bolts) to match the blind nuts I already installed and find more spacers. Fun!
No, the DLE30 got longer about a year ago, the usual way of making extra-long fasteners is all-thread.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log 3D Hobby Shop 57" Extra 330 SC -Build Thread- flyinhigh025 3D Flying 14319 Jun 14, 2016 07:25 PM
Sold 3D Hobby Shop 47" Extra SHP V2 ctraut5 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Sep 20, 2009 01:08 PM
Sold 3D Hobby Shop Extra 300SR silent_guru Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2009 03:21 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 103" Extra 330 SC sukhoi26mx Fuel Plane Talk 7 Feb 27, 2009 09:37 AM