HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 05, 2003, 10:55 AM
Ian Turner
North Lake WI USA
Joined Feb 2003
69 Posts
Question
Ni-Cad batteries, how do I know when they are fully charged

Hi there. I am a newbie to RC electric flight and just purchased a new Hitec Flash 5X tx. The unit came with an 600 mah 8 cell Ni-Cad battery and wall charger. I was wondering if some experienced person would be so kind as to explain how I can tell when the battery is fully charged. I do not want to damage the battery by over charging. The charger is not of the "Peak Detect" type so it will charge whenever it is plugged in. I have a good Fluke DVOM with a thermocouple and understand how to use it. Is there a certain voltage to watch for to know the battery is fully charged? Should I wait for a certain period of time after disconnecting the charger for the battery to stabilize before I measure it? Or maybe measure it under a load? If so how much load? I have read some stuff about temperature rise but I have not seen any values given. Is there a certain temperature I should watch for? Thanks!
gaseousfool is offline Find More Posts by gaseousfool
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 05, 2003, 11:49 AM
characters welcome!
United States, CA, Bear Valley Springs
Joined Feb 2000
26,346 Posts
For Nicads, 1.4v-1.5v/cell is average for a full charge. An eight cell pack will read 11-12 volts at full charge.

Of course, your mileage may vary.

mw
Mark Wood is offline Find More Posts by Mark Wood
Old Mar 05, 2003, 12:58 PM
BEC
Auburn, Washington USA
Joined Jan 2001
12,937 Posts
The charge rate put out by those wall-wart type chargers is low enough that you can leave it plugged into your Tx overnight, or even for a day or two, without worry.

NiCds don't have a strict voltage to charge state relationship like lead acid or lithium batteries do, so you can't really pick a particular voltage.
BEC is offline Find More Posts by BEC
Old Mar 05, 2003, 01:25 PM
Ian Turner
North Lake WI USA