HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 16, 2008, 09:22 PM
Rochester, New York
Joined Nov 2008
26 Posts
Discussion
63' Chris-Craft Cruiser by Sterling

Hello,

I am brand new to scale, have a classic Newport 12 and few other small sailboats that I have built, but thats it. I just aquired on e-bay of course a wreck of a model of the 63' CC by Sterling. The hull is intact and sound but needs refinishing and the superstructure is only half there. Meaining one side and the cabin house roof are missing.

I have followed the threads on here for some time, and saw an awesome rebuild of one, but my question to all of you now is where to start, how should I lay out my plan of attack? I have some ideas, I just would like some more seasoned views. I do not plan to finish this winter, but I would like to at least finish the hull to a level that it is operable. Is this unrealistic?
USA 236 is offline Find More Posts by USA 236
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 16, 2008, 09:51 PM
Monterey Bay California
Joined Feb 2004
13,687 Posts
Laying out the plan of attack...

Very basically, the first thing you want to do is decide what you want when you are done with the project... A show winner? Something to use that looks nice? This decision will determine later steps... Carefully evaluate the project... what of the existing structure can be made to look nice while also having the strength to do its job... Is the wood dried out? was the ply veneer sanded through in areas that will be finished bright? these are pieces that may need to be replaced in a show boat but they may be 'restored' with penetrating epoxy (works wonders) and finished with paint if used on a daily driver...