Feb 22, 2009, 04:28 PM
Just having fun
Build Log

GWS E-Starter Tricycle Build Log

I have been a fan of the GWS E-Starter since I purchased my first one 2 years ago. This was late in my first season of taking up this RC aircraft hobby in 2007. I purchased that E-Starter as my aileron trainer after being self taught RC flight on a GWS Slow Stick and RealFlight flight simulator. That first E-Starter was built pretty much stock as a tail dragger. I have rebuilt that plane several times learning more each time. With the last rebuild I made it a tricycle and really love that plane. However, it has gone through a lot including a few crashes - some equipment failure (OK, so it was equipment failure only 1 time) and some pilot brain failure. This plane still flys great but it is time to build a new one putting together all of the upgrades and improvements that I like.

This will not be a light build although I do not think I am doing anything that will make the plane inordinately heavy. Here is what I plan to use:

Aircraft – GWS E-Starter NPS (no power system)
Motor – TowerPro Brushless Outrunner 2409-12T Motor, 1,600kv
ESC – TURNIGY Plush 25amp Speed Controller
Battery – ZIPPY 1600mAh 2S1P 20C
Prop – HobbyCity APC Style 9x6-E
Servos – Hitech HS-55 (x4)
Receiver – Spektrum AR6100
Transmitter – Spektrum DX6i

Other than the steerable nosegear making the model a tricycle, the modifications I plan to do will be the addition of carbon fiber and a little fiber glass at strategic locations for strength. I will also be using balsa to make slightly oversized ailerons that will be actuated using 2 servos programmed as flapperons.