HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 19, 2008, 07:17 AM
Buckeye, AZ
Joined May 2008
21 Posts
Discussion
Want advice on your second plane? You might want to reconsider who you ask.

I am an intermediate pilot that has been flying planes for oh let me see...8 months? Do I sound cocky? Maybe, to the more seasoned RC pilot. However, the purpose of this discussion is not to brag, nor sound cocky, but to offer you the new RC enthusiast with a different perspective. I have listened to far too many experienced RC Pilot put down the newcomer and belittle him/her by making cocky comments like you can't pick a sundowner as your second plane! You will surely fail and crash it within a month! Because YOUíRE not good enough! Now don't get me wrong, to be fair, there are a lot of good experienced RC pilots out there that genuinely want to help the newcomer and they offer great advice without being rude or holier-than-thou. My instructor was one who never put me down or told me you can't. After I soloed my trainer, and I told him the second plane I was getting, He simply said, wow thats a nice plane! And thank God for that because after I witnessed from him how you are supposed to treat people I tend to fall into the second group when a newcomer seeks my advice.
If you ask someone their advice on your choice of second plane, and they shoot down your choice with some rude statement that insults your intelligence, my advice to you is to find someone else to seek advice from because they are not giving you the right information.
Here is the truth. I bought a trainer in March of this year. I sought the help of a very good pilot to train me on the buddy box. After 1 week I soloed. 2 Days later I bought a giant scale supersportster and soloed it on the 2nd flight. My third plane was a Hangar 9 Sundowner about 2 weeks later (which quickly became my favorite plane this summer)