Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 26, 2013, 03:08 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,199 Posts
I checked my extensions, and all as listed. On the 52", I cut and soldered a 48" and a 6", as I didn't like how tight they were with just the 48". And I still don't see how anyone would need more than 6" extensions in the wings.....my Hitec servo leads come to with-in one inch the end of the wings, and I just added a 6" to each one....

SteveT.
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 26, 2013, 04:41 PM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,580 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
I checked my extensions, and all as listed. On the 52", I cut and soldered a 48" and a 6", as I didn't like how tight they were with just the 48". And I still don't see how anyone would need more than 6" extensions in the wings.....my Hitec servo leads come to with-in one inch the end of the wings, and I just added a 6" to each one....

SteveT.
Thanks, Steve. So 48"s would have worked on the elevators, but it was just tight?
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2013, 04:44 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,199 Posts
Very....(IMO)...

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 09:23 AM
MD1 HACK
joshet89's Avatar
USA, OH, Wadsworth
Joined Jan 2010
1,277 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenverJayhawk View Post
Thanks, Steve. So 48"s would have worked on the elevators, but it was just tight?
Can always do some of your own wiring

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1838165
joshet89 is offline Find More Posts by joshet89
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 08:46 PM
HIBDON FOR PRESIDENT !!
goflyhighrc's Avatar
Modesto, CA
Joined Nov 2006
3,144 Posts
Just sprung for a White Rose tail wheel for my 89, been thinking about one for a long time now
goflyhighrc is offline Find More Posts by goflyhighrc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 08:57 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,199 Posts
Lots of money for one of those...

SteveT.
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2013, 10:00 PM
HIBDON FOR PRESIDENT !!
goflyhighrc's Avatar
Modesto, CA
Joined Nov 2006
3,144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Lots of money for one of those...

SteveT.

Yeah, a bunch. I've broke several tiller arms on the stock one, even after beefing up the diameter of the piano wire. I do a lot of harrier landings and some of the them are'nt pretty the Whit Rose will do well, it's a real nice addition to the 89.
goflyhighrc is offline Find More Posts by goflyhighrc
Last edited by goflyhighrc; Mar 09, 2013 at 09:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 04:39 PM
Registered User
crazychris's Avatar
Brighton, CO
Joined Jun 2009
899 Posts
Does anyone know the standoff length from firewall to cowl with a DA 60?????
crazychris is offline Find More Posts by crazychris
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 07:04 PM
HIBDON FOR PRESIDENT !!
goflyhighrc's Avatar
Modesto, CA
Joined Nov 2006
3,144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazychris View Post
Does anyone know the standoff length from firewall to cowl with a DA 60?????
1.5 inches, just measured the Blazing Star motor mount.
goflyhighrc is offline Find More Posts by goflyhighrc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 08:51 PM
Epoxy & CA Investor
DenverJayhawk's Avatar
United States, CO, Denver
Joined May 2010
2,580 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goflyhighrc View Post
1.5 inches, just measured the Blazing Star motor mount.
i'm going to order one of these tonight for my da60 on the 89"
DenverJayhawk is offline Find More Posts by DenverJayhawk
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 09:01 PM
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
USA, GA, Cochran
Joined Jun 2008
20,153 Posts
So I took my 6.6 life pack 2400 mah battery out of my slick today and replaced it with a 5000 mah rx lipo by pulse. i figure since i got all 7955 hitecs Id try high voltage setup for control..DANG!!!! what a difference a volt and a half makes!!!! My little tattle tale indicator stayed greener than its ever been aven after multiple snaps.. Seem i was pulling the life down to 4.5 volts sometimes.. KE and pop tops are killer good now.. The pop top is mucho more violent.. BOOM! new plane. 10 flights today on my 89.. Also got to fly a 43% carden extra 300.. Thats my biggest plane to date I have flown.. Yes,i hovered it,KE,no i didnt pop top it didnt wanna break it.. harrier not near as good as slick. Smooth dang plane tho.
Manta1 is offline Find More Posts by Manta1
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2013, 10:52 PM
Registered User
crazychris's Avatar
Brighton, CO
Joined Jun 2009
899 Posts
Thanks Bros
crazychris is offline Find More Posts by crazychris
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 01:58 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,697 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1 View Post
So I took my 6.6 life pack 2400 mah battery out of my slick today and replaced it with a 5000 mah rx lipo by pulse. i figure since i got all 7955 hitecs Id try high voltage setup for control..DANG!!!! what a difference a volt and a half makes!!!! My little tattle tale indicator stayed greener than its ever been aven after multiple snaps.. Seem i was pulling the life down to 4.5 volts sometimes.. KE and pop tops are killer good now.. The pop top is mucho more violent.. BOOM! new plane. 10 flights today on my 89.. Also got to fly a 43% carden extra 300.. Thats my biggest plane to date I have flown.. Yes,i hovered it,KE,no i didnt pop top it didnt wanna break it.. harrier not near as good as slick. Smooth dang plane tho.
My pop tops are hit or miss. I have no idea why. Is there a good tutorial video or does someone want to explain the correct way to enter that manuever?

I rarely can get enough momentum with the 89"
johnnyrocco123 is online now Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 10:15 PM
Registered User
crazychris's Avatar
Brighton, CO
Joined Jun 2009
899 Posts
Ok, im baffled I just put the cowl all the way flat against the firewall, and it looks like I need 1/34" spacers to clear cowl??? Also does anyone one have pics of how you did you throttle servo install ?????
crazychris is offline Find More Posts by crazychris
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2013, 10:31 PM
HIBDON FOR PRESIDENT !!
goflyhighrc's Avatar
Modesto, CA
Joined Nov 2006
3,144 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazychris View Post
Ok, im baffled I just put the cowl all the way flat against the firewall, and it looks like I need 1/34" spacers to clear cowl??? Also does anyone one have pics of how you did you throttle servo install ?????

Don't get it ? Should be 1.5 inches, with the DA 60 that's why Blazing Star makes them 1.5, that's what the wooden stacks that DA sells or used to sell were as well 1.5 inches. You gotta be doing something wrong, check again.
goflyhighrc is offline Find More Posts by goflyhighrc
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article 3D Hobby Shop's 51" AJ Slick ARF Review sun.flyer 3D Flying 122 Jan 23, 2010 07:15 AM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 51" AJ Slick: sun.flyer Electric Plane Talk 2 Sep 27, 2008 08:51 AM
Video 3D Hobby Shop 51" AJ Slick: sun.flyer Electric Plane Talk 6 May 30, 2008 08:01 PM
Video 3D Hobby Shop's AJ Slick Clark Warfel Electric Plane Talk 3 May 08, 2008 07:31 AM