SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 09, 2008, 05:41 PM
North Carolina
Joined Nov 2008
388 Posts
Discussion
Easiest way to make a fiberglass tube?

I need to make a tube that is 130mm O.D. and 118mm I.D. and about 30 inches long. I've done some epoxy work before (vacuum bagged surfboards and boat repairs) but nothing of this nature before. I have a limited number of tools in my shop, so no lathe. 118mm is just barely bigger than the O.D. of a 4" Schedule 40 PVC pipe, so I was thinking about using a section of that as a mandrel.

Another thing I might also try is to add a layer of carbon fiber to the layup (between 2 layers of glass). I've never worked with CF before, any particular weaves I should try?

Lastly, I'm on the coast here in Central North Carolina, so no local suppliers of lighter weight fabrics. Any on-line suppliers with better than average prices?

Any other ideas or tips?

Thanks!
gobigkahuna is offline Find More Posts by gobigkahuna
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2008, 05:52 PM
I DS slower than I build!
Idaho Falls
Joined Jul 2006
2,348 Posts
Go to the Slope forum and search for Target's thread called Ballast Tubes 101 for info on how to make a tube using a pipe for a mandrel.
Cory is offline Find More Posts by Cory
Old Dec 09, 2008, 06:36 PM
North Carolina
Joined Nov 2008
388 Posts
Thanks Cory, I saw that. Do you think the same technique would work for a tube 6x the diameter? I'm wondering if I'll have problems trying to pull the pipe out?
Old Dec 09, 2008, 06:38 PM
San Diego
Joined Mar 2003
2,305 Posts
Soller Composites sells cloth, plus fiberglass and carbon sleeves that would make the layup seamless and easy. You can wrap the layup with vhs tape or inside-out electrician's tape to compress it while curing.

http://sollercomposites.com/
Ward Hagaman is offline Find More Posts by Ward Hagaman
Old Dec 09, 2008, 07:06 PM
Idaho Falls
Joined Jul 2006
2,348 Posts