A F3F racer the Norwegian way - Project NWC. - RC Groups
Apr 27, 2009, 04:22 AM
UAS Test Pilot
Discussion

A F3F racer the Norwegian way - Project NWC.

Hi all,

After receiving alot of PM`s about the project, I think it is time that I started a thread to keep discussion out of my inbox.

For those of you who who haven`t seen this before, here is a short project description:

The project goal is to make a 2,7m F3F glider at a resonable cost, that is made to fit my requirements as a pilot, and also fit the Norwegian costal slopes. Being a student I also have a limited amout of cash, and the project needed to fit within my life savings... (The project still cost me about 2-3 new Tangas!!! :O)

The project was started by me in early 2008. I was getting tired of waiting for parts for my F3F models and had also had a long time dream of making my own F3F model. I`ve spent the last eight years learning how to make moulds and moulded planes. I started out with small pylon racers, as making mistakes on a bigger project could possibly be very expensive.

Through my pylon projects I`ve gotten to know alot of people with great knowledge on the subject of making high competiton gliders. After I had made the initial drawings I contacted Francois Lorrain, and he agreed to do the CAD work for me. After several months, and probably hundred emails, the wing planform was designed to my specification and slightly modifyed by Francois experience.

After that, I needed an airfoil. In 2005 Dirk Pflug of Ceres fame had posted an airfoil for F3F for free use on the www.lomcovak.cz site. -I contacted him to ask if the airfoil was suitable for my plane. He then answered that he would rather like to make a complete new airfoil set made especially for my plane. -I`m looking forward to test it.

The tailplane is a cut down and modified (by me) Freestyler 1/Europhia 1 tailplane. That I got hold of the positives for. It has a thin low drag HD801 airfoil.