Oct 15, 2009, 05:38 PM
Ken's CAD Models
Thread OP
Discussion

CAD Plans checklist

It probably has been discussed here before, but I have not spent much time in the builders workshop section of RCGroups.

Has anyone developed a plans design checklist for developing plans. I have done many plans, for others as well as myself. Sometimes I get so far into it that I get a little lost, primarily when it comes to annotation. That is the part I like least.

I am a TurboCAD Pro user, and generally develop 3D math data prior to setting up the drafting side of the project. I am even thinking about template files for the drafting side that are tailored to model aircraft.

Appreciate any input or direction,
Ken
to remove ads between posts
Oct 16, 2009, 02:40 AM
Balsa dust maker
As far as notes go, I generally only put enough on the drawing to remind me of certain key points. Critical grain directions, material if different from balsa, basic dims of the certain parts. Other than that, I have a separate spreadsheet in Excel with all of my notes, design ideas, what I am designing for, power plant, etc. But that is just me. I am normally the only one to see the plans, so take it for what its worth.
Oct 16, 2009, 03:35 AM
Oh dear. I design kits, very laser cut kits, and EVERYTHING has to go in, including an instruction manual.

A lifetime of cockups by subcontractors who always guess exactly WRONG if it doesn't clearly state..and still do when it does, but at least they pay if you say 'It says here RADIUS not DIAMETER!!"..develops a habit of examining a plane for ANY ambiguity and annotating it.

And, of course, my very first job as a 'prentice had the golden rule pinned up in the toilets..with a neat little cartoon that I wont reproduce in a family friendly forum 'The job's not done till the paper work is done'
Oct 16, 2009, 03:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by vintage1