Planning stage, pby, input appreciated - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Oct 07, 2009, 09:27 PM
Discussion

Planning stage, pby, input appreciated

Hello,

I'm rather new to all of this but in reading here I've been nothing but astonished with the wealth of knowledge and experience here. If anyone has input I would greatly appreciate it.

I'm looking to build a PBY Catalina. I'm looking for a set of plans that will allow a wingspan of around 36in +/-. (I'm also hoping that one of you will point out the flaws in my wishes so that I correct as many of them as I can pre-build.)

I have a great cove to fly her on and really no land so I was planning on not bothering with landing gear of any sort. Size wise I would like it large enough to fly in a mild breeze, 6 knots or so, but most likely I won't be attempting to fly unless the lake is glass.

I would appreciate all input, especially right now on a sufficient set of plans to use and where best to find these. Hopefully I'll hear from someone soon.

Thanks again,

~A
to remove ads between posts
Oct 07, 2009, 09:35 PM
The Dare kit is a nice one. A bit difficult to build simply because a couple of the formers are a bit 'off'.

It is a nice flier even if it is a little fast for a PBY. Then again, I've not seen a PBY model that could fly slow enough

The Guillows one is nice too but the ones I have seen built turn out even heavier than the Dare one.

charlie
Oct 07, 2009, 10:33 PM
Two left thumbs