New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Dec 05, 2012, 02:12 AM
701superjet is offline
Find More Posts by 701superjet
Registered User
help.... just read through all of this and i cant get my dell 750w 7001072-y000 to turn on. i feel like ive tried everything. about ready to chuck this thing out the window. starting to think i have a bad power supply. should you have any of the lights on the unit turn on just by plugging it in and nothing else? ...because im not even getting that. did get about .28v between the c2 pin and grounded to the case. (a bottom - d top) other than that nothing works or shows any sign of life. any advice???!!!

FIX...ok guys. I feel dumb but.... my problem was a bad ac cord. I guess the way I had it turned when checking voltages gave me a good reading. I bought a new ac cord plugged it in and got the lights to turn on. Following the pin outs from the fourms worked with this psu no problem. thanks everyone!
Last edited by 701superjet; Dec 05, 2012 at 12:57 PM. Reason: found problem
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2012, 02:50 AM
Alfredo Rubio is offline
Find More Posts by Alfredo Rubio
Moderador.
Alfredo Rubio's Avatar
Thanks for the info.
Old Dec 05, 2012, 11:58 AM
viper522 is offline
Find More Posts by viper522
Registered User
I converted a Dell PowerEdge 650 server p/n HP-U230EF3 PSU that claims +12V/18A to run a single 6A LiPo charger (Accucel-6), but all I get is 4.6-4.8A. I also converted a decade-old low quality PC PSU just for fun and it also achieves the same 4.6-4.8A charge rate when I tell the charger to hit it at its maximum (6A).

The server PSU drops from 12.27 to 12.13 under this load, and the PC PSU drops from 11.90 to 10.87, so there is at least an improvement there.

Is the charger simply overrated?
Old Dec 05, 2012, 03:17 PM
flarssen is online now
Find More Posts by flarssen
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper522 View Post
Is the charger simply overrated?
Max current would be 6A, or max power divided by battery voltage. A 50W charger will have a max current between 4A and 5A for a 3S Lipo,

Fred
Old Dec 05, 2012, 03:40 PM
viper522 is offline
Find More Posts by viper522
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by flarssen View Post
Max current would be 6A, or max power divided by battery voltage. A 50W charger will have a max current between 4A and 5A for a 3S Lipo,

Fred
Somehow I missed that the Accucel-6 was 50W rated, thanks for bringing this to my attention. Sure glad I didn't buy a $80 power supply to try for more amps!
Old Dec 05, 2012, 04:23 PM
lazbisme is offline
Find More Posts by lazbisme
Registered User

12V power supply


Thermaltake TR2 430W power supply how to "turn on" to access 12V output?
Old Dec 06, 2012, 08:57 AM
viper522 is offline
Find More Posts by viper522
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazbisme View Post
Thermaltake TR2 430W power supply how to "turn on" to access 12V output?
On my other PC PSUs, I ground the green wire, typically with a switch in between.
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:14 AM
jocanon is offline
Find More Posts by jocanon
jocanon's Avatar
Hi guys, I just started selling my version of the converted DPS-600PB in the classifieds...been a long time coming...I've been working on getting this going for a while now, finally got the add posted up...anyway, I've been getting some questions about 18v supplies. Apparently there are quite a few people out there that have charges that go from 12-18v. I was going to play around with it some to see if the voltage could be pulled all the way down to 9v so two could be run in series for 18v, but then I thought that someone on here has probably already done that, or knows that it can't be done in the DPS-600PB, so I just thought I would check in with you all first. So is that possible on this PSU? Or is there a better PSU to mod for 18v? I am a somewhat concerned if I get it to just at 9v and then the two in series are exactly 18 that this might be bumping too close to the chargers upper voltage limit, like maybe it should be adjusted down to 18.5 or something to be safe. Anyone have experience with these or any other mod on 18v please chime in! Thanks!
Site Sponsor
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:32 AM
xandrios is offline
Find More Posts by xandrios
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jocanon View Post
Hi guys, I just started selling my version of the converted DPS-600PB in the classifieds...been a long time coming...I've been working on getting this going for a while now, finally got the add posted up...anyway, I've been getting some questions about 18v supplies. Apparently there are quite a few people out there that have charges that go from 12-18v. I was going to play around with it some to see if the voltage could be pulled all the way down to 9v so two could be run in series for 18v, but then I thought that someone on here has probably already done that, or knows that it can't be done in the DPS-600PB, so I just thought I would check in with you all first. So is that possible on this PSU? Or is there a better PSU to mod for 18v? I am a somewhat concerned if I get it to just at 9v and then the two in series are exactly 18 that this might be bumping too close to the chargers upper voltage limit, like maybe it should be adjusted down to 18.5 or something to be safe. Anyone have experience with these or any other mod on 18v please chime in! Thanks!
OCP drops with voltage for PS-3601-1C version of the dps-600pb.

I can get it down to 8v but just cant get over 30A of current.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...2&postcount=32
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:37 AM
mrforsyth is online now
Find More Posts by mrforsyth
Registered User
18V is not possible with any of the most common server supplies that I am familiar with as either 9 or 18V will set a UV or OV fault and shut down the supply.

There are some less common server supplies (original IBM 235) that have a high current 5V rail that is very useful. I have used these to get 17 volts in the past.

Good luck!

Mark
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:56 AM
jocanon is offline
Find More Posts by jocanon
jocanon's Avatar
Thanks for the quick responses!
Site Sponsor
Old Dec 16, 2012, 03:36 PM
BrushlesHeaven is offline
Find More Posts by BrushlesHeaven
Lipo Power
BrushlesHeaven's Avatar

Double post, delete pls...


123
Last edited by BrushlesHeaven; Dec 16, 2012 at 05:54 PM. Reason: I got it...
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:08 PM
terramir is offline
Find More Posts by terramir
Registered User
got a question to you guys what is the plug called for the poliant 580 g3 power supplies and what is it called it doesn't look like a standard pc power supply
terramir
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:07 PM
jj604 is online now
Find More Posts by jj604
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
It's an IEC19.
The connector on the supply is an IEC 20


Quote:
Originally Posted by terramir View Post
got a question to you guys what is the plug called for the poliant 580 g3 power supplies and what is it called it doesn't look like a standard pc power supply
terramir
Old Dec 18, 2012, 12:26 AM
kcobra is online now
Find More Posts by kcobra
Registered User
Whats the cheapest place to get one of these C19 plugs that convert to a standard 3 prong PC type plug or US wall plug? I see some C19 plugs on ebay for ~$5 that you splice into power cord of your choosing. Anything cheaper?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 09:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 01:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 05:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 03:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 03, 2002 12:31 AM