HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:24 AM
United States, MI, Macomb
Joined Nov 2006
1,308 Posts
Build Log
The MiniMost XL

I have been a builder here before but have mothballed my past project due to overwhelming time constraints. I have since found some free time and want to get back in the business. I want to keep my new project small so I can finish it. I'll get back to my bigger stuff later. I need to get back in the saddle with a small victory.
I recently purchased a beat up K&O outboard on Ebay. It's an old 25 horse Johnson from the fifties. I wanted a nicer looking example, but the bidds get pricey on the cleaner motors. It barely ran when I recieved it, but after taking it apart and cleaning it out, I got it running just fine. It was love at first sight. I was mesmorized by it's looks and detail. I know it's toy made out of die-cast, but it's really a work of art.
Tollytime is online now Find More Posts by Tollytime
Last edited by Tollytime; Dec 23, 2008 at 11:37 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:35 AM
Joined Nov 2006
1,308 Posts
What should I build?

I was so inspired by this little guy, I wanted to give it a good resting place. I was thinking of something like a 14ft fishing boat or a maybe a small runabout in 1/9 scale. I started to look through my old Popular Science magazines from the fifties to get ideas. (I bought this collection of magazines from an old man 20 years ago.) I think I found the right edition.
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:46 AM
Grumpa Tom
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,884 Posts
Hi there Tollytime,

I think the Minimost would be an excellent carrier for this little gem of an outboard.

I can tell you must be a good builder, by looking at the sawhorse you built to support your outboard for display!
Kmot is offline Find More Posts by Kmot
Old Dec 23, 2008, 12:32 PM
Raleigh NC
Joined Jul 2008
1,859 Posts