Oct 18, 2009, 03:55 PM
Pro Bro #1008
Thread OP
Build Log

Birdie's attempt at a Micro Yak 54

Howdy! I decided that I would attempt to scale down some plans from Foamy Factory's Yak 54 to try and make me some tiny indoor 3D planes for the upcoming indoor "season" .

I had the plans from Tim several years ago, and have been building the 32" Yak's and loving them..They are some of the best flyers there are! Tim Hart did an outstanding job to say the least, on top of that he is one of the coolest mofo's around!

This is my first attempt.

What I did was try and use acrobat to scale down the full size sheet plans until the slots for the tabs and stuff were 2mm wide, so that I could use 2mm depron to make the airframes from.

I just kind of got lucky, and I have had to do very little sanding, even with my very poor knife skills..just another testament to Tim's hard work and perfection that it has made this way easy so far!

I got a couple of the 10G outrunners from HC here, and am thinking that some little bluebird 303's would work for surfaces, and so far, this is what I have...
to remove ads between posts
Oct 18, 2009, 03:55 PM
Pro Bro #1008
Thread OP

Here it is, RTF..! :)

I do not have an accurate scale, but it is for sure well over 1 ounce..so EPIC FAIL on that one..

I used hyperion 2S 120's with t-bird 9, and 3 of the little 2.5's and managed 75 degrees plus on the throw!!

Here is what it looked like flying tonite..
Last edited by birdie_in_texas; Nov 21, 2009 at 10:44 PM.
Oct 18, 2009, 03:56 PM
Pro Bro #1008
Thread OP

Am working on VIDEO..!

hold again..maybe for vids of me crashing!
Last edited by birdie_in_texas; Nov 21, 2009 at 10:45 PM.
Oct 18, 2009, 03:56 PM
Pro Bro #1008
Thread OP
and yet maybe a 3rd place holder..
Oct 18, 2009, 03:58 PM
Pro Bro #1008
Thread OP
More to come as I get some help in the micro department from some locals that are REALLY good at this sort of thing..
Oct 18, 2009, 04:18 PM
The RED filters through
Dude!