SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
This thread is privately moderated by teeceeveecee, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 09, 2009, 09:56 AM
Old Submariner
United States, WI, Milton
Joined Dec 2007
593 Posts
Discussion
Mini Bio

Hi Guys:

I have been building and flying model airplanes for many years. Started RC with vacuum tube transmitters and receivers, rubber powered escapements and batteries that would start a Buick. Built my first proportional radio system, Heathkit on 27MHz. Today I fly JR X9303 on 2.4GHz. Like big old slow planes (just like me) although I do love my TWIST 150 with a Magnum 1.80 4-stroke. It will slow fly with the best and the control surfaces are so big the 3-D capabilities are way beyond my expertise but I do have fun.

Tom
teeceeveecee is offline Find More Posts by teeceeveecee
Last edited by teeceeveecee; May 07, 2014 at 03:48 PM. Reason: Add Images
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 09, 2009, 11:03 AM
Joined Dec 2008
5 Posts
could you please tell me about you Tiger Moth. Kit,arf ect.. that you have pictured?
tllester is offline Find More Posts by tllester
Old Jan 09, 2009, 11:23 PM
Anchorage, Alaska
Joined Nov 2008
603 Posts
Great to hear from an "old timer."

Hi, while I wasn't into models "back in the day" like you described I, none the less have a lot of respect for those of you who pioneered and participated the hobby. I was too young during that time, but believe it or not, vacuum tube equipment is still alive. It's still being used and developed within the music industry, particulary for guitar amps. Most modern amps are made with consumer grade solid state circuitry and it's junk. There are company's who still manufacture hand wired tube based amps and home builders who make simalar stuff based on origional circuts designed by Leo Fender and others. Just thought you'd like to know.
Taildragger55 is offline Find More Posts by Taildragger55
Old Sep 30, 2010, 01:08 PM
USA, OH, Oberlin