SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 10, 2008, 02:15 PM
Wirral, UK
Joined Jan 2007
302 Posts
Discussion
how can I get this colour "wash"?

sorry if in wrong section, but here goes. I am restoring a Huntsman 28, just finished the planking, but struggling getting the bleached or washed effect, as in the pics of 3 real Huntsman. (its the outside deck I am doing)

I have never done this before, thinned grey just looks dirty, and thinned white does not look anything !!

Any ideas would be appreciated!

Thanks
pmdevlin is offline Find More Posts by pmdevlin
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2008, 02:24 PM
Veni, Vidi, Feci
Motor City
Joined Dec 2004
12,717 Posts
So it's not just me that's baffled! I too long for a solution for obtaining faded teak:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=958942 and
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=671706

It's a mysterious mix of brown and gray, darn if I can replicate what Mother Nature does so well...
patmat2350 is offline Find More Posts by patmat2350
Old Dec 10, 2008, 02:25 PM
vancouver,B.C
Joined Apr 2008
349 Posts
paint the planks white first or teak with a few thin coats.Let dry. then you will have a base to lay your grey wash over. You might even just dry brush over the base color. or powder the deck with earth powders or baby powder or whatever powders you think might work. then matte seal. Practice on scraps first. If you decide to directly powder your deck, clear coat the deck first then apply the powder. This gives you better control applying the powder and if you dont like the result you can blow/ brush it off and try again. don`t use excessive amounts of powder. be gentle. use a blush brush. the idea is you dust/feather it on. try doing yourself up as a woman to get the hang of the blush brush or maybe not.
Willj is offline Find More Posts by Willj
Last edited by Willj; Dec 10, 2008 at 02:48 PM.
Old Dec 10, 2008, 02:52 PM
Monterey Bay California
Joined Feb 2004