Info for accessing G-Force/Airspeed/Altitude sensors with your microcontroller - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Sep 27, 2009, 11:10 PM
billpa's Avatar
Cool

Info for accessing G-Force/Airspeed/Altitude sensors with your microcontroller


Here's the information on accessing our G-Force, Altimeter V4/V3 and Airspeed V3 Microsensors with your own microcontroller/firmware project:

[url]http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Manuals/microsensor-i2c.pdf/url]
Last edited by billpa; Mar 02, 2015 at 10:29 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 27, 2009, 11:34 PM
Alam
Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa
Here's the information on accessing our Altimeter and Airspeed V3 Microsensors with your own microcontroller/firmware project:

http://www.eagletreesystems.com/supp...sensor-i2c.pdf

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree
Please mentioned the pin number and the micro-controller part number with where the I2C signals are terminating.

Thanks.
Fakhre Alam
Sep 28, 2009, 05:22 AM
Registered User
thats just sudo code. its not targeted at any particular micro. Once I get a alt/speed sensor, I'll see if I can get my favorite micro, a Propeller, to talk to it. I've had luck with i2c on it before.

first I need the altimeter/speed sensors for my elogger
Sep 28, 2009, 12:30 PM
Registered User
n0qbh's Avatar
Is there a pin out of the sensor connector(s)? I didn't see it mentioned in the manuals.
Sep 28, 2009, 07:26 PM
Registered User
thats true. we dont know which one is clock and which one is data, the v+ and ground are pretty much a sure thing
Sep 28, 2009, 07:36 PM
Registered User
I have been able to get both airspeed and altimeter working with the following connections:

Red wire: 5V
White wire: Ground
Yellow wire: SDA
Brown wire: SCL
Sep 28, 2009, 11:30 PM
Registered User
nice now all I need is a alt/speed sensor of my own
Sep 29, 2009, 02:06 AM
billpa's Avatar
Thanks for the questions. I have updated the manual (link above) to answer them all, I think. Vassilis, thanks for posting the pinout. I can't believe I forgot to include that.

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree
Oct 05, 2009, 02:23 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
We will be releasing PIC source code and schematics for making an interface for our telemetry system that allows you to access any of the Eagletree sensors. You can also plug it into the eLogger's LCD port and have all of the LCD data returned as telemetry info. This would let you format the information using the Eagletree's software.
Oct 11, 2009, 07:06 PM
Registered User
Hello Bill,

Is there any chance Eagle Tree might also release the information for accessing the variometer from your own microcontroller as you have already done with the Altimeter and Airspeed sensor?

Thanks. -John Elliott

Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa
Here's the information on accessing our Altimeter and Airspeed V3 Microsensors with your own microcontroller/firmware project:

http://www.eagletreesystems.com/supp...sensor-i2c.pdf

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree
Oct 12, 2009, 02:11 AM
billpa's Avatar
Jim, cool stuff!

John, good to hear from you. There's a way to do this, but it's not ready for prime time. The recorder will output the airspeed, altitude and a few other parameters using "NMEA" RS323 sentences via the transmitter port. We did this as a custom project, so it's not kept up to date, but I'd like for us to productize this eventually.

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree
Nov 14, 2009, 09:32 AM
Registered User
Is there any way to switch the sensor from “Eagle Tree” mode to “Third Party” mode without the eLogger V3 ? I don't have a eLogger V3, just a V1
Nov 17, 2009, 10:37 PM
billpa's Avatar
Hi Mark,

Unfortunately, there is not currently a way to do this. If you have not purchased the sensor already, and you order it from us, we can do the modification here - just put a note in the "notes" section. Alternatively, maybe there's someone at an RC flying club near you who could loan you one?

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree
Nov 18, 2009, 06:07 AM
Registered User
Hi Bill,
That's a shame as I already have received 2 new airspeed sensors which from what you are saying are now useless. I live in a remote location and don't have a club nearby and don't know of anyone with a V3. I should have checked this aspect before I ordered them. It is not worth sending them to USA and back. I can access the i2c bus ok but simply don't know what commands to send to switch it to "third party" mode.
Does anyone else know?
Regards, Mark
Nov 20, 2009, 05:55 PM
billpa's Avatar
Hi Mark,

The problem is that the third party setting is sent with a "big blob" of calibration data to the sensor. There's not a separate command to turn on/off that mode. In hindsight that would have been preferable. Let me think about this - I may be able to come up with some solution. But, hopefully you'll be able to track down somebody local sooner.

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted WTB Eagletree Altitude and Airspeed micro sensors hcopter Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 Oct 20, 2007 12:02 PM
Discussion NOW SHIPPING: Airspeed, Altitude and lots more new sensors for the MicroPower billpa Eagle Tree Systems 41 Jul 31, 2007 02:02 PM
Discussion Eagle Tree announces Airspeed, Altitude and lots more new sensors for the MicroPower billpa Batteries and Chargers 14 May 28, 2007 07:28 PM
Discussion Eagle Tree announces Airspeed, Altitude and lots more new sensors for the MicroPower billpa Product Announcements 4 May 27, 2007 09:56 PM
Alert Caution - Web Page with your info not secure RCTyp HobbyKing 5 Mar 22, 2007 03:25 PM