HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 26, 2003, 05:54 PM
Waukesha, WI
Joined Dec 2002
560 Posts
Kyosho Blade Runner EP

Has anybody had experience with this model? If so, what is it like? Ex: speed, handling, upgrades, etc. I am just starting out and am considering this one. Any info. would be appreciated. Thanks!
R Hudson is offline Find More Posts by R Hudson
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 26, 2003, 06:08 PM
Maker of Sawdust
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Joined Mar 2001
86 Posts
BladeRunner

Hi R Hudson
While I don't have any direct experience with the Kyosho BladeRunner, I do remember reading a lot of postings about difficulties in getting the boat to run quickly and handle well doing it. I think that Andrew of Fastelectrics.com has more information on it. He checks in here regularly so I would expect him to be along soon.
From memory, however, I doubt that I would recommend it as a first boat. There are lots of far better boats available for novices to learn on and be able modify as their knowledge grows.

Doug Forrester
Forresterace Designs
forresterace is online now Find More Posts by forresterace
Old Feb 27, 2003, 09:35 PM
Lemon Tree Passage NSW Australia
Joined Sep 2001
378 Posts
If you must have the bladerunner buy only the hull and:

1 build it with two inboard motors (480 7.2's) with counterrotating props X430's 7 CP1300 cells to each motor
or
2. build it with two inboard motors (10-12/3 05 modfied) with counterrotating props X430's and 6 cells each motor
or
3. build it with two outboards with counterrotating props and 6 cells each motor
or
4. build it with one inboard motor 8-18 cells and extend the sponson depth and extend them foward to build up running surface 3/4" wide and use a 8-16 cell setup

the hardware should be orthodox