HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 11, 2012, 07:43 PM
Curiouser and curiouser
Kokopeli's Avatar
Rochester, NY, USA
Joined Oct 2005
2,062 Posts
I guess you didn't read message #5106 (the one I was responding to).
It said:
******************
Audio taper is logarithmic, aka exponential... The resistance changes very little at one end and ramps up at the other. I can't think of any practical reason to use audio taper on stick gimbal potentiometers, so this is, in all likelyhood, a non-issue.
*****************
That may complete the picture for you, Dave.
Whoops - I forgot to say: Sorry Dave LOL

Walt
Kokopeli is offline Find More Posts by Kokopeli
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 12, 2012, 07:40 AM
RC beginner
New York
Joined Oct 2008
6,054 Posts
yes, i was aware of who said what and my comment was a result of your response to me not #5106:

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjbite View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave1993
.... works for the other sticks too........

[When you read about this, think about HAL's (the computer) voice]
Sorry Dave, that will only work if you can find a tapered pot that is tapered from the middle to both ends.
[Maybe Dave is too young to remember the movie 2001?] LOL
Walt
i guess we all agree now replacing pots with logrithmic ones is not an option. not just because they dont make "log from center" type but also the range issue. adding resistors is the practical way for hardware hardware expo anyway.

i recall a couple years ago i was given a very expensive $1000+ radio with a bad pot. quote was over $100 to have it fixed ($30 for just the pot). so thats when i decided to come up with a mod to allow use of a regular off the shelf type. it ended up costing less than a buck including pot to fix. coincidently somebody came to me last week to fix his radio with a pot he damaged while trying to clean. unfortunately i coudnt find the exact values i used to convert a full range to limited range pot. and his tx was not a really expensive unit so i suggested just buy a new one.

kinda like friends and relatives who think i can actually fix their tvs or players. right!
dave1993 is offline Find More Posts by dave1993
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 09:33 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
4 Posts
"Another" Programmer

My version of ESU's programmer.
It works fine without external power, powered by the two 18650 cells in the Tx.

Name: programmer4&5.jpg
Views: 144
Size: 251.4 KB
Description: Programmer V5(onboard version) and V4 before etching after transfer (on Conrad catalog paper)Name: Imgp1904E.jpg
Views: 136
Size: 128.3 KB
Description: PCB V4Name: IMGP2073.jpg
Views: 168
Size: 163.7 KB
Description: Programmer V4 + LCDName: IMGP2078.jpg
Views: 143
Size: 234.1 KB
Description: LCD Module and ISP TIN connectorsName: IMGP2081.jpg
Views: 143
Size: 97.3 KB
Description: ISP TIN to USBASP adapterName: IMGP2079.jpg
Views: 144
Size: 188.4 KB
Description: ISP TIN Adapter plugged inName: IMGP2080.jpg
Views: 152
Size: 187.1 KB
Description: USBASP connector plugged in ready for programmingName: IMGP2083.jpg
Views: 143
Size: 161.2 KB
Description: Programmer with cableName: IMGP2084.jpg
Views: 153
Size: 137.3 KB
Description: Programmer Bottom with resin coat ...needs finishingName: IMGP2096.jpg
Views: 175
Size: 97.7 KB
Description: Close up of tin connectors from LCDName: IMGP2085.jpg
Views: 149
Size: 81.6 KB
Description: Programmer without backlight onName: IMGP2091.jpg
Views: 252
Size: 143.4 KB
Description: Programmer with backlight on

Operating Manual: Programmer V4

Schematic and layout for transfer:programmer V4 atmega8

Firmware:WinavrProgrammerv4
eisenficker is offline Find More Posts by eisenficker
Last edited by eisenficker; May 20, 2012 at 12:00 PM. Reason: updated manual and firmware for heli-items
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 06:02 AM
Registered User
MoFl's Avatar
Espańa, AL, Sevilla
Joined Apr 2007
515 Posts
Nice pcb! One of the best I've seen without using special toner transfer paper (in the first photo's description you say you're using conrad catalog paper).
Is it similar to Digikey catalog?
Digikey's is very thin (like Bible or phone guide), and slightly glossy. From what I've read, the glossiest and the thinnest the better for this purpose.
Also: Are you using a laminator, or just an iron?
Thanks for sharing your design!
MoFl is offline Find More Posts by MoFl
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 07:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2007
4 Posts
Hi and Thanks! Yes I imagine the Digikey catalog is alike.
In my experience it is always a matter of patience and trial and error to find the 'perfect' printer/toner and paper combination.
I have to prepare the sheets by sticking them with a stripe of paper sticking tape to a normal printing sheet. Else my ancient HP Laserjet 4+ refuses to transport the paper.
The other item is that the fusing temperature of the HP (Canon engine) is quite high at 175C.
I use a modified laminator, normally it became 110-120C, so I added a relay and a circuit with an 1N4148 glass diode, as a sensor, to have it switch around the 175 degrees.
After 3 or 4 passes (to heat up the entire circuit board) it is ready for its bath of soapy water.
After that before etching, I tend to fill in the big areas with an Edding 400 permanent marker to fill in the gaps, caused by the paper fibers that might have pulled off some of the toner.
Name: IMGP2097.jpg
Views: 131
Size: 237.5 KB
Description: A prepared sheet, ready to be printed on..shiny and thin so it needs a 'carrier sheet'

Usefull link(german) for modifying a laminator: http://thomaspfeifer.net/laminator_t...r_regelung.htm
eisenficker is offline Find More Posts by eisenficker
Last edited by eisenficker; May 16, 2012 at 01:20 PM. Reason: Laminator info
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 06:49 AM
Registered User
Česká republika, Moravskoslezský, Ostrava
Joined Mar 2010
29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eisenficker View Post
My version of ESU's programmer.
It works fine without external power, powered by the two 18650 cells in the Tx.
Nice Job
Thank you for the continuation of my previous work. Your project is perfect
esu
esu-ov is online now Find More Posts by esu-ov
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 08:16 AM
Registered User
Česká republika, Moravskoslezský, Ostrava
Joined Mar 2010
29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by esu-ov View Post
Hey guys

Here is a new version of the programmer for mobile phones with Android OS and Bluetooth Wireless Transceiver Module RS232/TTL. Finished version will be ready hopefully within a month.
Many days of work.
Using the programmer can perform:
  • Make changes to all parameters
  • Keep any number of settings (models) of their name
  • Retrieve the current settings from radio
  • ! Import settings from an XML file from the program DigitalRadio!
  • Export all settings to an XML file compliant with DigitalRadio
  • Save the settings selected in the transmitter (not demo)
  • Modify settings offline

Some of screens shot


Good luck in testing.
Full versions is out today!
You can download it here. The program is freeware.

esu-ov
www (http://blog.supler.com/?page_id=240)
esu-ov is online now Find More Posts by esu-ov
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2012, 10:15 AM
Registered User
snapper1234's Avatar
Deutschland, HB, Bremen
Joined Dec 2008
247 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcio.acro View Post
I have an old 6ch Futaba radio, which is AM 72mhz. Today it is illegal to fly with this frequency, and the radio is dead too. I find it very interesting, and I am considering transforming it into a 2,4ghz radio
hello

because there are better way to modding your old futaba ,
e.g. ready to use 2.4ghz DIY modules from Corona, FrSky etc.!
your Futaba has a modular bay on the back and LCD Display ?
exact name of this radio?
FCC ID exists?
your radio completely dead? or only the transmitting funktion ?
one probably. I can help you there!

all worth it in my eyes, but only at a higher quality radio,
because the turnigy / flysky 9X unbeatable in price and in
the modding possibilities (e.g. new firmware etc.)


kind regards from germany to ....?
snapper1234 is offline Find More Posts by snapper1234
Last edited by snapper1234; May 22, 2012 at 10:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2012, 12:46 PM
Registered User
Everest's Avatar
Belarus, Minsk Province, Minsk
Joined Jun 2009
11 Posts
damaged area on HK-6T printed board

Dear Colleagues!
During the HK-6T modification (4 batteries cells power supply) I've damaged the printed conductor near R30.



There is a connection with C35 in this point and link to R23 - according to the scheme below



I took the non-SMD type of resistor instead of R30 (10k) and trying to link it to R23 ignoring the damaged place.
However I could not find the proper place on printed board for this.
Would you be so kind to recommend.
Everest is offline Find More Posts by Everest
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2012, 11:07 PM
RC beginner
New York
Joined Oct 2008
6,054 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Everest View Post
There is a connection with C35 in this point and link to R23


you probably meant r32 instead of r23? one might have to scrape away some resist to get a place to solder new wire or parts but these are always repairable. just remember that metal conducts and plastic does not.
dave1993 is offline Find More Posts by dave1993
Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 01:42 PM
Registered User
Everest's Avatar
Belarus, Minsk Province, Minsk
Joined Jun 2009
11 Posts
Quote:
you probably meant r32 instead of r23?
I think you are right - most probably there is a mistake in the scheme (that I found somewere in this tread)


BTW what is the capacity of C35?
Everest is offline Find More Posts by Everest
Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 03:16 PM
RC beginner
New York
Joined Oct 2008
6,054 Posts
i can never tell cap values becasue they dont mark them like with resistors. i wonder why they dont. i have to pull the part and check mfd with a meter. it looks like a filter for batt monitor so .1mfd or other non critical value. may even work ok w/o one there.

do you have a link to the full diagram?
dave1993 is offline Find More Posts by dave1993
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 12:25 AM
Registered User
Everest's Avatar
Belarus, Minsk Province, Minsk
Joined Jun 2009
11 Posts
Thanks dave1993 for your help! Actually I found the full diagram via thread tools menu of this web-page.
There is the command strip on the top of each page - click on Thread Tools - select show attachments in this thread - and somewhere in the middle of page one you will find few boxes with HK-6T diagram. Everywhere R32 is marked as R23 - hope that this is only one mistake in scheme : )
...but I didn't find the way how to move from the image to the corresponding post... in the preivious version of rcgroups it was some hyperlink...
Everest is offline Find More Posts by Everest
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2012, 08:18 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,439 Posts
somewhere in the thread is a link to the FCC website where flysky published it's schematics.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2012, 03:42 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
656 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melnic View Post
somewhere in the thread is a link to the FCC website where flysky published it's schematics.
http://transition.fcc.gov/oet/ea/fccid/

Where grantee code is VPO or N4Z, or you can use the advanced search and type flysky into the applicant name:

https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repor...ericSearch.cfm
FDR_ is offline Find More Posts by FDR_
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product X8---new 2.4GHz Radio System ASSAN Radios 5708 Jun 25, 2014 01:20 PM
Yippee! New 2.4GHz DSM radio - New standard? PrasadL Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 12 Jun 03, 2013 07:03 AM
For Sale NEW - 2.4GHZ 2 channel Pistol R/C system SRM Cars - Cars and Parts (FS/W) 0 Oct 22, 2008 09:39 AM
FS: 1x Used 1x New 2.4ghz Wireless video cameras with receiver Nik-rc Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Nov 30, 2004 06:21 PM