HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 14, 2003, 03:04 PM
New Providence, NJ
Joined Aug 2002
465 Posts
Good third plane?

I posted about this a few months ago but I'm still not 100% sure what to do.

I have a TigerMoth and a Pico Stik. Both fly great and repair easily. I really would like to get into building because it sounds like something I would enjoy. I certainly want my third plane to have ailerons - no question about that. From flying FMS and Realflight alot this winter, they seem really nice to fly. I was looking at the Switchback Sport as my next plane. It has ailerons. It builds easy, flies well, etc. I am still fairly new to R/C. Should I stick with foam for a while? Or make the move to balsa? Building, sanding, glueing, shaping, covering all seem like a nice relaxing thing to do after work when its raining / too windy to fly out. Is it too soon to jump to the Switchback? Or should I go for it, build it and have fun? Thanks !

James Kern
james1787 is offline Find More Posts by james1787
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 14, 2003, 04:38 PM
Departing at 'O' dark 30
Sudbury, Ont. Canada
Joined Feb 2002
1,253 Posts
James...

Just an opinion here but...

Go ahead and get the plane you want. The Switchback sounds like an excellent model that can be built to suit your flying style.

Quote:
Building, sanding, glueing, shaping, covering all seem like a nice relaxing thing to do after work when its raining / too windy to fly out
That pretty much clinches it wouldnt you think?? Its not all about flying for lots of modelers. Its about the enjoyment you get from your hobby.

Cass
Cass is offline Find More Posts by Cass
Old Mar 14, 2003, 04:40 PM
an earth bound misfit, I
St. Pete, Florida
Joined Sep 2001
9,429 Posts
Instead of going with the Switchback how about a Dandy from Mountain Models. You can build it with either the Duskstik wing or the Switchback wing for a Dandy Sport.