Jul 19, 2012, 03:28 PM
Registered User

Ice settings


Using Hacker A50-12L do I need to modify any settings for my ESC ? Not sure I can as I only use Macs.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 19, 2012, 06:34 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bufordbob View Post
Using Hacker A50-12L do I need to modify any settings for my ESC ? Not sure I can as I only use Macs.
You could probably use bootcamp or parallels..

SteveT
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Jul 19, 2012, 08:03 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
I changed mine. I do not like the stock settings on the castle escs
Jul 19, 2012, 08:34 PM
Registered User

Esc ice 100


Ok now I am really confused. What issues are there with the stock Castles? And.......what is bootcamp or parallels?

Bob
Jul 19, 2012, 08:42 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
Stock castle esc come in outrunner mode(have had issues with motors cutting off b/c of it (I use 8khz instead and its much smoother now) The stock throttle response is set at 5. Well that is a very slow spool up. I run 8 or 10 (much faster and more instant) Also data logging is turned on and that taxes the processor and causes knock in the motor. I turn that off too. Oh stock the esc has a hard low voltage cut off. Well unless you want an instant dead stick soft is a much better way to go as it will allow you to have enough throttle to land.
Jul 19, 2012, 08:56 PM
Registered User
Everything makes sense just have to figure out how to do it.

Bob
Jul 19, 2012, 09:00 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
Well I can see if my brother can meet up with you with his labtop(he is normally in corolla almost every day). He has the castle program already on it. That how we adjusted our at the field. I will send him your info tomorrow.
Jul 19, 2012, 09:15 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bufordbob View Post
Everything makes sense just have to figure out how to do it.

Bob
Bootcamp and parallels are programs to allow people to run PC programs on Mac computers....

SteveT
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Jul 20, 2012, 07:58 AM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by losifanatic View Post
Oh stock the esc has a hard low voltage cut off. Well unless you want an instant dead stick soft is a much better way to go as it will allow you to have enough throttle to land.
But, as most of us set the LVC to 4.0v(total, not per cell), should never hit LVC. Never touched the 8khz either. All of my ice 100 have never given me any trouble.
Jul 20, 2012, 09:28 AM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
Yeah I have my lvc at 4 volts but bob isn't doing low crazy 3d so a lvc wouldn't crash him like it would us.
Jul 20, 2012, 11:34 AM
Registered User
Got my futaba bls451 servos yesterday. Is it recommended to hard mount the servos or use supplied rubber grommets with copper sleeves?
Jul 20, 2012, 11:52 AM
Registered User
If its gas definitely do the grommets
All my electrics are 51" and under and I haven't used the grommets for them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minimog View Post
Got my futaba bls451 servos yesterday. Is it recommended to hard mount the servos or use supplied rubber grommets with copper sleeves?
Jul 20, 2012, 11:58 AM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minimog View Post
Got my futaba bls451 servos yesterday. Is it recommended to hard mount the servos or use supplied rubber grommets with copper sleeves?
and install those sleeves correctly. The wide "bell" part goes on the bottom.

Not that I've ever install them upside down before.
Jul 20, 2012, 12:42 PM
Registered User
Electric setup on mine with the A60-6XS
Jul 20, 2012, 03:08 PM
Perfect 3pt inverted landing!
teookie's Avatar
I've never heard (before now) of anyone not using the grommets to mount their servo's. They help with not killing the servo at the physical limits of travel by letting the servo rock a little. They also provide a little vibration protection.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log 3D Hobby Shop 57" Extra 330 SC -Build Thread- flyinhigh025 3D Flying 14329 Jan 10, 2017 07:07 AM
Sold 3D Hobby Shop 47" Extra SHP V2 ctraut5 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Sep 20, 2009 12:08 PM
Sold 3D Hobby Shop Extra 300SR silent_guru Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2009 02:21 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 103" Extra 330 SC sukhoi26mx Fuel Plane Talk 7 Feb 27, 2009 08:37 AM