HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 15, 2012, 12:20 PM
Registered User
JLT_GTI's Avatar
Oviedo
Joined Jun 2010
2,256 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovs View Post
If I buy the kit version without any motor, can I put a Turnigy D2826-6 on the stock mount? And does the plane come in two halves or one piece?
Yes its totally doable:






Only down is that once fixed , to remove it you have to take out the motor mount again.. i glued the mount with hot glue and never had a problem and to remove it i used a razor to "cut" the hot glue.. it was easy to rip the glue remains from both mount and foam and glue it again..
JLT_GTI is offline Find More Posts by JLT_GTI
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: CL-415 GuanLi
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 15, 2012, 12:22 PM
Raggistored Usehr
gooby's Avatar
United States, FL
Joined Feb 2012
1,059 Posts
I ordered the kit with the motor from US warehouse. Is motor that comes with the AXN actually powerful enough? My Bixler 2 came with a wimpy motor which I upgraded, but the plane ripped apart which is why I'm here.
gooby is offline Find More Posts by gooby
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 12:24 PM
Raggistored Usehr
gooby's Avatar
United States, FL
Joined Feb 2012
1,059 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLT_GTI View Post
Yes its totally doable:

Only down is that once fixed , to remove it you have to take out the motor mount again.. i glued the mount with hot glue and never had a problem and to remove it i used a razor to "cut" the hot glue.. it was easy to rip the glue remains from both mount and foam and glue it again..
That's exactly what I was going to try, but I hadn't seen anyone mount the motor that way before. How does the turnigy motor compare to the stock one?
gooby is offline Find More Posts by gooby
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:17 PM
Registered User
JLT_GTI's Avatar
Oviedo
Joined Jun 2010
2,256 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovs View Post
That's exactly what I was going to try, but I hadn't seen anyone mount the motor that way before. How does the turnigy motor compare to the stock one?
With a good 6X4 or 6X5 (i will elaborate it better at the end of post) it will go vertical unlimited ... and i clocked it at 125km/h (stock config is arround 100-110 for what i have seen in youtube).. it will have arround 800g thrust (or even 900 as i got in another unit) in a plane wich weights 700ish ... amazing power..

You will also gain arround 20-30g rear of the CG... meaning you should put the 2200 a bit more forward.. also you will loose 5m of flight time as this will drink more ..
JLT_GTI is offline Find More Posts by JLT_GTI
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: CL-415 GuanLi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:37 PM
Registered User
Huntington Beach, CA
Joined Jan 2011
236 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2pilot View Post
I am surprised anyone would feel the need to upgrade to a bigger motor and battery. I just tried this silly little 3 blade propeller and it fits perfectly:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=23966

and I used this colet adapter:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=19593

I am using a tired old 3S battery (20C) and the new prop has about 2mm clearance with the fuselage. This thing is much quiter now and it is insanely fast. It pulls about 28 amps when the battery is fresh, but that drops down pretty fast at full throttle with this battery. I toss it, literally piont it stright vertical and it climbs continuously until it's nearly out of sight. If I fly it around at full throttle, I am afraid it might rip the wings off. Now you can really feel the plane push nose down when you throttle it up. With that much power pushing above the Center of Gravity, you can really feel that effect now. That was one heck of a $5 investment.
Again, I am confused about all the talk of upgraded motors and batteries. The stock motor with the above 3 blade prop has way too much power and climbs vertically indefinitely. Perhaps I was just lucky with the motor/esc I got?
paul2pilot is offline Find More Posts by paul2pilot
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:37 PM
Registered User
kennyhoc3's Avatar
USA, ID, Boise
Joined Nov 2010
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2pilot View Post
Again, I am confused about all the talk of upgraded motors and batteries. The stock motor with the above 3 blade prop has way too much power and climbs vertically indefinitely. Perhaps I was just lucky with the motor/esc I got?
“If everything seems under control, you're not going fast enough.”
― Mario Andretti

“America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed.”
― Will Ferrell
kennyhoc3 is offline Find More Posts by kennyhoc3
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 11:30 PM
BGR
Foam Junkie
United States, CA, Oceanside
Joined Dec 2003
1,655 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chucksolo69 View Post
Yeah, I don't understand why so many are having issues. I have mine trimmed to fly straight and level at about 50% to no throttle. It does tend to dive at 100% throttle, but that isn't a problem up high; I have added a little "up" elevator mix to my throttle.. I have not experienced the roll issues you guys are talking about.
Some do some do not. Both my AXNs have a mix to compensate for a right roll when powered. AXN 1 definitely needed the mix but to be honest I don't know is if I need it any longer. I fly completely differently today than I did when I got my first AXN. Stick movements are no longer something I think about so I may be compensating for a mix that I don't need.
BGR is offline Find More Posts by BGR
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 11:43 PM
BGR
Foam Junkie
United States, CA, Oceanside
Joined Dec 2003
1,655 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyhoc3 View Post
“If everything seems under control, you're not going fast enough.”
― Mario Andretti

“America is all about speed. Hot, nasty, badass speed.”
― Will Ferrell
Tom Cruise said it best in Top Gun. "I feel the need, the need for speed"

Fly like you mean it, right on the edge of disaster. Just don't step over the edge

I find myself flying to the point where the airplane looks like it is going to break from the strain. When it finally does I know I am ready for something faster and stronger
BGR is offline Find More Posts by BGR
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:14 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2008
63 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyhoc3 View Post
Mine flew off within a few minutes of flying So I put the 3mm prop adapter on
Here is where I bought mine you get 2 for the price of one http://www.ebay.com/itm/200851108178...84.m1497.l2649
I never got a plane or a cp heli above the ground for more then 3 second. So 2 minutes sound very good

I actually live in Australia, that seller doesn;t seem to ship here. Can I buy something like this from HK AUS warehouse? Will it work with the stock props?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...rew_Type_.html

EDIT: oops, just realise the 3mm version is fron international warehouse. So I just bought these from ebay. Looks similar as what everyone recommends on here.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....#ht_5621wt_988
quacka is offline Find More Posts by quacka
Last edited by quacka; Dec 16, 2012 at 12:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:52 AM
Registered User
kennyhoc3's Avatar
USA, ID, Boise
Joined Nov 2010
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGR View Post
Tom Cruise said it best in Top Gun. "I feel the need, the need for speed"

Fly like you mean it, right on the edge of disaster. Just don't step over the edge

I find myself flying to the point where the airplane looks like it is going to break from the strain. When it finally does I know I am ready for something faster and stronger
Favorite movie! haha but that is a good point about flying on the edge of disaster and to the point of almost breaking xD
kennyhoc3 is offline Find More Posts by kennyhoc3
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 12:55 AM
Registered User
kennyhoc3's Avatar
USA, ID, Boise
Joined Nov 2010
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quacka View Post
I never got a plane or a cp heli above the ground for more then 3 second. So 2 minutes sound very good

I actually live in Australia, that seller doesn;t seem to ship here. Can I buy something like this from HK AUS warehouse? Will it work with the stock props?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...rew_Type_.html

EDIT: oops, just realise the 3mm version is fron international warehouse. So I just bought these from ebay. Looks similar as what everyone recommends on here.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....#ht_5621wt_988
Yeah that's why I bought a simulator! I practiced forever before trying to actually fly a plane or hover a heli lol But those adapters should work great
kennyhoc3 is offline Find More Posts by kennyhoc3
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 04:32 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2008
63 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyhoc3 View Post
Yeah that's why I bought a simulator! I practiced forever before trying to actually fly a plane or hover a heli lol But those adapters should work great
I do have a simulator. I can take off and land fine on the simulator. Somehow all the heli and plane never gets off the ground for me probably not adjusted properly.

That's why I buy the AXN. At least I can hand launch it instead of relying on the wheels of the aircraft to run straight to take off.
quacka is offline Find More Posts by quacka
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 05:14 AM
Registered User
kennyhoc3's Avatar
USA, ID, Boise
Joined Nov 2010
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quacka View Post
I do have a simulator. I can take off and land fine on the simulator. Somehow all the heli and plane never gets off the ground for me probably not adjusted properly.

That's why I buy the AXN. At least I can hand launch it instead of relying on the wheels of the aircraft to run straight to take off.
Oh I see haha
kennyhoc3 is offline Find More Posts by kennyhoc3
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
162 Posts
paul2pilot. Quote 'I am surprised anyone would feel the need to upgrade to a bigger motor and battery. I just tried this silly little 3 blade propeller and it fits perfectly:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=23966

and I used this colet adapter:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=19593'

Unfortunately they're out of stock on those props. I've asked HK to advise me when they come back in.

It sounds like you have a great set up there. What size ESC are you using? Have you found any disadvantages to using those props?
Beanz is offline Find More Posts by Beanz
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:40 AM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,422 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanz View Post
paul2pilot. Quote 'I am surprised anyone would feel the need to upgrade to a bigger motor and battery. I just tried this silly little 3 blade propeller and it fits perfectly:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=23966

and I used this colet adapter:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=19593'

?
Links do not work.
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools