Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Jul 29, 2010, 06:59 PM
Scooter0509 is offline
Find More Posts by Scooter0509
Registered User
Scooter0509's Avatar
Yes I agree that 6s is a more simple way to go. But added weight? I run 2-4s 4000 in series and it is only a couple of ounces heavier than a 6s 5000. and I can split the packs and do a 57" type plane. Many 8s guys are running 2-4s 3700 packs and are coming in lighter than the 6s 5000. Just a thought.
Scott
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 29, 2010, 07:00 PM
Safety Hawk is online now
Find More Posts by Safety Hawk
Here We Go!
Safety Hawk's Avatar
I'm willing to bet there is almost as many running 8s setups as 6s.
Old Jul 29, 2010, 07:05 PM
Scooter0509 is offline
Find More Posts by Scooter0509
Registered User
Scooter0509's Avatar
I like(d) mine. Should be getting my motor back soon. can't wait to fly it again.
Old Jul 29, 2010, 07:15 PM
starzen is offline
Find More Posts by starzen
Registered User
starzen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Reaper View Post
hey scooter

just thought adding two more cells is uneeded weight when you can fly on 6s just fine.

Scott
Weight is pretty much negligable between 6S and 4S. Amp draw is a lot less on 8S obviously or you can run more propon the same or still less amps

I am flying the vyper at 6S but with the 72 extra i will definately play with 6S vs 8S (two 4S packs from the 57) on the A50-12L
Old Jul 29, 2010, 08:37 PM
3D-Dabbler is offline
Find More Posts by 3D-Dabbler
Just "hanging" Around
3D-Dabbler's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Reaper View Post
hey scooter

just thought adding two more cells is uneeded weight when you can fly on 6s just fine.

Scott
Depending on the motor selected and the battery packs an 8s can weigh the same as 6s. My setup withe the scorpion 4035 weighs essentially the same as most of the 6s hacker setups.
Old Jul 29, 2010, 08:44 PM
SteveT. is online now
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by starzen View Post
I am flying the vyper at 6S but with the 72 extra i will definately play with 6S vs 8S (two 4S packs from the 57) on the A50-12L
I am definitely going to run 8S in the Extra, as I have six brand spanky new Thunder Power 4S 3800 45C packs sitting in my shop....along with a brand new Hacker A50-12L..and everything else I need except for a CC BEC Pro.

SteveT
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Old Jul 29, 2010, 08:56 PM
starzen is offline
Find More Posts by starzen
Registered User
starzen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draknkep View Post
I am definitely going to run 8S in the Extra, as I have six brand spanky new Thunder Power 4S 3800 45C packs sitting in my shop....along with a brand new Hacker A50-12L..and everything else I need except for a CC BEC Pro.

SteveT
i have both 6S and 8S packs and i have 2 brand spanking new A50-12L's sitting here just waiting for the 72, ICE 100, BEC Pro and 4 7985. Everything ready but there is no boat. Thats got to be material for a song ...
Old Jul 29, 2010, 11:27 PM
ssflylow is offline
Find More Posts by ssflylow
Registered User
ssflylow's Avatar
I bought all my gear...dananananana.....but I ain't got no plane...dananananana.........I think I'm gonna cry......dananananana................I just wanna fly....danananana......
Old Jul 29, 2010, 11:28 PM
Manta1 is offline
Find More Posts by Manta1
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawnlh View Post
I bought all my gear...dananananana.....but I ain't got no plane...dananananana.........I think I'm gonna cry......dananananana................I just wanna fly....danananan......
cause its bad to the bone!!!!
Old Jul 29, 2010, 11:30 PM
Safety Hawk is online now
Find More Posts by Safety Hawk
Here We Go!
Safety Hawk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1 View Post
cause its bad to the bone!!!!
I wouldn't have gotten it had you not said that.
Old Jul 29, 2010, 11:31 PM
ssflylow is offline
Find More Posts by ssflylow
Registered User
ssflylow's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1 View Post
cause its bad to the bone!!!!
My plane don't have a home...........
Old Jul 29, 2010, 11:33 PM
Manta1 is offline
Find More Posts by Manta1
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
I opened the box.....and gazed at the wide wonder....the fat fuse was begging,to be thrashed near the ground dananana
Old Jul 29, 2010, 11:39 PM
ssflylow is offline
Find More Posts by ssflylow
Registered User
ssflylow's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1 View Post
I opened the box.....and gazed at the wide wonder....the fat fuse was begging,to be thrashed near the ground dananana

What??????

We wait 3/4 of a flying season for the airframe and you wanna "thrash it near the ground"?

You must be singing hard rock!! Way too metal for me dude
Old Jul 29, 2010, 11:50 PM
Manta1 is offline
Find More Posts by Manta1
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
i did say NEAR the ground hehehe kinda like fly low??
"are u not understnding the words which coming out of my mouth?" Ok if you get who said that quote in what movie you get my utter most respect and kukos..
Old Jul 29, 2010, 11:56 PM
FlyingDreams is offline
Find More Posts by FlyingDreams
Registered User
FlyingDreams's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1 View Post
i did say NEAR the ground hehehe kinda like fly low??
"are u not understnding the words which coming out of my mouth?" Ok if you get who said that quote in what movie you get my utter most respect and kukos..
Rush hour 2? I believe it was Chris Tucker's character.

Edit: actually, I think it was Chris Tucker's character in rush hour 1, and Jackie Chan's character in rush hour 2, ... or I could be totally wrong....


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll 3D hobby shop 51" slick or 55" SHP? appleflyer 3D Flying 24 Mar 24, 2009 07:29 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 08:31 AM