New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 07, 2011, 12:52 AM
Gopedasia is offline
Find More Posts by Gopedasia
Registered User
Would the zs4035 fare a little better? Im wanting to keep at 6s since my 180e yak is 12s and would like to utilize the 6s packs.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 07, 2011, 01:59 AM
DavidN is offline
Find More Posts by DavidN
Electric baptism 1975
DavidN's Avatar
Well if you use 25C batteries a 4035/10 will turn an APCe 20x10 at 98 amps on full charge.88% motor efficiency. If you use a wooden XOAR prop you should save 4-5 amps. You need "medium" or better cooling. So says the computer. I would use an ESC that handles 150 amps.
Old Nov 07, 2011, 02:46 AM
Gopedasia is offline
Find More Posts by Gopedasia
Registered User
DavidN - thanks for the quick replies. What amps and watts would this setup come out to?
Last edited by Gopedasia; Nov 07, 2011 at 02:47 AM. Reason: add info
Old Nov 07, 2011, 10:47 AM
DavidN is offline
Find More Posts by DavidN
Electric baptism 1975
DavidN's Avatar
98Amps 1836 watts, based on 25C battery & Castle creations ICE 150. Remember this is approximate.
Old Jan 13, 2012, 08:45 PM
Gopedasia is offline
Find More Posts by Gopedasia
Registered User
Anyone know if the ZS4045-12 can take a 24x10e prop on 12S? Ive got the atlas 130hv esc.
I need to replace my old Z50 motor on my 180e yak. Only need 3000watts as i am at the 15lb auw.
Old Jan 13, 2012, 09:16 PM
DavidN is offline
Find More Posts by DavidN
Electric baptism 1975
DavidN's Avatar
Checking on castle creations ecalc you are in dangerous territory. even coming down to 20" is iffy.

http://www.ecalc.ch/motorcalc_e.htm?castle
Old Jan 16, 2012, 11:35 PM
arcticflyer is offline
Find More Posts by arcticflyer
Registered User
arcticflyer's Avatar
Hey Guys - I have a GS 3025-4 and was wondering what is the limit on voltage? I have run it with no problems on 4S and would like to push things a bit higher. Can it take 5 or 6S? (With the right prop of course!)
Old Jan 17, 2012, 12:28 AM
rebell is offline
Find More Posts by rebell
JustFlying
rebell's Avatar
@Gopedasia Yes it will --- for a few seconds until the magic smoke comes out. That is if you get it going without timing start-up problems. It is like putting a 1200cc Mini engine in a 18 wheeler to cart around big loads around the country.

@arcticflyer - Although this motor is not intended for a 5s or 6s battery, you can run it on 6s but will have to use a 6 prop spinning at 32,000 rpm. What is the use of that? A small prop is inefficient and the higher the rpm, the less efficient it become. On the 4s battery it should already spin at around 19,000 rpm with a 8x4 prop. In a EDF it will work OK. What plane are you using it in?
Old Jan 17, 2012, 05:35 AM
Gopedasia is offline
Find More Posts by Gopedasia
Registered User
means gotta buy something more expensive
Old Jan 17, 2012, 05:53 AM
jackosmeister is online now
Find More Posts by jackosmeister
DroneWorlds - TEAM NEW ZEALAND
jackosmeister's Avatar
Quote:
6” prop spinning at 32,000 rpm. What is the use of that?


Id run it on 8S
Old Jan 17, 2012, 11:39 AM
arcticflyer is offline
Find More Posts by arcticflyer
Registered User
arcticflyer's Avatar
rebell - was thinking of using it for the maiden of a speed plane I am building...a dragster so to speak. It is not the final motor for the plane as I know it is not able to go where I am going with the plane...just a start. The prop for my application in this plane is going to be in the 7 inch range with a very high pitch 12 or 13. Might start out with a 7x10. This is hopefully a 200mph build (straight and level..no diving).

I like the numbers I am seeing on the motocalc with 5S that is why I asked.
Last edited by arcticflyer; Jan 17, 2012 at 11:50 AM.
Old Jan 17, 2012, 12:11 PM
rebell is offline
Find More Posts by rebell
JustFlying
rebell's Avatar
Quote:
Id run it on 8S
Actually on a 14 pole motor the limit will be around 28500 rpm on some ESC's, on others it will be even less. It is a ESC limitation. To reach higher rpm you must lower the pole count of the motor, like a helicopter motor.
Old Jan 17, 2012, 12:54 PM
arcticflyer is offline
Find More Posts by arcticflyer
Registered User
arcticflyer's Avatar
I'll be using a CC Ice Lite 200 to make it go!
Old Jan 17, 2012, 01:57 PM
DavidN is offline
Find More Posts by DavidN
Electric baptism 1975
DavidN's Avatar
My concern re Gs comes from lack of knowledge. As I understand it is designed as a glider motor, not sure it has the heat dissipation capability of the other series. Same magnet material of course. You may find heat builds up fast. I suggest VERY SHORT flights & check temps
Old Jan 17, 2012, 05:08 PM
Ron van Sommeren is offline
Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcticflyer View Post
Hey Guys - I have a GS 3025-4 and was wondering what is the limit on voltage?...
A motor can run on any voltage you want, provided you keep rpm (= Kv x voltage) and current below their maximum. Prop down for lower current.

Remember: volts jolt, current kills.


Vriendelijke groeten Ron
diy motor tipsDrive Calculator
diy motor groupCumulus MFC


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale For Sale - New Brushless motors forsale, Hyperion, mega, eflite stealthy Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 8 Dec 31, 2006 09:54 AM
New Hyperion Z30 Series motors from ACW Zimbo Power Systems 104 Aug 21, 2006 02:11 PM
NEW!!! electronicmodel motors and esc !!!! fjhdavid Electric Heli Talk 9 Jan 22, 2002 09:51 AM
New Brushless motors check it out Eco8gator Electric Heli Talk 5 Nov 06, 2001 03:50 AM
Simpro new Brushless motors chrisc Electric Plane Talk 0 Jun 13, 2001 12:36 AM