HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 04, 2009, 06:59 AM
An Aussie in Dubai
United Arab Emirates, Dubai
Joined Jan 2009
264 Posts
Loose Magnet ring

I have seen comments and replies relating to individual magnets coming loose.
I now have the whole outer ring separated from the front prop holder.

I am guessing that I just need to epoxy it back place?
Any comments please.
Thanks, Peter
pghern is offline Find More Posts by pghern
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 04, 2009, 07:13 PM
Short Circuit Creator
Crashem Dave's Avatar
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Joined Nov 2004
679 Posts
AXN Cloud Fly suppliers

there are 2 more places you can buy this model from,seeing that HobbyCity/United Hobbies stocks sell out real quick.

1)RC Castle

http://rc-castle.com/shop/product_in...oducts_id=1297

and 2) this guy on "Flea Bay"

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...:X:RTQ:US:1123

However, unlike HobbyCity/UH, the versions the later 2 sell only come with motor and props.

I did the cost sums between the 3, factoring in the cost of shipping.

RC Castle and UH specify EMS only where as the E-Bay seller will send via Insured air parcel post at nearly 1/2 the price of EMS. Included also the extra cost of buying 4 x HXT 900 servo's and a Turnigy 25 amp ESC from HobbyCity/UH and cost of shipping them seperately as well.

Cost between the 3 alternatives to ship them o/seas from Hong Kong turns out to be negligable. About US$18 difference between the cheapest (HobbyCity/UH) and the most expensive (RC Castle.) and $US5 between the E-Bay offering and Hobby City/UH. This is to ship to Australia/USA/Europe.

For example: When you include shipping on top of your purchase price, suddenly the savings made by buying the "everything in it" kit from HobbyCity/United Hobbies are seriously eroded when compared to the deal from the E-Bay seller. This is because of HobbyCity/UH's requirement for EMS only shipping. Take the E-bay offering, add Air Parcel post, 4 UH Supplied servo's and ESC plus shipping and the total cost difference is around $US5 between the 2!

All is not as it seems!

Take your pick re supplier.
Crashem Dave is offline Find More Posts by Crashem Dave
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2009, 11:51 PM
Frank
calofr's Avatar
Saint-Jerome, Quebec, Canada
Joined Aug 2009
87 Posts
I got my http://hobbyking.com/hobbycity/store...idProduct=6504 to fit. Obviously, modifications were necessary. This should help me stay in the air for a bit, lol...

My next modification is just to solidify the cockpit for future crashes.

Adding weights will be up next since the CG is right on the leading edge. ... those batteries are heavy. Couple pennies will be added to correct this issue.


I will post pics in a bit...stay tuned!
calofr is offline Find More Posts by calofr
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2009, 09:27 AM
Registered User
Singapore
Joined Mar 2009
193 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaccies
Did you measure the static current at half and full throttle?
Measured.
At full throttle - ~ 19A & 230W (forgot to measure at half)
Looks like the Turnigy 30A should be able to handle. Maybe its because things get real warm in the small cocpit together with the battery.
Hope the ESC will hold up. I'm having fun ....
jsec1992 is offline Find More Posts by jsec1992
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 05, 2009, 10:02 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2009
12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsec1992
Measured.
At full throttle - ~ 19A & 230W (forgot to measure at half)
Looks like the Turnigy 30A should be able to handle. Maybe its because things get real warm in the small cocpit together with the battery.
Hope the ESC will hold up. I'm having fun ....
Can any kind soul guide on on calculating airtime based on this.

Am on a 1500mah 3S

Much appreciated.
janboyz is offline Find More Posts by janboyz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2009, 01:09 AM
Registered User
The Netherlands, LI, Venray
Joined Dec 2008
1,369 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by janboyz
Can any kind soul guide on on calculating airtime based on this.

Am on a 1500mah 3S

Much appreciated.
Airtime calculation = ( Lipo-maH/motor AMP) * 60/1000 minutes

Say average during flytime 10 Amp
(1500/10)*60/1000 = 9 minutes

jsec1992 measured at full throtlle 19 Amp static ,
this wil be in the air 75% of 19 Amp = +/- 15Amp

so at full throtlle
(1500/15)*60/1000 = 6 minutes
jaccies is offline Find More Posts by jaccies
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2009, 11:14 AM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2009
12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaccies
Airtime calculation = ( Lipo-maH/motor AMP) * 60/1000 minutes

Say average during flytime 10 Amp
(1500/10)*60/1000 = 9 minutes

jsec1992 measured at full throtlle 19 Amp static ,
this wil be in the air 75% of 19 Amp = +/- 15Amp

so at full throtlle
(1500/15)*60/1000 = 6 minutes

Thks Jaccies

Guess I screwed up my Lipos with flying about 20mins but lucky thing I always fly at half throttle or less.

Thks again.
janboyz is offline Find More Posts by janboyz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2009, 01:27 PM
Clyde, Ca. USA
Clyde, Ca. USA
Joined May 2007
2,382 Posts
janboyz Do you have a good Lipo battery charger?
I ruined several Lipos before I bought a better charger.
You need to charge them with a balanced charge.
Many posts on this and other threads about good chargers being very important.
john339 is offline Find More Posts by john339
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2009, 09:59 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2009
12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by john339
janboyz Do you have a good Lipo battery charger?
I ruined several Lipos before I bought a better charger.
You need to charge them with a balanced charge.
Many posts on this and other threads about good chargers being very important.
Its the GT Power A6, with balanced charging.

But fatal crash yesterday as the wind caught it and slammed it down, went through the tree and ripped the tail into 2. Miracle right, the wing only had bumps but the tail ripped. Its grounded till I get it fixed
janboyz is offline Find More Posts by janboyz
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2009, 09:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2009
14 Posts
Batteries shared between(among) AXN Floater-jet(Floater-jet set) and a BIG LAMA

I AM NEW IN ELFORO AND VERY RAWLY IN THIS HOBBY.

I have one of the helicopter of the BIG MUD and yesterday I come near the last purchase a " AXN Floater-jet(Floater-jet set) ". But I am very raw and even it(he,she) has not flown.
I have the batteries of the helicopter but the connector is different in hobbycity there is algun adapter. Batteries that serve for the 2?
And another question like can install an antenna mas long to the recipient esky 2,4 ghz of the big lick for aprobecharlo for the " AXN Floater-jet(Floater-jet set) "?

Thank you regards
ROGIS is offline Find More Posts by ROGIS
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2009, 10:53 AM
Clyde, Ca. USA
Clyde, Ca. USA
Joined May 2007
2,382 Posts
ROGIS What does it say on the battery? What is it's capacity?
Will it fit in the Floater Jet? You can change the connector so it will fit the Jet.
I change all my connectors to the same kind so I can move batteries from one to the other.
You don't need a longer wire on the 2.4 antenna.
john339 is offline Find More Posts by john339
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 07, 2009, 03:35 PM
Registered User
Canada, Quebec, Mercier
Joined Dec 2008
595 Posts
What do you think of it ?

http://cgi.ebay.com/RC-A2212-2200KV-...d=p3286.c0.m14

Seem to me a very good deal
Batch1 is offline Find More Posts by Batch1
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2009, 11:52 AM
AD.
Team Better Than Yours
AD.'s Avatar
London, UK
Joined Jul 2009
236 Posts
It may look like a good deal at the moment but in a few months it wont seem like such a great thing. Its a cheapo chinese no brand motor and ESC which can often be dangerous.
AD. is offline Find More Posts by AD.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 08, 2009, 03:22 PM
Registered User
The Netherlands, LI, Venray
Joined Dec 2008
1,369 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by _AD_
It may look like a good deal at the moment but in a few months it wont seem like such a great thing. Its a cheapo chinese no brand motor and ESC which can often be dangerous.
you are right......see the spec conflict of the motor

Max. Efficiency current: 14-22A

Max Current 8A for 60s
jaccies is offline Find More Posts by jaccies
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 09, 2009, 10:15 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2008
97 Posts
Just got my Floater (& other toys) from HC yesterday & have a few questions.

Should I use the provided glue on the tail section? Where is the best place to mount the esc? The Rx? I was going to mount the Rx of the roof of the nose compartment (so I wouldn't block the air holes) and mount the esc on the 'floor', under the battery; so it would catch some air flow.

Sorry if this has been covered already. I haven't read all 62 pages of this thread.

Thanks, Ralph
bergerr is offline Find More Posts by bergerr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools