SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 01, 2009, 03:52 AM
Registered User
Bouvard Western Australia
Joined Feb 2009
41 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoFl
kjetlei, to be sure, I'd measure the peak voltage, just to make sure it's 5V.

And, in this case, add a divider at the module's input. Just 2 10K resistors would do
MoFl, I have been following your posts. I made up your little circuit for checking the peak ppm voltage and on my JR the ppm peaks at 7.75v. I am using the divider as fitted in the turborix radio (R14 R49 R50). Do you think I need to change the resistor values in the divider to compensate for the higher ppm voltage? If so what do you suggest?
com210 is offline Find More Posts by com210
Last edited by com210; Jun 01, 2009 at 03:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 01, 2009, 12:34 PM
Registered User
MoFl's Avatar
España, AL, Sevilla
Joined Apr 2007
515 Posts
Hi, com210

You could change R14+R49 for a single 15 to 20K resistor.

I'm not sure about JR PPM spec but, from different posts (e.g this one), it might get to 8,5V or higher, so maybe 20k is better.

The measured 7,75V + 0,6V (diode drop) match well with the 8,5 V posted there.

With 20K from PPM and 10K to GND, you'd get 8,5*10/30=2,83V, under 3,3 V and still a bit higher than the 5*10/21=2,38V of the original design.
MoFl is offline Find More Posts by MoFl
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2009, 12:46 PM
Registered User
MoFl's Avatar
España, AL, Sevilla
Joined Apr 2007
515 Posts
It had been announced before, but now it seems like HK is going to have the Flysky "JR like" module soon:

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/f...&PID=9189#9189

They're also going to sell the 8 ch receiver.
MoFl is offline Find More Posts by MoFl
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2009, 06:57 PM
Registered User
Bouvard Western Australia
Joined Feb 2009
41 Posts
Thanks MoFl, I'll change those resistors today
com210 is offline Find More Posts by com210
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2009, 07:17 PM
Spritual Pilot
Silicon Valley, CA
Joined May 2001
677 Posts
This question might be answered somewhere. Unfortunately, I couldn't find it.

How do you manage multiple models with mechanical trims with this radio. I wanted to buy this radio. However, this 'mechanical' trims keep confusing me. Are you re-trimming everytime when you fly a different model in the air?
jnyoun is offline Find More Posts by jnyoun
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2009, 09:58 PM
Registered User
earlwb's Avatar
USA, TX, Grapevine
Joined Dec 2008
12,958 Posts
Yes you are retrimming each time you change models. Now I did notice that there are some subtrim option settings, so one may be able to trim the trim knobs back to center using the subtrim option settings. I didn't try it as of yet though.

I didn't have a problem retrimming as needed for different models.
It helps keep one's maiden flight skills fresh.
earlwb is online now Find More Posts by earlwb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My new Gaui X5 Rc Helicopter
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2009, 10:40 PM
I enjoy the voices
Lead Wings's Avatar
Perth, Australia
Joined Apr 2007
484 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoFl
Hi, com210

You could change R14+R49 for a single 15 to 20K resistor.

I'm not sure about JR PPM spec but, from different posts (e.g this one), it might get to 8,5V or higher, so maybe 20k is better.

The measured 7,75V + 0,6V (diode drop) match well with the 8,5 V posted there.

With 20K from PPM and 10K to GND, you'd get 8,5*10/30=2,83V, under 3,3 V and still a bit higher than the 5*10/21=2,38V of the original design.
Thanks MoFl and com210 - I didn't manage to get near my shed on the weekend, but youve answered my questions re the JR PPM levels - and even worked out the resistors required! Time to hack next time I get a chance.....

PS - com210 thanks for the feedback on the performance of your system - sounds like your one bad crash was a faulty servo?
Lead Wings is offline Find More Posts by Lead Wings
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2009, 03:44 PM
Registered User
keepitsimple's Avatar
The Netherlands, OV, Almelo
Joined Sep 2008
80 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnyoun
This question might be answered somewhere. Unfortunately, I couldn't find it.

How do you manage multiple models with mechanical trims with this radio. I wanted to buy this radio. However, this 'mechanical' trims keep confusing me. Are you re-trimming everytime when you fly a different model in the air?

Leave the mechanical trims in their centerpositions.
Use an old (XP) laptop together with the configuration software to save individual aircraft settings.
Every time you change models , just load the model-specific settings from file and store them in the TX.
You migth use the mechanical trims for small corrections, but before saving settings try to set mechanical trims to centerposition and adjust with the programable subtrims.

There also is some software available for PPC and/or PPC2002.


regards from hans
keepitsimple is offline Find More Posts by keepitsimple
Last edited by keepitsimple; Jun 02, 2009 at 03:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2009, 05:00 PM
Off 2 The Edge of Reality
TeamTEOR's Avatar
Scottsdale, AZ
Joined Sep 2003
7,479 Posts
Does anyone know if there are any car TX radios like this in this price range?
Tom
TeamTEOR is offline Find More Posts by TeamTEOR
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2009, 10:25 PM
I enjoy the voices
Lead Wings's Avatar
Perth, Australia
Joined Apr 2007
484 Posts
Using HK T4A as hack module for FM radios idiots guide

Ive consolidated info from this forum to create an idiot's guide to hacking FM radios to 2.4 GHz using the HK 4/6 channel / FlySky 2.4 GHz module as the donor and the to make it easier for the less electrickery savvy amongst us (me included).

To do this I've shamelessly plagiarised info posted by others – I have tried to give credit where due, but if you feel you’ve been left out or don’t want your stuff used then please tell me and I’ll edit/delete it.

Any corrections/updates/advice appreciated.
Lead Wings is offline Find More Posts by Lead Wings
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2009, 11:21 PM
Registered User
JMP_blackfoot's Avatar
United States, OH, Galena
Joined Jul 2003
1,692 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lead Wings
[color=black]Any corrections/updates/advice appreciated.
Great job!
For using the 4channel transmitter as a simulator once the 2.4Ghz module has been removed, I suggest to run it off 4 cells only as I described in posts # 722, 726, 727 (page 49) and # 769, 772 (page 52).
(I have been flying both the 4-channel and the 6-channel transmitters off 4 cells without the least problem - 6-channel modification in posts # 783, 786 (page 53)).
Also, you could give the link to the simulator cable as found by MoFi :
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.d...603~r.12268550
JMP_blackfoot is offline Find More Posts by JMP_blackfoot
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2009, 11:53 PM
Registered User
crucial's Avatar
USA, SE Wisconsin
Joined May 2009
2,375 Posts
I don't know if it makes a difference but I ordered this cable and it works.
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.11996

They look like the exact same thing.
crucial is offline Find More Posts by crucial
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2009, 12:49 AM
I enjoy the voices
Lead Wings's Avatar
Perth, Australia
Joined Apr 2007
484 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMP_blackfoot
Great job!
For using the 4channel transmitter as a simulator once the 2.4Ghz module has been removed, I suggest to run it off 4 cells only as I described in posts # 722, 726, 727 (page 49) and # 769, 772 (page 52).
(I have been flying both the 4-channel and the 6-channel transmitters off 4 cells without the least problem - 6-channel modification in posts # 783, 786 (page 53)).
Also, you could give the link to the simulator cable as found by MoFi :
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.d...603~r.12268550
Thanks guys, I will add to the doc and re-post with any other input.

I have an old Wilkera sim cable at home - I haven't got around to trying it yet, but I know the plug is the same. Will try it eventually and post the results.
Lead Wings is offline Find More Posts by Lead Wings
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2009, 09:46 AM
Curiouser and curiouser
Kokopeli's Avatar
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Oct 2005
2,061 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lead Wings
Ive consolidated info from this forum to create an idiot's guide to hacking FM radios to 2.4 GHz using the HK 4/6 channel / FlySky 2.4 GHz module as the donor and the to make it easier for the less electrickery savvy amongst us (me included).

To do this I've shamelessly plagiarised info posted by others – I have tried to give credit where due, but if you feel you’ve been left out or don’t want your stuff used then please tell me and I’ll edit/delete it.

Any corrections/updates/advice appreciated.
Lead Wings:
Your picture of the trainer jack on page 6 doesn't quite match my HK 4 ch radio.
Your pin#2 on my radio is a No Connection - not +5v
Your pin#3 on my radio is +battery output - not signal input

My radio matches this schematic (all though, with different pin numbers)
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...mentid=2535955

Your 6 ch turbo seems to be wired differently than my HK 4 ch.

Hope this helps.
Walt
Kokopeli is offline Find More Posts by Kokopeli
Last edited by Kokopeli; Jun 03, 2009 at 09:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 03, 2009, 11:07 AM
anarchist
frac's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
6,907 Posts
deleted....already answered
frac is offline Find More Posts by frac
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product X8---new 2.4GHz Radio System ASSAN Radios 5708 Jun 25, 2014 01:20 PM
Yippee! New 2.4GHz DSM radio - New standard? PrasadL Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 12 Jun 03, 2013 07:03 AM
For Sale NEW - 2.4GHZ 2 channel Pistol R/C system SRM Cars - Cars and Parts (FS/W) 0 Oct 22, 2008 09:39 AM
FS: 1x Used 1x New 2.4ghz Wireless video cameras with receiver Nik-rc Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Nov 30, 2004 06:21 PM