Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 03, 2009, 07:45 PM
Cardigan Mountain School 62 Alumni Dr Canaan, NH 03741
Joined Jan 2009
38 Posts
Question
For 6th-graders: give me your tired crashed RCs

I'm a science teacher (and private pilot) - I have one class of 6th graders who want to build RC airplanes. I've got them diverted into six groups designing planes (boy can they be creative). The obvious - getting the parts. If you have a plane/parts you would like to donate, I'll pay the shipping. What I 'think' I need to do is collect up about eight engines, receivers/transmitters, servos, battery packs, chargers; they'll build frame, etc., and attach the parts. (I have a working J-3 Cub Park Flyer which I can use as an example.) My concept - keep it small, keep it simple. I'm new here so if I should post elsewhere, or not at all, let me know. For verification - the school website is cardigan.org, and I'm listed under the faculty. -- Lewis
lewismatson is offline Find More Posts by lewismatson
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 03, 2009, 07:50 PM
WARNING: May contain spam
Joined Oct 2007
20,928 Posts
Welcome to RC Groups!

Firstly, it's important to get an aircraft designed specifically for beginners. You don't want to let a beginner fly a 4 channel low wing psort model, that can easily be overcontrolled into the ground.

Something good to start off with would be a Multiplex Easy Star, or a Hobby Zone Super Cub, both are RTF. I'm certain you can get school discounts from Multiplex or Horizon Hobby, so you don't end up spending a huge fortune on aircraft for your class.

It's also important to have an instructor help out, if you aren't an experienced pilot. It's suprisingly difficult to fly aircraft at first, but will get easier once they progress on.
Xpress.. is offline Find More Posts by Xpress..
Old Jan 03, 2009, 07:55 PM
That's me.
San Francisco Area, CA
Joined Jan 2008
930 Posts
Welcome to RCgroups!