Rochester N.Y.
Joined Oct 2005
1,899 Posts
Discussion
SV 17CC gas engine review

hi
i just received one of the new 17cc engines that chaush is introducing
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=961912

first thing i should say is i am a bit of a small gas engine nut and seeing that chaush was offering a 17cc gas engine was a bit too much for me and i jumped on the wagon for one , i am not affiliated with the company that builds these or the import of them , i am also not a professional engine reviewer , but i know a bunch of folks are interested in hearing about this engine and i am happy to jump in with my experience with it ...whew!

first off , it comes in a nice cardboard box and is wrapped in 6mm closed cell foam sheeting to protect it during shipping and it arrived looking brand new , the box also contained a plug wrench , sparkplug , muffler , and the electronic ignition unit

it is small , roughly 5 inches tall and 6 inches side to side with muffler and carburetor , i have a few Zenoah engines so i dragged out the scale and weighed a Zenoah g-231 , a Zenoah G-20 , and the SV 17

you can see that it is about 3 oz heavier than the Zenoah G-20 and although you would think it should be lighter , three oz is pretty close , and i will guess that it has to do with the type of alloy used in the case , i only weighed the engines with exhaust and carburetion and left out the weight of the EI units and batteries

another thing worth pointing out is i weighed both stock EI units , the stock Zenoah EI unit is 7.0 oz and the SV unit is 4.3 oz this would bring the weight of the two engines to well within an ounce of each other

copperclad is offline Find More Posts by copperclad
Last edited by copperclad; Dec 15, 2008 at 03:24 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 15, 2008, 12:08 PM
Coaxially Fixated
Rochester N.Y.
Joined Oct 2005
1,899 Posts