Thread Tools
Old Apr 03, 2010, 05:59 PM
SteveT. is offline
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wedgewing View Post
silly suggestion that works...Arron always asks me if I have these......

I use the plastic bread tags on all my batts when they are charged... when putting a batt in a plane it gets pulled like a grenade pin and goes back in the bag

saves planes......costs only carbs
Cool....great idea!!

SteveT
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 03, 2010, 06:03 PM
starzen is offline
Find More Posts by starzen
Registered User
starzen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draknkep View Post
I "try" to check the voltage of all packs before installing in the plane...but sometimes a person forgets...at least you didn't take off with a pack that would only give you a minute or two of flight, WRONG place, and have it cut out on you...

SteveT
i am generally pretty anal about putting only charged packs in the case with my batteries. All empty ones go in a 'charging case' and i charge all of them immediately when i get back.

Obviously it couldnt have been that empty as i did get 6 minutes of heavy throttle flying so maybe it just wasnt fully charged but almost.

Will watch them for a while now

Mike
Old Apr 03, 2010, 08:35 PM
GoldCraft is offline
Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wedgewing View Post
silly suggestion that works...Arron always asks me if I have these......

I use the plastic bread tags on all my batts when they are charged... when putting a batt in a plane it gets pulled like a grenade pin and goes back in the bag

saves planes......costs only carbs

Ive done the same with a rubber band...just wrap a rubber band around charged batteries...take the band off when you fly.
Old Apr 03, 2010, 11:57 PM
fall666 is offline
Find More Posts by fall666
To me, every day is Saturday
fall666's Avatar
Prozac doing some 330SC flying.

3D Hobby Shop 330SC 114th Aerosquadron 04/03/10 (7 min 43 sec)


gb
Old Apr 04, 2010, 01:18 PM
3D-Dabbler is offline
Find More Posts by 3D-Dabbler
Just "hanging" Around
3D-Dabbler's Avatar
Does anyone know the diameter of the bolts that hold the landing gear on?

I forgot to CA my landing gear bolts when I replaced my landing gear a couple of weeks ago. I was just flying and got overly enthusiastic about doing KE Spins and shook the landing gear bolts off. I recovered the landing gear in the field but couldn't find the bolts.

It sure was fun. This thing really does tight KE spins
Old Apr 04, 2010, 03:50 PM
blucor basher is offline
Find More Posts by blucor basher
ExtremeFlight - 3DHS - Legacy
blucor basher's Avatar
3mm
Old Apr 04, 2010, 04:35 PM
3D-Dabbler is offline
Find More Posts by 3D-Dabbler
Just "hanging" Around
3D-Dabbler's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by blucor basher View Post
3mm
Thanks! I tried the shotgun approach and bought one of everything that I could find. I went to lowes, home depot and radio shack and bought 2-56, 4-40 and M4. I was looking for M3 as well but it doesn't seem like anyone sells M3.

Does anyone have any ideas on what chain stores sell M3 bolts?

-Mike
Old Apr 04, 2010, 04:36 PM
blucor basher is offline
Find More Posts by blucor basher
ExtremeFlight - 3DHS - Legacy
blucor basher's Avatar
In a pinch run a 4-40 all the way through and put a conventional nut on the back.
Old Apr 04, 2010, 04:37 PM
3D-Dabbler is offline
Find More Posts by 3D-Dabbler
Just "hanging" Around
3D-Dabbler's Avatar
Thanks Ben
Old Apr 04, 2010, 04:48 PM
tjhawker is offline
Find More Posts by tjhawker
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D-Dabbler View Post
Does anyone have any ideas on what chain stores sell M3 bolts?

-Mike
ACE Hardware is usually the best bet if you've got one of those.
Old Apr 04, 2010, 05:03 PM
3D-Dabbler is offline
Find More Posts by 3D-Dabbler
Just "hanging" Around
3D-Dabbler's Avatar
Thanks I will google ACE for local stores.
Old Apr 04, 2010, 05:16 PM
kygreen229 is offline
Find More Posts by kygreen229
Registered User
kygreen229's Avatar
Hey guys without going through every page in this thread I couldnt find anything on the scorpion motors...I have a 4025-16 coming for the 72" thats coming out to run on 8s and now am trying to sell my little EF yak so I can get the 57" and run it on 4s so I can share the packs with the 72". On the 3DHS page it show the scorpion 4020 motors but doesnt suggest which one. Im thinking the 4020-16 for 4s...? Thanks

-Kyle
Old Apr 04, 2010, 05:35 PM
tjhawker is offline
Find More Posts by tjhawker
Registered User
I personally would go with the 3026-710kV.
You can do a 5lbs setup with that motor which would leave you at 200 W/lbs and still a nice floaty feel.

If you like the more ballistic power setups, the 4020-16 wouldn't be a bad choice, although it does add quite a bit of weight (1/4lbs I believe).
Old Apr 04, 2010, 05:43 PM
kygreen229 is offline
Find More Posts by kygreen229
Registered User
kygreen229's Avatar
alright good to know. For some reason I just cant quite grasp matching motors to airframes yet. Kv and all that.
Old Apr 04, 2010, 05:47 PM
theKM is offline
Find More Posts by theKM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
+1 on the 3026-710... I'm super happy with it. plenty of giddyup
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Updated Hatcam - Apr2016


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product 3D Hobby Shop 47" Edge 540 #BUILD VIDEOS ADDED# ipsmotors 3D Flying 3960 Nov 23, 2013 08:39 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 57" Sukhoi sukhoi26mx Electric Plane Talk 7 Sep 17, 2008 09:33 AM
Sold NIB 3D Hobby Shop SHP Extra 300 *Blue* Version 2 thomer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 7 May 04, 2008 02:31 PM
Build Log 3D Hobby Shop 55" Katana LIVE Build Log Jeremy Sebens 3D Flying 54 Oct 12, 2007 04:39 PM