Thread Tools
Oct 01, 2009, 09:27 PM
Registered User
lazer155's Avatar
Discussion

I need help setting up my dx7 as a master trainer of my dx6i


Im moving this from the heli electric section....

I want ot use my dx6i as a slave with my dx7. The dx7 will be the master. I tried setting the dx7 to normal trainer mode and hooking it to a dx6i but it wont work. The dx7 works fine but the dx6i cant control anything. How do I set the dx7 up as a master remote with full control capabilities to the dx6i as a slave also with full control privileges?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 01, 2009, 10:17 PM
Registered User
lazer155's Avatar
anybody?
Oct 02, 2009, 04:07 PM
Registered User
Turn the dx7 on, use a trainer cable to connect the 2 tx's, but ensure that the dx6i is OFF. It will turn on by itself. Now, program the exact same for both radios. When you pull the trainer switch, the dx6i will have control.

Hope that helps, and sorry nobody answered your question for a while.
Lucas
Oct 02, 2009, 09:26 PM
Registered User
lazer155's Avatar
Thats exactly what I did but it looks like the dx6i I just sent back to horizon under recall which they supposedly replaced with a brand new dx6i now has a broken trainer function. I have to end it back to horizon again for repairs again.
Oct 02, 2009, 09:53 PM
Registered User
That sucks. Keep us posted!
Thanks,
Lucas
Oct 02, 2009, 11:56 PM
Deletedfor proving Nauga wrong
...
Last edited by fhhuber506771; Oct 24, 2009 at 09:41 PM.
Oct 03, 2009, 01:18 PM
Registered User
I have buddy boxed a dx7 and dx6i, using my procedure it worked fine.

Spektrum screwed this whole buddy box thing up imo. I mean, why not just make it compatible with all jr? Sure, it would make the dx6i $5 more to manufacturer, but this is such a common problem, and it needs a fix.

Lucas
Oct 03, 2009, 06:05 PM
Registered User
lazer155's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhhuber506771
DX6i has problems buddy boxig with anything except :

Another DX6i
A DX5e

I've not been able to personally test the DX6i with a DX7... I know the DX6i will not buddy box with several other radios that will buddy box with the DX7.

For best chance of success:

1) Turn on the TX to be used ans master
2) Turn on the aircraft RX.
3) Verify all controls function.
4) Plug in the trainer cord to the slave box
5) THEN plug in the trainer cord to the master.
6) Retest the control with the master
7) Test control with the slaved box.

Then do a range check. (which might require turning everything off and restarting at step 1 after the range check... don't repeat the range check if this is needed.)

Note that if it fails at any point in that sequence you have no chance of success.

There may be nothing wrong with the DX6i...
I took my dx6i to my lhs and they could not get it to buddy box with my dx7 at all. They grabbed one of their new dx6i out of the display case and it buddy boxed perfectly with my dx7. So I am positive the dx6i can buddy box with a dx7. Horizon just messed up with my replacement. Now I have tto call them on monday when they open again and see what I should do. I assume they will just replace it again, but this time hopefully with an actual fully functioning dx6i. We'll see...
Oct 13, 2009, 07:08 PM
Registered User
lazer155's Avatar
Great news! Horizon has decided to make up for me having to send the dx6i back again by sending me a DX7se! Thanks Horizon!
Oct 13, 2009, 07:28 PM
Registered User
WOAH!
You have to be kidding! I have never in all my life heard of a company compensating a product in this way!!! Way to go! good for you! (wish it happened to me though). One problem. The dx7se doesn't have a trainer port...

Lucas
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazer155
Great news! Horizon has decided to make up for me having to send the dx6i back again by sending me a DX7se! Thanks Horizon!
Oct 13, 2009, 07:40 PM
Registered User
lazer155's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasavaitor
WOAH!
You have to be kidding! I have never in all my life heard of a company compensating a product in this way!!! Way to go! good for you! (wish it happened to me though). One problem. The dx7se doesn't have a trainer port...

Lucas

Nope not kidding! I dont care that the DX7se doesnt have a trainer port now though. Its a free replacement thats better than my DX7 and way better than a DX6i. I only needed the dx6i to use to train my friend how to fly anyways. I can always sell the DX7se and have enough money to buy a dx6i and something else.
Oct 13, 2009, 07:52 PM
Registered User
Wow, still speechless.
I'm amazed.
Lucas
Oct 14, 2009, 09:43 AM
Registered User
lazer155's Avatar
Horizon is the best! I couldnt believe it either.
Oct 14, 2009, 10:30 AM
Registered User
that's weird, you send a TX because the buddy boxing doesnt work, and they replace it with a TX that *doesnt buddybox*

Other than that i'm just jealous
Oct 14, 2009, 11:53 AM
Registered User
lazer155's Avatar
The first tx i sent in didnt buddy box and the rudder and throttle were jumping around by themselves. Like i would have the throttle at 50% and the monitor would show the throttle and rudder jumping randomly around. It was a recall problem. Horizon sent me a new dx6i and the rudder and throttle worked on that one but the buddy box on that one still didnt work. I sent the nonbuddy boxing dx6i back to and they called be saying they were going to make up for me having to send it in a second time by giving me a DX7se. They asked what mode and type I wanted. I told them the heli version. So they shipped it yesterday and I should be getting it by tomorrow or friday. Hurray!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! I need help setting up ailevators in my Futaba 9C, please. WarrrEagle! Radios 7 Dec 13, 2015 05:58 AM
Discussion I need help setting up my Blade 400 - Central Ohio Blue Jacket Mini Helis 7 Aug 10, 2008 05:19 PM
Discussion I Need Help Setting Up My Cppro W/jr6102 helidiction Micro Helis 1 Jan 20, 2007 08:17 AM
Discussion Need help setting up 401 w/DX7 please... warpspeed Mini Helis 0 Jan 16, 2007 09:16 PM
Need help setting up a CP picccolo as FP microflite Micro Helis 8 Nov 18, 2003 07:03 PM