HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 28, 2008, 04:27 PM
Joined Dec 2008
60 Posts
Question
Spektrum receiver with futaba servos

I'm just getting into RC and will be buying my first radio, receiver and servos soon. I don't know much about this stuff yet.

I'm going to be buying a Spektrum DX6i because its tested to work with an endurance PCTx.
Being that I see that Futaba offers a lot more servos. Is there a bottle neck going with Spektrum because of the servos or can I just use any of Futaba servos including the digital ones using a Spektrum receiver AR7000 DSM2 or AR9000 DSM2.

Sorry for the stupid questions... If im asking them.
GradGuy is offline Find More Posts by GradGuy
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 28, 2008, 04:36 PM
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Joined Apr 2000
1,856 Posts
Futaba servos will work just fine. You will have to trim a little plastic off the connectors to get them to fit - that's all.
teamdavey is online now Find More Posts by teamdavey
Old Dec 28, 2008, 04:38 PM
United States, WA, Puyallup
Joined Oct 2004
5,965 Posts
This thread might be of some assistance.

Bill
ebill3 is offline Find More Posts by ebill3
Old Dec 28, 2008, 08:43 PM
John,not Zerts.JOHN, NOT Zerts
USA, AZ, Chandler
Joined Nov 2007
1,840 Posts
I tried Futaba S3114's instead of Hitec HS-55's but the have a jittering problem occasionally...but not bad enough to cause any crash yet. I am going to stick with Hitec in the future.
Zerts is offline Find More Posts by Zerts
Old Dec 28, 2008, 11:40 PM
Joined Dec 2008
60 Posts
Triming tabs

Thanks for the great reply everybody... Trimming the tabs sound like a good plan...

Ok...one more rookie question regarding system power.

I've looked at combo packages that have a motor, controller, and battery pack. This sounds fine "but" and this sounds dumb... does the receiver and servos typically draw there power from one main battery pack or are systems separated by main motor, receiver and then servos.

Thanks again...