New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 02, 2009, 03:27 PM
birdie_in_texas is offline
Find More Posts by birdie_in_texas
Pro Bro #1008
birdie_in_texas's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidsons
Nope but I'm testing that motor for a friend who has a 70" Slick and if it works out, I'll be using it in another plane I have but I've had it for a couple years now.

Oh...whew..! Thought I was gonna have to break out meh trenchcoat!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 02, 2009, 03:36 PM
sukhoi26mx is offline
Find More Posts by sukhoi26mx
Scott Stoops
sukhoi26mx's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidsons
What prop would you recommend at sea level?
I'm thinking an 18x8. I generally have to add and inch in pitch and diameter to match sea level.

Blue Loctite.
Old Oct 02, 2009, 03:37 PM
davidsons is offline
Find More Posts by davidsons
**************
davidsons's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sukhoi26mx
I'm thinking an 18x8. I generally have to add and inch in pitch and diameter to match sea level.

Blue Loctite.
Do you think blue is sufficient?
Old Oct 02, 2009, 03:37 PM
Manta1 is offline
Find More Posts by Manta1
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threshold
Help, could Andrew Jesky and Doc Austin post their respective CG settings from the wing root. My friend who flies much better than me is insisting I should have my battery as far forward as possible and put lead in the nose for a CG of about 145 from the leading edge at the root. I think that would be wrong. Anyone else who would like to chime would be very welcome.
if youre running the reaper gr 60 xl,and a 6s 5000 battery,put the battery 4-6 inches behind firewall and fly it.
heck i went i think about 5 inches and flew it,forgot to even check cg..powerlines remembered as i took off and said oh crap!just as it lifted off ground....aj slick doesnt bite...i even moved battery back from there after that flight.lol
Old Oct 02, 2009, 03:38 PM
Zero3803 is offline
Find More Posts by Zero3803
Registered User
Zero3803's Avatar
Whats the consensus on pull pull cables being too tight? I've heard it will sap the power a bit....

Mine aren't guitar string tight, not close, but are noticeabley tighter than my other planes (55's etc..). I'd rather not thread out the ends of the ball links further as they're in the stock location and screwing out too much causes only a few threads to be grasping the link which isn't secure. I tested the amp draw, and it doesn't go over 0.3 amps with fast movement back and forth(hs-985). I've already crimped the tubes and glued them...

Also I noticed when pushing the included hitec long arm on, it took a decent amount of force before it snapped on. I took it off to make sure nothing stripped out (paranoia..woohoo!). It looked fine, but not quite as 'clean' as a new one. I assume this is fine? It feels as snug as any other with no slop. It's hard to describe it without making it sound worse than it is.
Old Oct 02, 2009, 03:39 PM
simon737 is offline
Find More Posts by simon737
Triple boxed goodness!
simon737's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Threshold
Help, could Andrew Jesky and Doc Austin post their respective CG settings from the wing root. My friend who flies much better than me is insisting I should have my battery as far forward as possible and put lead in the nose for a CG of about 145 from the leading edge at the root. I think that would be wrong. Anyone else who would like to chime would be very welcome.
Threshold, I'm on a different setup to you but my pack just covers the 'Shop' in 3D Hobby Shop on the front part of the tray...so almost in the middle.
Old Oct 02, 2009, 03:40 PM
Manta1 is offline
Find More Posts by Manta1
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
those cables i bet will loosen some,if the servo aint hummin or sounding funny,and you cant play a song on it,rool it bro!
Old Oct 02, 2009, 03:49 PM
Zero3803 is offline
Find More Posts by Zero3803
Registered User
Zero3803's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1
those cables i bet will loosen some,if the servo aint hummin or sounding funny,and you cant play a song on it,rool it bro!
It hums a bit which I attributed to trying to find a spot to stop at. When I hold at max deflection for instance, it may hum, but if I barely wiggle the stick in one direction or the other, it will quit.


edit: Switched the arm out to the other one I had just in case. Fit much better. The cables are still tight, but I think it will be fine.

On to the elevator!
Last edited by Zero3803; Oct 02, 2009 at 04:03 PM.
Old Oct 02, 2009, 04:05 PM
Bama3Dr is offline
Find More Posts by Bama3Dr
Registered User
Bama3Dr's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero3803
Also I noticed when pushing the included hitec long arm on, it took a decent amount of force before it snapped on. I took it off to make sure nothing stripped out (paranoia..woohoo!). It looked fine, but not quite as 'clean' as a new one. I assume this is fine? It feels as snug as any other with no slop. It's hard to describe it without making it sound worse than it is.
The included arms take a fair amount of force to get them to pop down on the spline. When they do they usually pop on kind of like you're describing. Nothing to worry about.
Old Oct 02, 2009, 04:20 PM
Threshold is offline
Find More Posts by Threshold
Registered User
Threshold's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon737
Threshold, I'm on a different setup to you but my pack just covers the 'Shop' in 3D Hobby Shop on the front part of the tray...so almost in the middle.
Thanks Simon, this is what I thought, I flew mine with the CG at the front of the wing tube and it felt fine but my friend was to move the battery an inch forward and add a full strip of lead to the nose!
Old Oct 02, 2009, 04:38 PM
simon737 is offline
Find More Posts by simon737
Triple boxed goodness!
simon737's Avatar
Lead!! hhmmm not sure about that one...
Old Oct 02, 2009, 04:40 PM
Manta1 is offline
Find More Posts by Manta1
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
threshold what motor combo are you runnin?
Old Oct 02, 2009, 05:09 PM
brucewsb is offline
Find More Posts by brucewsb
Registered User
brucewsb's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidsons
Do you think blue is sufficient?
I used green loctite. The idea is to just create a bond layer between shaft and collet so the collet doesn't slip off from gaps. The pressure from the prop being locked down will ensure that bond layer stays secure. If you use red loctite, I doubt you'll ever get that prop adapter off without some cutting.

So far after 7 flights on mine I feel confident the collet won't slip.

Just my $0.02,
Bruce
Old Oct 02, 2009, 05:22 PM
Threshold is offline
Find More Posts by Threshold
Registered User
Threshold's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1
threshold what motor combo are you runnin?
Manta I am using a Scorpion S4025-12 Like Simon's its about 2 oz lighter than the Hacker but did balance on the front of the wing tube, I know everyone has a different idea of CG position, some people preferring a more forward position others more backward, I'm curious to know where AJ and Bone Doc have balanced theirs. I think its easy to fall into the trap of using a CG either too far forward or too far back with planes like this that are so tolerant of CG position but then have problems with coupling or prop hanging or ballooning on idle or rolling harrier etc. I'd prefer to set my CG the same as AJ's or Bone Doc's and learn to fly it like that than get into bad habits with a too forward or too backward CG if that makes sense.
Old Oct 02, 2009, 05:24 PM
Threshold is offline
Find More Posts by Threshold
Registered User
Threshold's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidsons
Do you think blue is sufficient?
Blue is recommended in the Scorpion motor thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 07:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 08:31 AM