Apr 17, 2009, 07:08 AM
Why did I start this madness?
Thread OP
Discussion

Guillows Stearman electric conversion

Hi, I'm just about to start to build a Guillows Stearman ( I already did one for display) and I would like to transform this one in an electric RC flyer.
I've seen a couple of threads about it but they seem a bit dated. Anyone could give me some suggestions about which motor/servos/batteries i should use and some building tricks? (EX: where to put servos, on the wings or in the fuselage, using push/pull or rods.. which colours to be used to spray the model etc) I would like to mount a brushless motor with Li-Po batteries, the present threads do not seem to be updated.
Many thanks to anybody will help me. Any kind of help is welcome.

to remove ads between posts
Jan 07, 2010, 12:26 PM
Thread OP

Let's start...

Ok, I've started a while ago the building of the Guillow's Stearman, this thread is intended for anybody who wants to do the same. I am an absolute beginner, this is my first built rc model, so I've asked help to other bloggers, specially to PBurres to whom I want to send all my thanks for his help. Jugjock has been another inspirational figure, I suggest everybody to check his thread, it's an amazingly detailed thread in which you will find lots of info and see what a serious workplace is.
E-challenged, Sgtdirt and WTFLYR helped me a lot also, THANKS FOLKS!!!
As I told you I started a while ago and now I'm still working on the model, I thought I had a good Motor/ESC set but more than one bloggers told me that it's too heavy, but we'll speak about this subject later, for now let's post some pictures following the building. Hope this will be useful to somebody.
Last edited by Tegeus; Jan 25, 2010 at 07:01 AM.
Jan 07, 2010, 12:32 PM
Thread OP

First steps