Jun 13, 2009, 05:59 PM
A.J.
Build Log

Another Ivan's Short Sealand 480

Hi fellow builders and flyers

After several foam, plastic and balsa ARF models I have decided to do a real scratch build. I have never done this before (except for a simple freeflight glider with doped paper wing back when I was a young boy) so it's gonna be a real challenge. I live on a small island with no area usable as airstrip so I only fly seaplanes or floatplanes. When I came across Team Tracon's fantastic picture galleries from Chilliwack I was soon hooked. I just had to build one of those floaters!

As a balsa newbie I've read most of the build logs around the web and in this forum soaking up all the information I could. I am planning to steal all your great ideas and put them together, hopefully to something useable.

One thing I have been missing reading the logs are a little more details in how to do the basics, putting together the framework and so on. So I am planning to add additional photos during the build to show more in detail the process. It will of course be more of a chance for you to spot my errors than a guide for other builders , but it'll might be a good way for me to get guidance from the rest of you.
to remove ads between posts
Jun 13, 2009, 06:18 PM
Scott Quinn
Aff,

Good luck with your build, Im sure you wont have any problems theres a wealth of understanding available from other builders . . . Keep the pictures coming it will help with enthusiam and motivation etc . . .

Siddus.
Jun 13, 2009, 06:31 PM
A.J.
Thanks Siddus, yes that is what i'm hoping for. I should be in good hands here
Jun 13, 2009, 06:37 PM
A.J.
Its funny how much equipment you end up buying when putting together a workshop. Better not think about the total amount spent..!