HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 01, 2003, 09:46 PM
Joined Jun 2001
1,569 Posts
Electrify a Mothership? (83" EPP flying wing foamie!)

I was thinking a geared Magnetic Mayhem might be an approriate setup for it, would a twin MM or endoplasma setup be better? Here's the link to the 83" 4 lb monster:
Flying Foam.com Combat Wing Kits

I'd guess 6 pounds ready to fly as an electric, maybe more. Note that the wingloading is already just over 6 ounces per square foot, so this could potentially be a great trainer, and a cool big wing! Any suggestions?
e-sailpilot86 is offline Find More Posts by e-sailpilot86
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 01, 2003, 10:58 PM
Fairfield, CA
Joined Apr 2002
1,513 Posts
I have some relivant experience here. The FlyingFoam standard plane is the cheap shot, 48" wing. I ordered a customer 58" wing, just scaled up. I used s MM with a APC 6x4, 8 cells CP1700 or RC2400 with GOOD RESULTS. Not huge verticals, buit defintely a fun and fast plane.

The 83" FOR SURE will be under powered by a single MM. MM isn't really a gear box motor. I am assuming you would want a fast ship.

Twin MMs sounds interesting. I have actually been kicking this arround in my head. AMP draw on a healthy MM with the 6 x 4 is 21 AMPs. I think the 7 x 4 is too big.

Considerations:
(1) You will need a 50 amp ESC to pull this job off, or two 25 amp ESCs.
(2) Make sure you buy the reverse MMs.
(3) You will want full size servos for the Mothership.
(4) Launching can be a handful, consider landing gear???? Maybe???? Maybe the gear falls off after take off????

On the 58" single MM Cheap shot, 1700CP cells gave me 6 to 7 minutes. 2400RC gave me about 9 minutes. As a personally goal, I always shoot for 10 minutes flights time on all my aircraft.