HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 13, 2012, 07:48 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Irmo
Joined Sep 2011
4,716 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLT_GTI View Post
Many of us here had that problem... i used a "launch" switch wich gave it 20% elevator up for launching...also using the trim (wich means having to retrim after launch)

In the end the best option was to one day go to the field and practice handlaunchings until you get it right.. basically its motor to 50% and give it a strong toss slighty upwards (i say like 15-20º up , ie: poiting slighthy upwards) ... the strong toss will give it more initial airspeed than just leaving the hand with a light toss ...

since then i never again had problems handlaunching top-pod motor planes
You know, I think I had full throttle when I hand launched, and I remember the club president telling me to reduce throttle the last time he launched for me. Lesson learned.
shahram72 is offline Find More Posts by shahram72
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 14, 2012, 01:09 AM
Registered User
South Africa, EC, East London
Joined Aug 2012
23 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeandredubois View Post
Dave (are you the same jughead from wilddogs?)
Just make sure all your control surfaces move in the right direction !!!

I was also nervous the first time i flew it but this thing goes exactly where you point it. 1/2 - 2/3 throttle, throw it at about 30 degrees upwards & just enjoy.

I fly mine almost every day for an hour+ (my neck just gets sore) so have to land.
When you search for thermals you can fly all day
I even added leds so i can extend my flying hours (night flying is awesome
but sometimes my hart sits in my throat but it is still a lot of fun)

Trust me this thing flys beautifully. No bad tendencies

Pm my as jy enige ander inligting soek. Ek is elke Desember in Jeffreys & vlieg daar so as jy ooit hulp soek. Gaan loer op www.avcom.co.za onder die model section. Daar is 'n hele paar ouens wat in jou area vlieg.

Geniet dit & laat weet hoe dit gegaan het.

Groete
Jeandré
Hi Jean.

Thanks for the help.
I do lurk on wild dogs, but I am not a member. (so must be another Jughead_dave)

Baie dankie vir all die help. Ek gaan hom net no vlieg. (excuse my poor afrikaans)
jughead_dave is offline Find More Posts by jughead_dave
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 01:30 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,260 Posts
i might as well bring my CF out for a flight tomorrow have not fly the floater for a while now almost 6 month i think!
skellator is online now Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 14, 2012, 04:54 AM
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Dalarna County, Sater
Joined Oct 2011
3,352 Posts
Aw man, replaced the motor and then it fell off in flight. Chewed up a part of the fuselage. Nothing I can't fix. It's kind of stupid that the screws aren't included with the motor. I'm going to epoxy my motor to the mount now, hopefully it won't fall off. I learned yesterday that 2 screws + a bit of hot glue just won't cut it!
WiseDuck is offline Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 05:42 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,260 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseDuck View Post
Aw man, replaced the motor and then it fell off in flight. Chewed up a part of the fuselage. Nothing I can't fix. It's kind of stupid that the screws aren't included with the motor. I'm going to epoxy my motor to the mount now, hopefully it won't fall off. I learned yesterday that 2 screws + a bit of hot glue just won't cut it!
ouch that will remind me to check mind motor mount tomorrow for the flight
skellator is online now Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 14, 2012, 11:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseDuck View Post
Aw man, replaced the motor and then it fell off in flight. Chewed up a part of the fuselage. Nothing I can't fix. It's kind of stupid that the screws aren't included with the motor. I'm going to epoxy my motor to the mount now, hopefully it won't fall off. I learned yesterday that 2 screws + a bit of hot glue just won't cut it!
Happened to my stock setup before. Was flying with high throttle to combat the wind, which melted the glue.

After which i epoxy the motor mount in.
freedomflight is offline Find More Posts by freedomflight
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 11:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator View Post
i might as well bring my CF out for a flight tomorrow have not fly the floater for a while now almost 6 month i think!
more than 1 year for me!
freedomflight is offline Find More Posts by freedomflight
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 11:25 AM
Arcee Moron
Justapoke's Avatar
The Netherlands
Joined Jun 2012
866 Posts
Allways check the plastic motormount on the AXN. The first one was glued ok at the factory, had some trouble using a knife getting it off for my motor upgrade. With he second AXN that I bought I just pulled it off in a second. So check if you have a well glued version. Also the front-clip of the canopy came of with my second AXN.

I had no problems using just hot-glue btw.
Justapoke is offline Find More Posts by Justapoke
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 02:46 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
Hello all,
Can someone give me a LINK to place an order for new Wing Spars?
(ie.... TowerHobbies?)
I didn't get one with my AXN Floater.

(or exact dimensions of the Wing Spars, and maybe order one from a website)

Thank you

p.s.
or PM me if you have an extra one. I can PayPal you.
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 02:58 PM
Just thumbing through...
victapilot's Avatar
United States, SC, Simpsonville
Joined Feb 2009
4,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rclab1 View Post
Hello all,
Can someone give me a LINK to place an order for new Wing Spars?
(ie.... TowerHobbies?)
I didn't get one with my AXN Floater.

(or exact dimensions of the Wing Spars, and maybe order one from a website)

Thank you

p.s.
or PM me if you have an extra one. I can PayPal you.
For $3 get a carbon arrow from Walmart. It's half the weight and same strength.
victapilot is online now Find More Posts by victapilot
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 05:21 PM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
USA
Joined May 2010
4,619 Posts
victapilot

Thank you for the reply! Is there anyway you can give me a LINK (from Walmart) to that "arrow?"?
your mentioning.

Huge help man!

Thanks x20000
rclab1 is offline Find More Posts by rclab1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 07:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
164 Posts
Hey- that's a GREAT idea victapilot, isn't it strange that we miss the easiest, most obvious answers sometimes. I need some carbon for a wing spar on my H-king Pitts and while we don't have Walmart over here, I know of a shop that sells arrows. Nice one!
Beanz is offline Find More Posts by Beanz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2012, 10:15 PM
Just thumbing through...
victapilot's Avatar
United States, SC, Simpsonville
Joined Feb 2009
4,430 Posts
See this post

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=4417

Make sure to get a carbon arrow, not fiberglass or aluminum.
victapilot is online now Find More Posts by victapilot
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 06:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
164 Posts
Unfortunately when I checked the prices of even the cheapest of arrows in my local shop here in Queensland Australia, they wanted $12 (AU) but I'll still keep an eye out for some second hand ones.
Beanz is offline Find More Posts by Beanz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2012, 07:00 AM
Aus
ʎןɟ inverted ɹǝpunuʍop
Aus's Avatar
Australia, ACT, Amaroo
Joined Jul 2011
1,244 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beanz View Post
Unfortunately when I checked the prices of even the cheapest of arrows in my local shop here in Queensland Australia, they wanted $12 (AU) but I'll still keep an eye out for some second hand ones.
Whereabouts in QLD are you? If you post your location, people may be able to offer some local options to you.
Aus is offline Find More Posts by Aus
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Model Tech Blue Max II
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools