HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:24 PM
Trex 700, Gaui X5, 450DFC
SoarWest's Avatar
United States, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Apr 2010
326 Posts
Lets get real here people, obviously the system can only report back ground speed! Unless you want to install a full pitot system (ie: air pressure measuring at the front of the plane), all you can get from a GPS is ground speed.
SoarWest is offline Find More Posts by SoarWest
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:25 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts
Straight and level...ground speed = air speed for a model.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teryn1 View Post
that is not true

Have you even thought about this?
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:26 PM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
Tucson, AZ
Joined Aug 2004
866 Posts
you need to get static and total pressure from some kind of measurement system. Typically, a Pitot-static probe is used.


Quote:
Originally Posted by zero2444 View Post
Yeah your right...........it didn't occur to me the GPS would give you ground speed.
So if your flying flat and level it would be accurate.
But if your doing maneuvers you would not get a accurate speed reading.

What would you need to get airspeed.?
teryn1 is offline Find More Posts by teryn1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:28 PM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
Tucson, AZ
Joined Aug 2004
866 Posts
What about wind? yes, you probably didn't think about that...right? airspeed includes the wind speed ; GPS does not.

what about climbing and diving as someone pointed out?

Now, adding things up, you are starting to see that ground speed and airspeed can be very different.


Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
Straight and level...ground speed = air speed for a model.
teryn1 is offline Find More Posts by teryn1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:32 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,151 Posts
toy airplanes guys....toy airplanes
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:37 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts
really worried about wind pushing a 30" model? I'm not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teryn1 View Post
What about wind? yes, you probably didn't think about that...right? airspeed includes the wind speed ; GPS does not.

what about climbing and diving as someone pointed out?

Now, adding things up, you are starting to see that ground speed and airspeed can be very different.
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:38 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
USA, TX, Spring
Joined Jan 2008
5,925 Posts
AIRPAAIIN!!! **what I said as a kid**

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1 View Post
toy airplanes guys....toy airplanes
going4speed is offline Find More Posts by going4speed
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:47 PM
Registered User
Mcminnville, Or USA
Joined Jul 2009
597 Posts
These Telemetry addons are going to be pretty cool.
You will essentially have the planes dashboard readings on your transmitter.
We are lucky Hitec had the vision to try to bring these features to the RC community.
I dont think JR or Futaba had telemetry in the works anytime soon prior to the release of the A9.
zero2444 is offline Find More Posts by zero2444
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 07:56 PM
Nice, but watch this... oops.
Northern Ohio
Joined Jan 2010
250 Posts
About time

Just came home to a bit of a surprise. Not only did my lipos come in from Hobbypartz, my free Hitec rx's also arrived.

What are the chances on the same day. Who cares very cool.

Didn't get that free hpp-22 I was hoping for tho.... Still holding out hope Hitec will make it right. hint hint


Bill
Dirt Brakes is offline Find More Posts by Dirt Brakes
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 08:03 PM
Crashing into the sky!
jackosmeister's Avatar
Auckland NZ
Joined Aug 2007
7,174 Posts
Be happy you got free Rx's, unlike the rest of the world

My LHS, by local they are ~600km away! , www.wattsup.co.nz , are hooking me up with a loaner A9 while mine gets dealt to by the either a local or korean exorcist. A good dunking in holy water will prolly fix it I think.

Goooood service
jackosmeister is online now Find More Posts by jackosmeister
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 08:15 PM
AMA # L576
vhoward1122's Avatar
United States, OR, North Bend
Joined Sep 2006
2,225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAT Power View Post
The LXYPW7 HTS-FUEL Fuel Gauge Sensor 26.99 is Glow Fuel Only Correct ?
Incorrect. The fuel sensor mounts on the outside of the tank. The tank needs to be mostly transparent as it is an optical sensor. It will only show you full, 3/4, 1/2, 1/4, and empty.
vhoward1122 is offline Find More Posts by vhoward1122
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 09:51 PM
BlueGrass Rules
mando's Avatar
United States, IL, Dahlgren
Joined Nov 2003
1,097 Posts
Calling on the PC geeks...when I try to download and install the new HPP22
program I'm gett'n a "meter.ocx or one of it's dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid" error message. AV is turned off, and I've deleted the first load and reloaded with the same prob. Any suggestions?
Thanks......
mando is offline Find More Posts by mando
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 09:53 PM
59 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,003 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by going4speed View Post
really worried about wind pushing a 30" model? I'm not.
What difference does the size of the model make? Wind affects all flying things. Whether it's a 30" model or a 747, the absolute effect of wind is the same. But a 20 km/hr breeze is a big deal for a 30" model. So not sure what point you are making.
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 10:01 PM
-S-
Just one more..... Just one...
United States, TX, Henderson
Joined Jan 2010
1,262 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mando View Post
Calling on the PC geeks...when I try to download and install the new HPP22
program I'm gett'n a "meter.ocx or one of it's dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid" error message. AV is turned off, and I've deleted the first load and reloaded with the same prob. Any suggestions?
Thanks......
Mando,

Although I'm not familiar with the hitec specific problem, (Still waiting on a battery) I run into this a lot at work with various applications.

if it was a application not related to Hitec here is the link I would follow to register the .ocx file.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/146219


Not knowing your windows version or skills I'll explain best I can.

Click START - RUN
in the box type Regsvr32 meter.ocx

In theory that should do it, if not you may have to change to the directory that has the meter.ocx file in a command prompt window.... PM if needed.

Hope it helps. -S-
-S- is offline Find More Posts by -S-
Last edited by -S-; Jul 15, 2010 at 10:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 10:10 PM
BlueGrass Rules
mando's Avatar
United States, IL, Dahlgren
Joined Nov 2003
1,097 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by -S- View Post
Mando,

Although I'm not familiar with the hitec specific problem, (Still waiting on a battery) I run into this a lot at work with various applications.

if it was a application not related to Hitec here is the link I would follow to register the .ocx file.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/146219


Not knowing your windows version or skills I'll explain best I can.

Click START - RUN
in the box type Regsvr32 meter.ocx

In theory that should do it, if not you may have to change to the directory that has the meter.ocx file in a command prompt window.... PM if needed.

Hope it helps. -S-
My skills are limited , and I'm running W7 32 bit.......Thanks...
mando is offline Find More Posts by mando
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale FS - Hitec 600mah 9.6V NiCd Transmitter Battery Pack - Good Condition freedomflyer Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 4 Aug 07, 2006 04:15 AM
WANT! Hitec Flash 5 Transmitter! jocappy Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jun 13, 2002 10:04 AM
Wanted >= 4 channel Hitec (or compatable) Transmitter OverHeadCam Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2002 10:56 AM
FS Hitec Prism 7X Transmitter mt_100 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 May 20, 2002 07:30 AM
WTB: Hitec Flash 5 Transmitter stevevanwagner Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 20, 2002 10:29 PM