HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 15, 2013, 09:03 PM
Registered User
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Dec 2012
273 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutha View Post
In the mean time if your mount is loose then pull it off an re-glue. It has nuts on the back for the mount screws - you need to get them back on the plastic. Another option is just to put some CA in the holes and screw a self tapping screw into that.
Sorry I didn't explain my question properly. It is the part where the motor screws into the plastic motor mount that is loose, because the thread in the holes for the screws on the motor mount have been stripped and the hole is now enlarged. This makes the motor loose on the motor mount. But you gave me a great idea. I could just fill epoxy into the screw hole on the motor mount, then drill a smaller hole and fit in a self tapping screw. Hope this would work. I don't currently have epoxy though. Would CA work?
perdification is offline Find More Posts by perdification
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 15, 2013, 09:43 PM
Raggistored Usehr
gooby's Avatar
United States, FL
Joined Feb 2012
1,059 Posts
I flew some night fpv with my clipped wing axn! So much fun flying 70mph only a few feet above grass fields. I think the key to fpv with an AXN is to keep everything lightweight and simple. I'm using the fpv backpack (as described by Xjet) and an AR6115e receiver. No problems with wires everywhere or weight.

It's the perfect setup for me.
gooby is offline Find More Posts by gooby
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 04:02 AM
Who needs roads?
Jake Bullit's Avatar
Southport,N.W. England
Joined Nov 2007
372 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corran View Post
Hi!

Today I took my first run with

Sorry if you have talked about this before. But do anyone know of a good upgrade engine? My magnets allready trying to escape ^^

That would fit easy.
That's a great view showing the motor and control surfaces:thumbup:
Jake Bullit is online now Find More Posts by Jake Bullit
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 04:12 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corran View Post
Hi!

Today I took my first run with my AXN

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTnXJonkibg

Sorry if you have talked about this before. But do anyone know of a good upgrade engine? My magnets allready trying to escape ^^

That would fit easy.
D2826 2200kv is a good candidate never fail me yet but you will need at least 30aesc for it
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 04:37 AM
bbz
Registered User
bbz's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Aroona
Joined Jan 2008
87 Posts
This has probably been addressed but this thread is so huge its hard to find answers.

Im wondering if there is a good alternative motor available from hobbyking that does not have issues with magnets falling out. One that will use the same sort of gear ie: 2200mah 3s and 25a ESC.

aaand never mind, skellator has answered the question above, i should have refreshed.
bbz is offline Find More Posts by bbz
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:00 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbz View Post
this has probably been addressed but this thread is so huge its hard to find answers.

Im wondering if there is a good alternative motor available from hobbyking that does not have issues with magnets falling out. One that will use the same sort of gear ie: 2200mah 3s and 25a esc.

aaand never mind, skellator has answered the question above, i should have refreshed.
:d

Name: uploadfromtaptalk1361012391553.jpg
Views: 85
Size: 44.6 KB
Description:
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:02 AM
bbz
Registered User
bbz's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Aroona
Joined Jan 2008
87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
what prop are you using there? 6x4?
bbz is offline Find More Posts by bbz
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:10 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbz View Post
what prop are you using there? 6x4?
yes TGS 6x4E props
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:26 AM
RC Airplane (Recently Crashed)
mutha's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Jan 2011
2,802 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
yes TGS 6x4E props
I had been getting TGS from HK (dont' know if they are what they claim) but I haven't had one that is even close to balanced. I have started using APC props (6x4) because they are a lot closer to balanced from the get go.
mutha is online now Find More Posts by mutha
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 05:28 AM
RC Airplane (Recently Crashed)
mutha's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Jan 2011
2,802 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by perdification View Post
Sorry I didn't explain my question properly. It is the part where the motor screws into the plastic motor mount that is loose, because the thread in the holes for the screws on the motor mount have been stripped and the hole is now enlarged. This makes the motor loose on the motor mount. But you gave me a great idea. I could just fill epoxy into the screw hole on the motor mount, then drill a smaller hole and fit in a self tapping screw. Hope this would work. I don't currently have epoxy though. Would CA work?
I use CA and wait till it is nearly fully set ... then just screw into it ... works for me. [edit] Sorry to be more accurate .. the CA works better because it wiks into the surrounding foam better than Epoxy just drizzle it on in there for a quick fix.
mutha is online now Find More Posts by mutha
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:29 AM
Registered User
Singapore, Singapore
Joined Dec 2012
273 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutha View Post
I use CA and wait till it is nearly fully set ... then just screw into it ... works for me. [edit] Sorry to be more accurate .. the CA works better because it wiks into the surrounding foam better than Epoxy just drizzle it on in there for a quick fix.
Oh right, thanks for the tip friend. Will do just that!
perdification is offline Find More Posts by perdification
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:32 AM
bbz
Registered User
bbz's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Aroona
Joined Jan 2008
87 Posts
is there anything comparable to the axn in 4 channels for a sim preferably either realflight or phoenix?
bbz is offline Find More Posts by bbz
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 07:01 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutha View Post
I had been getting TGS from HK (dont' know if they are what they claim) but I haven't had one that is even close to balanced. I have started using APC props (6x4) because they are a lot closer to balanced from the get go.
i got all my prop from local hobby shop, i never used apc before only prop i use are tgs and master air screw, yeah there are kinda off balance need to balance them before putting them on then plane
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 07:06 AM
bbz
Registered User
bbz's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Aroona
Joined Jan 2008
87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbz View Post
is there anything comparable to the axn in 4 channels for a sim preferably either realflight or phoenix?
I found this Easy Star for realflight, its almost the same, just not as powerful as the axn

Get both these
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...=file&id=13455
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...o=file&id=3110

and use the aileron version.
bbz is offline Find More Posts by bbz
Last edited by bbz; Feb 16, 2013 at 07:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 07:34 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,051 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbz View Post
I found this Easy Star for realflight, its almost the same, just not as powerful as the axn

Get both these
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...=file&id=13455
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/down...o=file&id=3110

and use the aileron version.
actually you can just take any 4 channel electric plane and practice with it, as you are training the control of the plane not actually flying characteristics, on Phoenix i train with a flying wing
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools