HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 14, 2003, 12:12 PM
Canada, ON, Caledon
Joined Aug 2002
219 Posts
How do you design your scratch built jets?

Hello EZone,
I am new to jet airplanes.
I would like to know your ideas of designing a jet. I know that an electric jet, with a satisfied speed would have motor power 100W/lb, right?
But I need to know where to place the ducted fan in jet, where to place the main wings, from the fudelage...
There's a lot of stuff you can tell me. All the answers are going to help me a lot.
I just want to design my own electric jet too.
THanks, Florin777
Florin777 is offline Find More Posts by Florin777
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 14, 2003, 01:41 PM
Los Alamos, NM, USofA
Joined Nov 2000
3,123 Posts
Re: How do you design your scratch built jets?

Quote:
Originally posted by Florin777
I just want to design my own electric jet too.
If you're new to jets, edf, and designing it would probably be best to begin by building a few kits first. This will give you some experience to draw upon when you put pen to paper.

EJF's KC F-18 is a good one.
Haldor's HL MiG 29 is another.

Daren
Daren is offline Find More Posts by Daren
Old Mar 14, 2003, 11:57 PM
Bzulu
Berlin
Joined May 2002
214 Posts
My first jet looked like this...
1.Take some thin styro plates and glue them together.
2. Cut them to the desired shape; delta preferable.
3. Hook the fan somewere at the aft.
4. Predict the CG.
5. Off to the flying field and loads of fun to be experienced, especially when you find out that the calculated CG is a matter of resin or should I say trail and error.

6. Brass spent: fiver or so...
IŽll send you a plan if youŽre interested.
thulizulu is offline Find More Posts by thulizulu
Old Mar 15, 2003, 10:57 AM
Always looking UP
Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Joined Nov 2000
2,361 Posts
Designing

Hard work, attention to detail, scrutiny and lots of time
FANMAN is offline Find More Posts by FANMAN
Old Mar 15, 2003, 11:30 AM
Canada, ON, Caledon