Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Jan 23, 2013, 10:03 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalmon
Same for me as DenverJayhawk mentioned, it feels very tough to get locked in. especially in yaw. I think Turnerm mentioned that it felt like he had to have it tipped past vertical a bit to get it to hover right. I have analog HS225mgs all around in mine and that might contribute to the difficulty. I also have that 15x8 turning at a lower than optimal rpm so there is another strike. I can hover the plane I just don't feel comfortable with it, and I never try it down low.

-Brian
Yea... for me, it does seem like I have to pull it past vertical a little to get it locked in. It also helps to enter with a little right rudder as it always wants to pull left on me. And unlike many of my other planes, it doesn't stay locked into a hover very well. You have to babysit it the whole time.

But outside of that it's a fantastic plane.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 23, 2013, 12:46 PM
Registered User
I guess I found this thread a little late. I just got this plane last week and going off of 3DHS recommendations I ordered the Hacker A40-12S. I just got the motor today and it does look a little small for this plane. I didn't realize it's physical size is actually smaller than the 32 Rimfire I have in a 50" GP Extra. I'm not quite sure I made the right choice here...
Jan 23, 2013, 12:50 PM
Barefoot Birkinsomething
rcbirk21's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyg79
I guess I found this thread a little late. I just got this plane last week and going off of 3DHS recommendations I ordered the Hacker A40-12S. I just got the motor today and it does look a little small for this plane. I didn't realize it's physical size is actually smaller than the 32 Rimfire I have in a 50" GP Extra. I'm not quite sure I made the right choice here...
the a40-12s will work great. its not an over powered motor, but for 3D flight it is light weight and more than enough. 3DHS doesnt recommend equipment for no reason. its not a sport setup, i.e. its not going to give you rediculous ballistic performance, but it is reliable, adequate power, light weight, and will swing the correct prop (depending on your battery selection)
Jan 23, 2013, 01:02 PM
Registered User
I'm going to be running this setup with 30c 4000mah 4s sky lipos. I was thinking a 15x6 for the prop.
Jan 23, 2013, 01:47 PM
Parkzone junkie
kalmon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyg79
I'm going to be running this setup with 30c 4000mah 4s sky lipos. I was thinking a 15x6 for the prop.
It will be pretty slow with a 6" pitch prop on a 610kv motor on 4S. I use ThunderPower 3900mAh 4S packs on mine with the A40-12s with a 15x8 prop. It is only drawing 60ish amps and 850watts, and that is with the 15x8! on the 15x6 it'll only be around 50amps and 600watts. That is really low!!! If you get a 15x8 the plane will fly really well, decent power, decent speed. FYI people using 4S and the 15x7 on the 4315-714 have been reporting 1100-1200watts and 80+ amps.

-Brian
Jan 23, 2013, 02:11 PM
Addicted to 3DHS and EF
3Daddict's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalmon
It will be pretty slow with a 6" pitch prop on a 610kv motor on 4S. I use ThunderPower 3900mAh 4S packs on mine with the A40-12s with a 15x8 prop. It is only drawing 60ish amps and 850watts, and that is with the 15x8! on the 15x6 it'll only be around 50amps and 600watts. That is really low!!! If you get a 15x8 the plane will fly really well, decent power, decent speed. FYI people using 4S and the 15x7 on the 4315-714 have been reporting 1100-1200watts and 80+ amps.

-Brian
How would you measure your wattage? is there a device to do this with?
Jan 23, 2013, 02:13 PM
Registered User
Thanks for the input. I'll slap a 15x8 on it and go from there. I'm looking forward to getting this one airborne!
Jan 23, 2013, 03:04 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3Daddict
How would you measure your wattage? is there a device to do this with?
Watts Up meter... Or logging if using a Castle ESC (just keep the sampling rate low), or an Eagle Tree system... many ways...

SteveT.
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Jan 23, 2013, 05:51 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalmon
It will be pretty slow with a 6" pitch prop on a 610kv motor on 4S. I use ThunderPower 3900mAh 4S packs on mine with the A40-12s with a 15x8 prop. It is only drawing 60ish amps and 850watts, and that is with the 15x8! on the 15x6 it'll only be around 50amps and 600watts. That is really low!!! If you get a 15x8 the plane will fly really well, decent power, decent speed. FYI people using 4S and the 15x7 on the 4315-714 have been reporting 1100-1200watts and 80+ amps.

-Brian
1274watts static with gens ace 4s 4000 with about 50% left in the batt
Jan 27, 2013, 09:40 AM
Registered User
Mr Big Head's Avatar
A40-12S is a.n awesome motor with a 15x7......on 5 cells
Jan 27, 2013, 04:20 PM
Registered User
Alex Schauer's Avatar
Would a Talon 90, APC 15x8 (or a Xoar 15x7) and Motrlfly 4315 714kv on 4s be alright?
Jan 27, 2013, 04:24 PM
Registered User
Alex Schauer's Avatar
I mean a Xoar 15x8 PJN
Jan 27, 2013, 06:05 PM
Addicted to 3DHS and EF
3Daddict's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexjschauer
Would a Talon 90, APC 15x8 (or a Xoar 15x7) and Motrlfly 4315 714kv on 4s be alright?
should be, that is what I ordered for mine. And I based that off of what everyone else was using.
Jan 28, 2013, 03:17 PM
Registered User
GetSome!'s Avatar
Does anyone have a spare yellow and blue right wing they are willing to part with? My aileron exploded on a blender...it would be most appreciated cause 3dhs is out of stock....

Feel free to PM me what you want for it, Thanks in advance!
Jan 30, 2013, 01:52 PM
Registered User
I was so happy to land my extra nicely after the successful maiden flight the weekend before last....so happy that I got excited and hit the fence while taxiing and broke the Falcon 15x7. Anyway, I bought 15x8 APC that's not fitting (too small) to go over the prop adaptor of my motrofly!! I thought the adapters are standard or at least small enough to go through the props...use washers for smaller holes on the props...anyway, What do you suggest? I dont want to enlarge the hole in the prop. I think that will mess up its balance. I think I should go with wood props again.
thanks.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product 3D Hobby Shop 47" Edge 540 #BUILD VIDEOS ADDED# ipsmotors 3D Flying 3960 Nov 23, 2013 07:39 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 57" Sukhoi sukhoi26mx Electric Plane Talk 7 Sep 17, 2008 08:33 AM
Sold NIB 3D Hobby Shop SHP Extra 300 *Blue* Version 2 thomer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 7 May 04, 2008 01:31 PM
Build Log 3D Hobby Shop 55" Katana LIVE Build Log Jeremy Sebens 3D Flying 54 Oct 12, 2007 03:39 PM