Displaying RSSI with OSD Pro - Page 4 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Apr 11, 2010, 05:52 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa
e.Man/Flywithme, and others, we are presently working on an expander board which provides:

a) Simultaneous Spektrum digital RSSI and GPS
b) Buffered, high impedance Analog RSSI input
c) Inputs for both analog and digital FMA thermal sensors
d) filtering of 12V power for cameras
e) monitoring of 3 voltage inputs

This board will be needed if you want to use simultaneous GPS and Spektrum RSSI, or simultaneous analog RSSI and FMA thermal sensors.
Hi billpa,

we know that you know - the summer comes with fast steps

Michael
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Apr 11, 2010, 06:13 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAngel2000
both to the receiver.
so the buffer is supplied with the 5v voltage from the receiver.

GND is already shared from the receiver and the OSD Pro through one of the AUX connections.
Thanks BlueAngel2000, I got some LM358 and will give it a try on Thomas LRS with ET OSD Pro.

JeffY
May 05, 2010, 12:23 AM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
Hi Bill,

I asked a while back about rssi using the FDR. You said there would eventually be support for that. Can you give me an ETA on when I'll be able to use rssi with the FDR? The reason I ask is I have the Thomas LRS on order and will be doing some long distance flights. It would be great to be able to monitor the rx health on a long flight.

Thanks,
Randy
May 05, 2010, 04:27 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
all new Scherrer LR (long range) receivers version 4 and up
have the RSSI buffer amplifier internally !
this way you can connect it to any kind of OSD
and newer think about overloading it, the level are still 0.5V for 0%
and 1.0V for 100%
and those levels change about 0.1V to each side from RX to RX
so better use the OSD calibration of each endpoints,
I prefer to store the point where failsafe kicks in as the 0% level,
but each user can offcourse do what ever they prefer and feel is safe and easy to use.
May 05, 2010, 06:16 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsowder
Hi Bill,

I asked a while back about rssi using the FDR. You said there would eventually be support for that. Can you give me an ETA on when I'll be able to use rssi with the FDR? The reason I ask is I have the Thomas LRS on order and will be doing some long distance flights. It would be great to be able to monitor the rx health on a long flight.

Thanks,
Randy
Hi,

I use the dual A/D-converter with my data recorder to display rssi. I only get the voltage, not 0-100%. (I guess if we ask, the sw can be updated to show what we want, and not just the voltage)
Or you could wait for the FPV-expander that hopefully is ready soon..

Megafluffy
May 05, 2010, 11:19 AM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
Quote:
all new Scherrer LR (long range) receivers version 4 and up
have the RSSI buffer amplifier internally !
this way you can connect it to any kind of OSD
and newer think about overloading it, the level are still 0.5V for 0%
and 1.0V for 100%
and those levels change about 0.1V to each side from RX to RX
so better use the OSD calibration of each endpoints,
I prefer to store the point where failsafe kicks in as the 0% level,
but each user can offcourse do what ever they prefer and feel is safe and easy to use.
Hi Thomas. I'm really looking forward to receiving your system They are on back-order, so I'll have to wait a few weeks. My problem is, Eagle Tree's FDR does not support RSSI at the moment. But it sounds like Megafluffy has a temporary solution to the problem.

Quote:
I use the dual A/D-converter with my data recorder to display rssi. I only get the voltage, not 0-100%. (I guess if we ask, the sw can be updated to show what we want, and not just the voltage)
Or you could wait for the FPV-expander that hopefully is ready soon..
That will work for now anyway. Where do I get this A/D-converter? Thanks for the reply!

Rsowder
May 14, 2010, 03:52 AM
Registered User
I'm a little lost. The instructions given in the first post don't relate at all to what I see on the screen! So far I have setup voltage 1 as RSSI and YES.
Although I have "choose parameters to display on video OSD" and "configure On-screen parameters"

But I can't find the safety mode wizard.
I have the eLogger V3, and software 8.31.
Any ideas?
May 14, 2010, 05:56 AM
I think my wheels fell off.
Thumb_number's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilsonj
I'm a little lost. The instructions given in the first post don't relate at all to what I see on the screen! So far I have setup voltage 1 as RSSI and YES.
Although I have "choose parameters to display on video OSD" and "configure On-screen parameters"

But I can't find the safety mode wizard.
I have the eLogger V3, and software 8.31.
Any ideas?
I think you need to do that using the on screen menu. (as opposed to doing it while configuring via USB)
May 14, 2010, 06:45 PM
Registered User
Thanks Thumb number. I thought the instructions were referring to the PC software, as it kind of implies this!

Up to this point I had not run the OSD menu on the actual OSD pro, so was assuming (wrongfully) that all the features were also included in the PC software. Obviously the safety wizard can not be run from the PC, as it requires Radio Tx stick movements. All clear now.

Anyway, got it working and it looks great!
May 20, 2010, 12:37 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa
e.Man/Flywithme, and others, we are presently working on an expander board which provides:

a) Simultaneous Spektrum digital RSSI and GPS
b) Buffered, high impedance Analog RSSI input
c) Inputs for both analog and digital FMA thermal sensors
d) filtering of 12V power for cameras
e) monitoring of 3 voltage inputs

This board will be needed if you want to use simultaneous GPS and Spektrum RSSI, or simultaneous analog RSSI and FMA thermal sensors.
Hi Bill.

eager hope this stage. When will be on sale? do you have idea of the value?

If you can implement stabilization in normal flight with sensors FMA. thanks!
Jun 13, 2010, 09:31 PM
Falling with style
metalfred's Avatar
If anyone can give me some tips... I am trying to find the RSSI pinout for this RX:



This works with the FlySky FS-TH9X (b version).
Aug 07, 2010, 03:18 PM
Registered User
L14m's Avatar
Deleted
Last edited by L14m; Aug 07, 2010 at 06:17 PM. Reason: Fixed
Aug 08, 2010, 01:32 PM
Earth's Mightiest Hero, KC9TBO
Zahnarzt's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa
e.Man/Flywithme, and others, we are presently working on an expander board which provides:

a) Simultaneous Spektrum digital RSSI and GPS
b) Buffered, high impedance Analog RSSI input
c) Inputs for both analog and digital FMA thermal sensors
d) filtering of 12V power for cameras
e) monitoring of 3 voltage inputs

This board will be needed if you want to use simultaneous GPS and Spektrum RSSI, or simultaneous analog RSSI and FMA thermal sensors.
Eagerly awaiting the arrival of this product!
Aug 08, 2010, 04:41 PM
Registered User
Hiho...
has anyone a tip, how to find RSSI on WFLY 9ch PCM Receiver?

thanks Tele
Oct 05, 2010, 02:55 PM
Registered User
Hi!my name is Fabrizio,from italy!
I want know where is the pin for RSSI in hitech HDF-08RO and in hitech OPTIMA7...tank you
p.s sorry for my simply english


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Monitoring multiple battery voltages with OSD Pro billpa FPV Equipment 94 Jan 21, 2015 08:01 AM
Discussion Help with my ET OSD Pro & RangeVideo Tx harness Cralis FPV Talk 122 Sep 11, 2009 11:35 AM
Need help with Acro Pro motor mount drone Sport Planes 11 Jun 09, 2003 05:41 PM