Thread Tools
Old Aug 23, 2010, 11:32 AM
nexus665 is offline
Find More Posts by nexus665
Heli Addict
nexus665's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
And soon to charge electric airplanes. I scored a few IBM blade center supplies. If I can get them to work, they will do 12V and 147A.
Hi feathermerchant,

did you get them to work? I recently bought an IBM Bladecenter PSU (2KW, 164A@12V, Type 74P4453) but so far haven't been able to actually turn it on. Tried all sorts of hints in this thread, but no luck

I'd really like to make a 24V or 48V supply out of 2 or 4, or a 328A supply for bench testing evil self-wound motors as well as charging all sorts of stuff

Regards,
Simon.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 23, 2010, 09:43 PM
feathermerchant is online now
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
No luck. These guys ar eapparently made up of 3 or 4 separate supplies that are staged on for efficiency. I think there will be some logic to making them come on.

However, You could parallel 3 of my 47A supplies and get almost 150A.
I might also be able to get some more of the ones jj has that will do 106A...
Old Aug 25, 2010, 05:20 AM
jj604 is online now
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar

Message for Pdwight


Dwight you have "chosen not to receive private messages or may not be allowed to receive private messages" when I tried to send you a reply.

Here it is (everybody else please just ignore it - thanks. )

==============
Dwight, the picture in post #1 that shows the power wires connected and the three control pins connection is pretty clear. Just right click on it and Save Picture As. I just tried it and it makes a 1024 x 682 pixel jpg graphic. Similarly the three pictures in Post#3 show how I soldered them on my second version which makes a stronger joint.

I would attach the graphics but I have never figured out away to do it in a PM.

Hope this helps.

Regards, john
Old Aug 27, 2010, 12:00 AM
Pdwight is offline
Find More Posts by Pdwight
Registered User
I will have to check out my message problem, I appreciate you getting back to me. I have a question I have read it is not good for a switching power supply to be turned or or put into function without a load , do these have something inside to protect from that or is it a tall tale ??

I managed to get two of the exact same HP supply's you have pictured.

Thanks again
Dwight
Old Aug 27, 2010, 02:50 AM
jj604 is online now
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Dwight, I assume these things are protected from just about everything. In any case they do have a load. What do you think creates the racket when they get powered up?

Seriously, because they are hot swappable they will be designed to cope starting up under almost any conditions. I do remember from somewhere that if you start up a switching supply with a completely open output circuit then very high voltage spikes can be created which makes sense, but that isn't the case here. Lots of folks have used one or two of these for 12V or 24V so far without a problem. They DO have a problem starting up into very low resistance loads such as cold light globes which look pretty much like a short circuit to the supply.

Regards, John

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdwight View Post
I will have to check out my message problem, I appreciate you getting back to me. I have a question I have read it is not good for a switching power supply to be turned or or put into function without a load , do these have something inside to protect from that or is it a tall tale ??

I managed to get two of the exact same HP supply's you have pictured.

Thanks again
Dwight
Old Aug 27, 2010, 06:04 AM
feathermerchant is online now
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
The only problem I have encountered is when a power supply is already running with no load and I plug in a charger. Some chargers have large capacitors across their input leads and that looks like a short circuit when first connected and can cause the power supply to shut down.
So I have developed the habit of connecting the chargers first then powering up the supply. It's easier on everything.
Old Aug 27, 2010, 11:41 AM
Irg is online now
Irg
Find More Posts by Irg
Irg
ol' yellow eyes is back
Irg's Avatar
yes, I've had that happen a few times.


connecting chargers first has eliminated the problem. feathermerchant, thanks for the great power supply. mine has been working great!!!
Old Aug 27, 2010, 12:09 PM
feathermerchant is online now
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Hey IRG - I'll be on LI over Labor Day. It's parents weekend at the USMMA. Where the heck do you fly?
Old Aug 27, 2010, 12:22 PM
mexico is offline
Find More Posts by mexico
Registered User
mexico's Avatar
Feather - the merchant marine academy is in King's Point correct? If so it is about 30 minutes east of the field these guys fly at in Brooklyn.
Old Aug 27, 2010, 01:34 PM
Pdwight is offline
Find More Posts by Pdwight
Registered User

Plug Problem


OK ready to hook up my HP Server power supply and realized I must be dyslexic ....the plug that I thought was the standard A.C. Plug for 90% of everything will not work on this.....the plug is sideways ??

Where can I get a cord for this power supply ??

Thanks
Dwight
Old Aug 27, 2010, 02:28 PM
mexico is offline
Find More Posts by mexico
Registered User
mexico's Avatar
Sideways? You mean like a 220v plug?
Old Aug 27, 2010, 02:33 PM
Pdwight is offline
Find More Posts by Pdwight
Registered User
Yes as in a Nema IEC 320 C19

Looks like a standard computer (most everything) power cord but instead of the spade connectors going up and down they go right and left....or X Axis

I have since found some of the cords online and they go from 30 bucks to over 100


The power supply clearly states input voltage is 100-127 VAC

and below is 200-240VAC

I guess it works on either but will have higher output on 220V , however I want to run it on 120VAC to just make a 12V supply out of it.
Old Aug 27, 2010, 05:30 PM
feathermerchant is online now
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
FWIW I have taken a standard plug, cut off the end and soldered the wires to the 'sideways' contacts. Use heat shrink to insulate them of course.
The cords are about $30 min as stated above.
Last edited by feathermerchant; Aug 27, 2010 at 06:24 PM.
Old Aug 27, 2010, 05:33 PM
Dan Baldwin is offline
Find More Posts by Dan Baldwin
Registered User
Dan Baldwin's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
FWIW I have taken a standard plug, cut off the end and soldered theeiresto the 'sideways' contacts. Use heat shrink to insulate them of course.
The cords are about $30 min as stated above.
It took me a minute, but I think "theeiresto" translates to "the wires to". At first I though it was some kind of Italian connector
Old Aug 27, 2010, 05:40 PM
Pdwight is offline
Find More Posts by Pdwight
Registered User
That sure beats paying $40+ dollars for a cord


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 09:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 01:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 05:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 03:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 03, 2002 12:31 AM