Thread Tools
Old Dec 19, 2011, 01:01 PM
road_rascal is offline
Find More Posts by road_rascal
Registered User
I think I may have posted some photos awhile back. On my Escapades (and many other ARF's) I beef up the gear area inside the fuse with extra tri stock or ply with epoxy mixed with microballons. I also added an extra piece of ply between the gear and the fuse. I have yet to tear out the gear on the grass fields I fly off of.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 19, 2011, 01:13 PM
DreamArcher is offline
Find More Posts by DreamArcher
DreamArcher's Avatar
Now that you mentioned it, I'm pretty sure I added a tri-stock to mine too.
Old Dec 30, 2011, 03:22 PM
jriley1974 is offline
Find More Posts by jriley1974
Angry Flyer!
jriley1974's Avatar
I switched to nylon bolts. I recommend them if you don't want to do extensive block reinforcement. Either is way is better than leaving it stock.
Old Dec 30, 2011, 05:41 PM
road_rascal is offline
Find More Posts by road_rascal
Registered User
The only problem I see with nylon bolts is if they break wouldn't the back of the wheel pants puncture the covering on the bottom of the wing?
Old Dec 30, 2011, 06:01 PM
DreamArcher is offline
Find More Posts by DreamArcher
DreamArcher's Avatar
You're correct about the wheel pants going through the wing, but it's the same either way; Broken nylon screws or torn out mounting block.

My issue is with the planning for a crash. Making a plane strong enough to withstand a rough landing is one thing but I'm 100% against planning for a crash by installing break-away parts. Plus I bet 4 nylon screws are strong enough to not break and still have the mounting block ripped out.
Old Dec 30, 2011, 10:00 PM
road_rascal is offline
Find More Posts by road_rascal
Registered User
The way I have mine beefed up if I manage to tear out the landing gear I'll probably total the plane. Of all the planes I have (or had) my Escapade has to be the easiest to land. It's the torque roll on take off that takes work . Love my Scorpion setup!
Old Dec 31, 2011, 08:14 PM
jriley1974 is offline
Find More Posts by jriley1974
Angry Flyer!
jriley1974's Avatar
good points. I've found that 2 nylon bolts breaks too easy... 3 just right. (1/4 20s)
Old Jan 02, 2012, 12:35 PM
ZeekWorld is offline
Find More Posts by ZeekWorld
Registered User
ZeekWorld's Avatar
I'm still trying to find a motor for my 40' Escapade.
I have a few options but wondering if any of you are running something like it...

Battery: 4 cell 5200mah. (Already owned)

For motor: I was thinking one of the following
C5055 700Kv (Specs attached)
or
MonsterPower 46 (HobbyPartz)
or
C5045 890Kv (Already owned, Specs attached)

Any help is welcome!
Old Jan 02, 2012, 01:36 PM
scottc39 is offline
Find More Posts by scottc39
Registered User
scottc39's Avatar
your 5045 motor looks good to me, nice specs on it to so it should do well for you.
Old Jan 02, 2012, 02:39 PM
ZeekWorld is offline
Find More Posts by ZeekWorld
Registered User
ZeekWorld's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottc39 View Post
your 5045 motor looks good to me, nice specs on it to so it should do well for you.
Sounds good I will give it a try.
Right now I have the same C5045 790Kv on my Twist 3D on a 4 cell bat an a 12x6E prop and it is so much fun, I wonder what prop size I should try on the Escapade for a sporty style with same motor and batt.
Old Jan 02, 2012, 03:32 PM
scottc39 is offline
Find More Posts by scottc39
Registered User
scottc39's Avatar
the first flight i got with my escapde was with a 12x6. tryed a 12x8 a bit faster, i liked the 12x6 better so i would give the 12x6 a first try to start with.......gossh i said 12x6 altot to.
Old Jan 02, 2012, 03:35 PM
ZeekWorld is offline
Find More Posts by ZeekWorld
Registered User
ZeekWorld's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottc39 View Post
the first flight i got with my escapde was with a 12x6. tryed a 12x8 a bit faster, i liked the 12x6 better so i would give the 12x6 a first try to start with.......gossh i said 12x6 altot to.
Sounds good!
Yeah I figured 12x6E it's a good start on 4 cell and not 13x6E on 5 cell like I did with my Twist 3D
Old Jan 02, 2012, 03:38 PM
scottc39 is offline
Find More Posts by scottc39
Registered User
scottc39's Avatar
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...lectric/Detail
this motor may be a good idea when i built my escapdes this motor was out of stock and thats what i wanted to use.
Old Jan 02, 2012, 03:49 PM
ZeekWorld is offline
Find More Posts by ZeekWorld
Registered User
ZeekWorld's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottc39 View Post
http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...lectric/Detail
this motor may be a good idea when i built my escapdes this motor was out of stock and thats what i wanted to use.
I did installed and ran a few wattmeter tests on a C4260 600Kv and 4/5 cell Lipo and preferred not to go with it.
The reason was because I found not much prop clearance since I had to ran a 14" prop to get good power.
Old Jan 02, 2012, 04:28 PM
scottc39 is offline
Find More Posts by scottc39
Registered User
scottc39's Avatar
what happened in those pictures???


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Great Planes Escapade...has anyone flown? research_guy Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 5 Aug 05, 2002 12:33 PM
Great Planes Escapade dave_lilley Electric Plane Talk 0 Nov 16, 2001 12:57 AM
Great Planes Escapade dave_lilley Site Chat 0 Nov 16, 2001 12:57 AM
Great Planes Escapade, a sweet little ARF! Paul Penney Parkflyers 9 Sep 18, 2001 11:13 PM
Great planes Escapade Paul Penney Foamies (Kits) 0 Sep 09, 2001 07:38 PM