Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Dec 02, 2012, 03:04 PM
shdwkeeper is offline
Find More Posts by shdwkeeper
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites View Post
Ideas?
The FrSky TFR8S should work, I believe you can bridge port 1&2 and use the other channels for 9-14.

http://www.frsky-rc.com/ShowProducts.asp?id=51
Last edited by shdwkeeper; Dec 02, 2012 at 03:09 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 04, 2012, 07:09 PM
jwilson32 is offline
Find More Posts by jwilson32
Loving Life!!!
jwilson32's Avatar
What are the differences between the 8fg and 14sg? Just curious as i have the 8fg and extremely happy with it.
Old Dec 04, 2012, 07:53 PM
vespa is offline
Find More Posts by vespa
First pull up, then pull down
vespa's Avatar
14SG has telemetry and works with all Futaba 2.4 receivers: cheap FHSS, old FASST, and new FASSTest. No other major differences exist but a number of minor ones do (vibrator, SDHC, etc.)

14SG has it's own thread which of course discusses the many similarities and differences with the 8FG.
Old Dec 04, 2012, 08:00 PM
Buschbarber is offline
Find More Posts by Buschbarber
Registered User
Buschbarber's Avatar
How many chsnnels are fully proportional and how many ar On/Off switches.
Old Dec 04, 2012, 08:42 PM
vespa is offline
Find More Posts by vespa
First pull up, then pull down
vespa's Avatar
Everything is the same as the 8FG (12+2) but there is a high-speed FASSTest mode with limited telemetry that is 10+2.
Old Dec 04, 2012, 08:45 PM
Buschbarber is offline
Find More Posts by Buschbarber
Registered User
Buschbarber's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vespa View Post
Everything is the same as the 8FG (12+2) but there is a high-speed FASSTest mode with limited telemetry that is 10+2.
Thanks!
Old Dec 04, 2012, 10:51 PM
DaxFX is offline
Find More Posts by DaxFX
AIMDROIX
DaxFX's Avatar
No money now for a new 14sg, i only want the telemetry update to my 8fg, or any hacker that can put 14sg firmware on a sd card to upload to 8fg,

Also this thread should keep the original title and take out the 14sg from it, there is already another thread thread for that, we should keep simple
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Puerto Rico Drone Prix 2016
Old Dec 05, 2012, 05:02 PM
bossee is offline
Find More Posts by bossee
Bo Edström, Sweden
DaxFX,
There will probably not be any telemetry update to 8fg - You just buy the external (Robbe/Futaba, in Europe) telemetry box and R6308SBT receiver (FASSTest capable) and voilà You have telemetry with Your present Futaba 8FG.

http://www.robbe.de/rc-fernsteuerung...elemetrie.html

http://www.robbe.de/robbe/downloads/...ff6d8ad55efd4a

/Bo
Old Dec 06, 2012, 05:54 AM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
The 8FG and 14SG have the same programming except for telemetry so all the programming discussions apply to both.

If you want an excellent low cost receiver get the FrSky TFR8S. I just ordered a couple more of them. Actually they are better than Futaba in that they have an RSSI output port.

.
Old Dec 06, 2012, 05:58 AM
landeck is offline
Find More Posts by landeck
Registered User
What is an "RSSI output port"?

Bruce
Old Dec 06, 2012, 06:12 AM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
That’s the signal strength (Relative Signal Strength Indicator). If you have a FPV, data recorded or TM it can be useful.


The current 14SG TM only tells you the signal from the telemetry transmitter down to the ground. With receiver RSSI you can see the signal at the receiver.


Also some that fly FPV have reported that the FrSky TFR8S has slightly more range than the FUTABA FASST 8-channel receivers, but I have not tested that myself.



.
Old Dec 06, 2012, 06:45 AM
landeck is offline
Find More Posts by landeck
Registered User
Thanks RC Man. After 40 years of RC building and flying I still learn something new every day.

Bruce
Old Dec 06, 2012, 11:13 AM
arnav is offline
Find More Posts by arnav
I live my life 12oz at a time
arnav's Avatar
I finally wanted to switch my 48" Edge from using a Y-connector to separate Aileron channels. When I switched the wing type, I noticed I have lost all of the settings (D/R, expo, trim, F/S, etc'). I have backed up the model before hand so I didn't lose anything...
However, is there a way to switch the wing type without having to key all the setting again?

Thanks!
Old Dec 06, 2012, 12:18 PM
pilotpete2 is offline
Find More Posts by pilotpete2
Registered User
pilotpete2's Avatar
Nope
There probably is a good reason they have to reset all the data when changing the wing type or tail type. They at least should have a warning message come up, giving you the option to cancel out of the change.
In your case, you could leave the wing type to 1AIL, and add the second aileron channel in the function menu, though I don't think you'll have differential throw available with that arrangement.
Pete
Old Dec 06, 2012, 01:52 PM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson32 View Post
What are the differences between the 8fg and 14sg? Just curious as i have the 8fg and extremely happy with it.
14SG has telemetry.


.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focus 3 FM question. Also, about that new Futaba 3 ch. . . EFoil Parkflyers 5 Oct 19, 2001 12:59 PM
Wanted New Futaba T6XHS / Complete xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Aug 04, 2001 07:16 AM
4- New Futaba S-148 Servos $45 Shipped xios3 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Aug 01, 2001 05:49 PM
New futaba 3 channel ss radio! carl schaller Electric Plane Talk 6 Jun 24, 2001 09:21 PM
New Futaba FF9 to replace FF8? John E Electric Plane Talk 5 Jun 10, 2001 06:41 AM